We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to "Knit up the ravelled sleeve of care"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #5 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leongatha, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A place to "Knit up the ravelled sleeve of care"”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Do you need a chance to enjoy some earthly delights? "Oystercatcher" cottage at Beachside Retreat West Inlet on the isthmus to Stanley Tasmania is just such a place. To be greeted in the evening by the chocolate brown wallbies is just the start, the smell of the sea to wash away the daily cares, and the background symphony of the waves, the birds and the fragrance of native plants in blossom is balm for the soul. Beautifuly designed simple and luxurious accomodation with breakfast views (from "Oystercatcher") of the Bass straight Islands and the inlet are unexpected and deightful. A walk along the pristine beach, sea urchins, shells, gulls, dotterels, pelicans all contribute to the experience that should be claimable on medicare. Janette & Chris are unobtrusive and generous hosts, every care was taken and provided. I can only say, that I commend the experience and look forward to revisiting in the near future. LMR

Room Tip: I loved "Oystercatcher", for the quiet, comfort, convenience and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi Leon G,
Thank you for your review and beach images which look good even in Winter.
Oystercatcher and Sandpiper are a pigeon pair of ecocabins, with a slightly differing view the only difference. Glad you enjoyed your walk along the beach, devoid of humans, yet crowded with the traditional maritime and feathered residents. Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Stanley. Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
191
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Longford Tasmania Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We very much enjoyed our 4 night stay in the 'Sea Eagle' unit. The unit was very well appointed, light, airy and nothing spared on hte quality of the fittings and equiptment. Highly recommended both in winter or summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi HarryG,
Thank you for your review.
Sea Eagle is our top-of-the-range beach house and has its own hot tub on the dunes overlooking the sea below. It was not in use when you visited, but will be heated from October 1st.
Our new lap pool and spa will also be open this season for adult guests to enjoy.
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart/Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Beautiful location and extremely well constructed cabins. The pictures of the cabins look really nice, but they don't do justice to the actual place. Excellent design, spacious and comfortable....you could easily spend the whole day gazing out to the ocean in the comfort your accommodation. You can also collect oysters on the rocks just outside (great for us as we love oysters!) or just have a wander down the beach. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hi CJTH,
Thank you for your review.
It is very hard to take photographs which do justice to this beautiful location. The only way to really appreciate the place is to experience it for yourself, as you have done. The wild Pacific oysters are a real favourite with guests, especially sprinkled with fresh lemon or lime juice from our home-grown citrus trees. It was a pleasure to meet you; hope to see you again soon.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunns Plains, Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Beachside Retreat we were won over by the beauty of this place. The cabins are so cosy and comfortable and are superbly situated beside the beach. They are very well appointed with all the necessities. It was so peaceful and relaxing here and having the beach right at your doorstep was wonderful for those morning or afternoon walks. Being so close to the historic township of Stanley was a delight as well. The owners were very welcoming and most helpful. All in all it's a great place to stay and one we would definately love to visit again. I would highly recommend staying at Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hi Michelle,
Thank you for your review and staying with us.
We try to make the cabins as comfortable as possible, with every appointment you would need for a stay of several days. Stanley is a lovely little town with several eating places and plenty of things to see and do. Hoping to see you again one day.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is our first trip to Tasmania and i would say we all have had a wonderful and beautiful memory in this farm. The house is specially fit and good for the family with kids. The owner even shared with us her children's toys and books. The view is unique and amazing.

Just felt back to grandma's home and very relaxing.

We definitely would like to be back again and even are thinking to have it as our own holiday cottage if possible...

A very toughing and warming place...if you would like to read Chinese review, please see my blog -
http://audreyma.wordpress.com/2012/04/09/%E6%9B%B4%E7%BE%8E%E7%9A%84%E5%A4%A9%E7%A9%BA/

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hi SharonC,
Thank you for your review in both English and Chinese.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your first trip to Tasmania from Hong Kong, with your family and would like to return again. The spacious lodge you stayed in, is very suitable for a family.
We would love to see you in the future, perhaps for longer next time..
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at West Inlet, and made a special trip to Stanley (we're from Melbourne) in order to do so.

Both times, we've stayed in the three bedroom unit, which is a little dated (ie. could use a bit of renovation), but is very comfortable nevertheless. There is a private back garden with outdoor dining, that leads directly to the west inlet beach (not a swimming beach, but great for exploring with the kids). The bathroom has a spa bath that comfortably fits two.

The owners are absolutely wonderful. We had a few mishaps that we needed help with, and they were great.

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, I would recommend West Inlet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Hi Paulhb,
Thank you for your review and second visit with your family.
The beach is actually a very safe swimming spot and our grand children swim most weekends during the summer months, especially when the easterly wind is blowing over Stanley. The tidal lagoons, beyond the point, are beautiful and warm at low tide and are also a lovely experience.
Glad you enjoyed your relaxing getaway.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

What an idyllic spot! The cottage was beautifully appointed with everything anyone could need The soft sea air was such a contrast to the dry atmosphere of Tablelands of the 'Mainland' The beach and the sea right outside the cottage provided total escape. The wildlife, particularly the eagles, reflect the unspoilt environment of the area - we felt very priviledged to see them - one swooping over the water's edge and the other over the farmland. We will certainly visit again - hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Hi Bruce A,
We are pleased you enjoyed our lovely location; it certainly takes some beating.
All the bird life is fascinating, especially the sea eagles. If you look carefully you can spot the endangered hooded plover, just above the shoreline. Next time you come, we can set up the scope for you, on the birdwatching deck; it makes the sitings so much easier. Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
201 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
304 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 7 in Stanley
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
495 reviews
2.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 7 in Stanley
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Property: Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing