We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cable Station Accommodation
Ranked #6 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had sampled on a few occassions some of the food that Cable Station is famous for, such as the char-grilled Octopus with basil pesto and balsamic reduction at both Festivale at the Farmer's Market in Launceston, and have always wanted to visit the restaraunt itself due to its use of local produce and isolation - we weren't disapponted. On arrival we pleasantly discovered that we were the only ones dining for lunch today. Euan, the part-owner and chef, was super friendly and simply an amazing chef. My girlfriend had the salmon with green beans, anchovies, olives, slow roasted tomatoes and potato which was beautifully cooked and full of flavour. I had the slow-braised cape grim blade with shalots, potato and leek - simply incredible and no use of knife required as the fork would easily cut through the meat. It was the most tender and flavoursome cut of beef that I have ever had. Combined with a beautiful atmosphere and a 'no-rush' policy towards service and ensuring the diner has a rewarding experience, Cable Station is the best. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We found a 'winter special' for B&B and dinner advertised at the 'Old Cable Station' in Stanley and decided to take it, as we only live about 1 hour away and it would be a nice change. Little did we know what we were in for. What a super surprise on a fairly wet and miserable day. We arrived at the Cable Station and Euan (Chef, part-owner/manager with his wife Jacqueline and a 3rd person) showed us to our room and also gave a tour of the premises. The building dates back to mid 1930, but is fully renovated and very tastefully contemporary decorated.
We went for dinner at about 7. Only 1 other local couple was there, so we received all the attention. The set menu consisted of 5 courses (wow), 3 very special and very different entrees, I especially loved the marinated local octopus. Followed by a choice of 2 mains: Tasmanian Salmon prepared in the wood-fired pizza oven or a slow-cooked local beef on truffle mash and a bit of greenery. The meat just melted in your mouth. If you still had some space left, there were 2 heavenly deserts to chose from. It was a wonderful meal with Jacqueline and Euon always there to tell you us the secrets of the preparation, something we were very interested in and asked many questions.
The property is about 4-5k out of Stanley in the middle of farming land, on the way there you pass by the historic Highfield House and a bit further an abalone farm before you arrive. It also means you are guaranteed no noise pollution and a lot of very fresh air. The sea is about 500-700mtrs away at the end of the neighbouring paddock. If your room faces west you can see the sea and if there is no haze you also see three Hummock island off the NW coast.
It is a great place to stay a bit longer, make some excursions or just enjoy the area.
The guest book in our room was a brilliant example that we were not alone with our opinion about this very well run place.
We will be back - that's for sure

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downunder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CableStation, Manager at Cable Station Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post a review and were so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon when the weather is maybe a little better. Euan & Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Attended one of their quarterly producers lunches and was so impressed we flew back for another. Also enjoyed a couple of lunches there....unbelievable quality and great value for money. We haven't actually stayed here so our review is purely of the restaurant.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed here...it's been fully booked each time we've visited. our review is simp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noosahinterland99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked into the cottage at the Old cable Station for three nights and we delighted by the obvious attention to detail given to provide comfort by our friendly hosts, Euan and Jacqueline. The kitchen was well stocked with fresh eggs, 3 kinds of breads, King Island yogurt, Illy coffee and a selection of teas and cereals making for enjoyable breakfasts before adventuring out along the Northwest coast of Tasmania. The open fire was always roaring on our return. The rooms had large beds that were the most comfortable I have found in this type of accommodation and very hard to leave in the mornings. The bathrooms were clean and stocked with lovely soft bath sheets and generous Tasmanian toiletries. We ate out locally but the best meal was actually at The Old Cable Station where there was a local producers lunch on during our stay. Euan is an accomplished chef and served us course after course of delicious and creative dishes all matched with local wines. We got to meet a few of the local producers and this was a highlight as the dedication and pride of their produce interpreted by Euan was beyond their own expectations. If you want to relax in comfort and enjoy the unspoilt North West of Tasmania I recommend booking The Old Cable Station. I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed just one night at The Old Cable Station and thoroughly enjoyed it. After a big day, starting with arriving on the Spirit of Tasmania at 6am & driving out to Dismal Swamp it was great to get to our room (the one closest to reception) and have a relax. The claw foot bath was lovely & deep. My only suggestion would be to put a blind in the bathroom as the afternoon sun came through the window, straight in to my eyes! We had reserved a table at the restaurant and it was one of the tastiest meals we have had. Using fresh local produce, the accompanying Tasmanian sparkling wine & Seven Sheds beer completed it! I cannot recall having a better sleep, we were both exhausted and the bed was very comfortable. Continental breakfast provisions were adequate too. Bass Strait was a little further away than we thought it would be but we didn't spend too much time looking at 'the view'. Our hosts were lovely, we would definately return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We arrive in amazing weather torrential rain, fork lightning and howling winds, we loved it. We love extreme weather you know you are alive. The wind during the night was amazing you felt at any minute the building would become airborne. Fantastic. We ate in town and jus as we had ordered our meal the power went of, it was hilarious, just as well we could have the wine and they made us an amazing salad with crayfish in, the freshest salad I have has in a long time. We had a fantastic break.The young couple running it are lovely and how great in such an isolated spot that they are there.
The shower overflowed out of the drain which was a bit offputing. But when you travel nothing is perfect. We will return and so do hope the weather is just as great.
We always walk the nut and what a grand day the next day was to do that.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veramit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We didn't stay in one of the rooms - although we will if go to Stanley again. However, we did book into the restaurant, which was excellent. The young couple who run it were delightful. Like all really top restaurants, there was a limited number of dishes from which to select, and the number of guests were restricted so that the chef could concentrate on the quality of the food. The two course meal was $55 pp and $65 pp with dessert. Given the quality, this was a bargain. We had the lobster, which had to be pre-ordered and incurred a supplemental cost. It was baked in a brick oven on one side of the restaurant, and was absolutely delicious. It would appear that bookings are essential.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. We had a look at all three, and all looked very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
531 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
227 reviews
2.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
131 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay View Guesthouse
Bay View Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Station Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Station Accommodation

Address: 435 Greenhills Road, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $126 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY at Cable Station Accommodation. Formerly a tele-communications centre c.1936 connecting Tasmania to the rest of the world with the first telephone link. Located 5 minutes from the historic fishing port of Stanley and its 'Nut,' with the 'Tarkine' (the world's oldest cool temperate rain forest) just 45km away, the Cable Station is an ideal base for exploring the northwest coast of Tasmania. Comfortable, stylish and contemporary rooms- King or Queen Twin both with private en-suite bathrooms and fabulous views across Bass Strait are available as Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cable Station Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cable Station Accommodation Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing