We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cable Station Accommodation
Ranked #6 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed for one night, mid-January 2013. The property is located in a very quiet, rural setting a few kilometers outside the villiage of Stanley. The accommodation is a nice blend of historic character and modern comforts. We were in the telegraph room which, for two people is massive; with a bedroom, large ensuite with spa, sunroom with woodstove, and kitchen / sitting room.
The high points of our stay were the dining and service courtesy of hosts Jacqui and Euan. Euan is the chef and has given the restaurant a well-deserved reputation for excellence by focusing on Tasmania sourced ingredients. The quality of preparation and presentation of our dinner met all of our expectations and then some, service was efficient, un-hurried and personable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singleton, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

we stayed one night in the telegraph room which is very well appointed and had everything we need. The standout for me was the dinner in the restaurant which shouldnt be missed. The entree for us was a carrot soup which i will neevr forget and i find myself craving still 2 months on! I will try and replicate it in winter but know i will not acheive the flavours! The hosts are great we had a good chat to Jacqueline at dinner about their move here from Scotland. their dog is very friendly also and a welcome visitor to our patio.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen-Maree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in December. Stayed in the Technicians Cottage and it was amazing. The first thing I noticed was the old switchboard as you enter the cottage. Really brought back memories of my first job (showing my age!). The cottage had everything we could have wanted and was very cozy.
As for the restaurant - you just have to go there. Whatever I say won't do it justice. The food was amazing and the service from Euan and Jacqui exceptional. They would have to be the best hosts we have ever come across.
The breakfast supplies were also exceptionally good with preserved fruits to die for!
Hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenTAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CableStation, Owner at Cable Station Accommodation, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thankyou for taking time to post your review, Jacqueline and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to in the near future.
Euan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Second time back here and getting better. Last time it was just for meals which were superb so on a second trip back to Stanley (which we had enjoyed so much the first time) we just had to stay here as well.
Not dissapointed!
Two couples; we occupied the Technicians Cottage which is superbly fitted out, snug and cosy with a wood burning fire. Nothing to fault, well maybe a loose GPO on the wall.
Euan and Jaqueline are forever attentive without being intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble and prompty attended to.
Euan is a magnifcent chef who makes the most of local produce. No need to book dinner anywhere else. Just eat in every night as you will not be sorry. Spacious yet intimate dining room. Things here revolve around you. Set Euan a challenge if you like, given time I'm sure he'll rise to the occassion.
Beautifully, sophisticated cooking with elegant presentation - you can't go wrong.
Give it a go. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Any Room is good. Chose for the occassion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CableStation, Owner at Cable Station Accommodation, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thankyou for your great review, were very proud of our local produce here as it is some of the best the world has to offer. We look forward to your return visit and accepting any challenges!
Euan & Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penguin Tasmania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Ticks all the boxes....comfort, out of the way, great company and conversation if you want it, seclusion and privacy if you want it, fabulous locally sourced food, spectacular landscapes, guest amenities are all locally sourced in Tasmania, intriguing history, talk to Euan and Jacqui or Charlotte about local crayfish, cape grim beef, abalone, stripy trumpeter for the menu before you go or book one of their fab. seasonal lunches or dinners.

Room Tip: Exchange room is great or the Postmasters for a wood fire!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicos60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Dinner and a stay at The Old Cable Station is a rare find. We couldn't speak highly enough of our stay, dinner and hosts Euan and Jacqueline. The cottage is spacious, homely and well provisioned with a select range of Tasmanian produce. Location is amazing as is the attention to detail by Euan and Jacqui. We will definitely be back and look forward to a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had sampled on a few occassions some of the food that Cable Station is famous for, such as the char-grilled Octopus with basil pesto and balsamic reduction at both Festivale at the Farmer's Market in Launceston, and have always wanted to visit the restaraunt itself due to its use of local produce and isolation - we weren't disapponted. On arrival we pleasantly discovered that we were the only ones dining for lunch today. Euan, the part-owner and chef, was super friendly and simply an amazing chef. My girlfriend had the salmon with green beans, anchovies, olives, slow roasted tomatoes and potato which was beautifully cooked and full of flavour. I had the slow-braised cape grim blade with shalots, potato and leek - simply incredible and no use of knife required as the fork would easily cut through the meat. It was the most tender and flavoursome cut of beef that I have ever had. Combined with a beautiful atmosphere and a 'no-rush' policy towards service and ensuring the diner has a rewarding experience, Cable Station is the best. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
2.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#5 of 7 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Station Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Station Accommodation

Property: Cable Station Accommodation
Address: 435 Greenhills Road, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY at Cable Station Accommodation. Formerly a tele-communications centre c.1936 connecting Tasmania to the rest of the world with the first telephone link. Located 5 minutes from the historic fishing port of Stanley and its 'Nut,' with the 'Tarkine' (the world's oldest cool temperate rain forest) just 45km away, the Cable Station is an ideal base for exploring the northwest coast of Tasmania. Comfortable, stylish and contemporary rooms- King or Queen Twin both with private en-suite bathrooms and fabulous views across Bass Strait are available as Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cable Station Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cable Station Accommodation Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing