We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #5 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

As first time visitors to Tasmania, we couldn't have found a better place to relax after a grueling three day hike in the South West National park. We stayed in the OysterCatcher cabin for four nights over Christmas and Boxing day and it was the perfect setting to kick back in, relax and forget about the hassles of city living. The view from the deck was gorgeous and watching the changes to the weather, water and light in the inlet throughout the day was really special. The property is beautiful with plenty of birds and other wild life to watch and smile about. Janette and Chris are lovely hosts, helpful yet not at all intrusive and the cabin had everything we required (including local wine!) and we were very comfortable the whole time. We chose self-catering as we are wheat free and vegetarian and I was delighted to find a bakery in Stanley that stocked gluten free bread.

All in all, I'd recommend Beachside Retreat West Inlet to anyone looking for a tranquil spot surrounded by the beauty of nature. We left feeling revitalized after spending our time here exploring the beach and Stanley on foot. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rochelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Hi RochelleB,
Thank you for your review and images of our cattle and the beach.
I am sure your 4 night break was appreciated after your long trek into the wilds of Southern Tasmania, although we spotted you several times, exploring this area on foot.
The weather, the light and colours of the sea are always changing in West Inlet and are constantly being admired and photographed by guests. Every day is a new experience. The inlet is also a paradise for bird watchers too.
Thank you for staying with us. See you again, one day.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 243 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the OysterCatcher for three nights at the end of November, the place lives up to it's reviews.

Amazing location on a beautiful property with it's own endless beach. We wondered with the cows who seemed to be very interested in us and spent hours walking the beach.

Pure relexation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkey567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Hi,
Thank you for your review and confirming the accuracy of previous ones.
The long sandy beach, with it's warm, tidal swimming lagoons at low tide, is a real asset and is one of the reasons to stay here, together with it's privacy and secluded location.
If guests wish to see our Maine-Anjou breed of cattle, then we can easily organize a farm walk or a 4WD tour into the Tarkine Wilderness, for the more adventurous.
Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I could not rate this holiday experience high enough. The cabins - four in total - although within sight of each other do not impede on each other. They are all beautifully designed with one thought in mind - the view. We stayed in Pelican which is the last in the row and I think possibly the best. Highly polished wooden floors, very functional small kitchen, a very well used window seat, split level to add interest and the views are magnificent - from every room in the cabin. Located only 10 minutes from Stanley but a world away. If you truly want to chill out and recharge your batteries I could think of no better place to be. It's a long drive from Hobart but without doubt it's one we will do again. The owners Chris and Janette are a delight to deal with and you can feel their obvious pride in their creation - and so should they.

Room Tip: Stanley although a cute little village doesn't have a lot of variety so if you are wanting to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanHobart_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Hi Dean,
Thank you for your complementary review and beautiful photographs, especially the amazing sunset image. We are pleased you were able to 'chill out and recharge' your batteries; it is what we hope all guests staying here are able to do. Our property is certainly private and secluded, away from the rest of the world.
Tip: The electric barbecue also functions as an oven with a temperature gauge, and is ideal for cooking a roast or baked fish, on the outside deck.
Looking forward to having you stay again, even if it is a long drive (4.5 hours) from Hobart.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Having stayed at Saffire Freycinet Coles Bay Tasmania 12 months ago it was going to be hard to find a better location/accommodation to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, well we did.
Our 3 night stay of peace and tranquillity in the Sea Eagle with the spa nestle on the sand dunes over looking Bass Strait was amazing. From the moment you arrive you know you're in for something pretty special. The initial welcome and the personal introductions from Janette added that special touch.
Our Eco Cabin had everything you need a great living area, a fully equipped kitchen, amazing bathroom with a huge window overlooking those awesome ocean views. I can not think of anything that could have made our stay better, we were so refreshed and relaxed. Only if home was like this?

Room Tip: I would recommend the Sea Eagle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Hi Linda W,
Wow! What an amazing comparison! What can I say...I am stuck for words... but thank you.
Guests like you are really worth having! Come back anytime!
Seriously, we have put in a lot of time and attention to detail, in order to please our guests and you really made it worthwhile.
Pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary overlooking our northwestern coastline, a bit wilder and windier than Hobart; refreshing, invigorating and the cleanest air in the world.
Perhaps we shall see you again sometime. Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The cabins and location itself have already been well reviewed here and the reviews are very accurate. We stayed in Penguin and we'd recommend this cabin because it is at the end of the property and is really private. Once inside you really can't see anything but nature itself through the panoramic windows all around.

So, a couple of things that we really appreciated and found very well done.

1. the welcome offered by Janette and Chris. A great combination of warmth and personal service but without being intrusive or awkward. This is a subtle point. We've sometimes met small property owners who seem hell bent on being your best friend. Or the other extreme, where the people running the property are cold and impersonal. Janette and Chris are pitch perfect - maybe it's their UK roots. When we pulled up at the property they came out and welcomed us warmly by name. They got us all set up in the cabin and then quietly stepped out and left us to marvel at the view. We stopped by and saw them a couple of times during the stay - to pick up breakfast items for example - and it was nice to stop and chat. When we left we ended up spending a little time and got the story of how they came to be in Tasmania. They are just really nice people who happen to have an excellent property.

2. The second thing that left a happy memory was Stanley itself. It's a beautiful little town and it's like time stopped there. The views of "The Nut" and from "The Nut" are excellent. We used it as a base to visit other areas.

The goal of this vacation in Tasmania was to rest and recharge. The combination of the location and the Beachside Retreat was fantastically relaxing. I believe they have a business center with Internet access but nothing was further from our mind. We'd go back in an instant.

Room Tip: We liked Penguin - it's at the end of the property and most secluded. Panoramic nature views al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djmp-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Hi,
Thank you for your wonderful, lengthy review.
'Pelican' is the cabin you stayed in. It may look 'at the end of the property...' but is actually about the middle, as our beachfront, to High Water Mark, extends for approximately 2kms.
Often guests who stay here, prefer to enjoy the peacefulness of the environment, to explore, relax and savour the experience, all by themselves. We are accustomed to this and know when to retire and fade into the background. It is your holiday.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the little fishing village of Stanley. It is very unique and has remained mostly unchanged for the past century; but there is still plenty to do and see in the area.
Also we are glad you attained your goal of 'rest and recharge'.
Perhaps see you again, one day. Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed in one of the eco cabins for 2 nights and totally agree with all other reviews in terms of the uniqueness of the experience. Beautifully appointed cabins, quality fixtures and linens ( and these things do make a difference), and best of all the complete privacy of the beachfront. The opportunity to "shuck your own" oysters from the nearby rocks was also too good to resist. Chris and Janette could not have been more helpful. All in all a fabulous experience which we could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlidums1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
The ecocabins are a unique experience and we were fortunate, on two occasions, to win Tasmanian Tourism Awards in the 'Unique Accommodation' category.
Our private beachfront is our main selling point, together with the fresh wild oysters on the rocks, ready for shucking. Glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Looking forward to seeing you again, one day.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Splash out on Sea Eagle, the only cabin with a private outdoor hot tub nestled in the sand dunes. Amazing.

The cabin itself is luxuriously appointed - everything is quality, which is quite unusual these days. Everything from the TVs to the door locks and kitchen equipment is top notch.

You could easily cook up a storm in the kitchen, but we went in to the Stanley pub for a meal one night and just snacked on antipasto, dips and chips and bread from the local providore the other night.

Out of five stars, this place gets six for privacy and relaxation. The only strange thing is the colour palette - which isn't to my taste - but that is a subjective thing and doesn't detract at all from the overall experience.

Janette was very helpful, including arranging an 11am checkout.

The next time someone offers to take our kids for two nights, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for Sea Eagle with the outdoor hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Hi Oliver,
Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed the hot tub in the dunes. It is a very pleasant experience and totally private and relaxing.
The colours in the decor are inspired by the sunsets and marine colours of the sea and beach, depicted in the feature walls, sandblasted and oil-tinted cupboards and sand-coloured walls; not strange - really.
We would love to see you again when your in-laws next offer to babysit.
Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
205 reviews
2.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
223 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $104 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing