We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanley Seaview Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 13, 2010

This was a great little place, great views, such fresh clean air, beautiful little town and the hotel was comfortable, quiet, had great food and was easy to find and staff were great.
Would reccommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngcouple7879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    208
    44
    12
    7
See reviews for
115
255
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
I've been everywhere man
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We booked this room largely based on the brilliant reviews given to it here, and were a bit disappointed.
We booked only the day before and managed to get an ocean view room for only $99 which was pretty good value.The room was clean and the view of stanley and the Nut was fantastic, but the rooms were datedand had no airconditioning (I know normally not an issue for its location) and as it was a pretty warm day we open all the windows etc, then went to reception to ask for a good local fish and chips shop, to which the lovely lady at the front desk advised us that we were probably to late as they would be closed.
We were a bit stunned by this as Stanley is a Fishing Village and it was only 7pm!!! on a warm Summers Friday evening, we thought that was a bit strange and went to check it out, but surely enough it had just closed, very annoyed we returned to the motel restaurant for dinner which was ok, but overpriced.
Certainly a nice place, with a fantastic view and great staff, just don't expect the Taj Mahal as many people on here have described

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietravelers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

This place is quite decent with generously sized, clean rooms and a nice view. However it's motel like and perhaps not as charming as some of the BBs in town. But all in all for the price paid it is very good.
The restaurant is dissapointing however- second rate decor, food and service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Oh what a treasure! We arrived very late at night about 9.30 after a long drive from Queenstown and thought we would be eating bake beans for tea! The staff were so friendly and inviting. The restaurant had closed but we were offered a chef cooked meal delivered to our room. Already I loved these people. The room was spacious and lovely with a balcony and the most stunning view of the nut. We ate a first class meal in our room over looking this wonderful coastland. My only disappointment was that we only stayed one night in this wonderful establishment. This was my favourite stay in Tasmania! And we toured around the whole island. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprildays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Even though it is based out of town, this is by far the best place to stay in Stanley. Watch The Nut at sunrise/sunset and you will be amazed. We spent more time on the veranda than indoors as we couldn't stop looking at the views. Staff were all very friendly and I'd definitely go back.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
Thank starrrboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are simple and clean. The bed, breakfast and evening meal deal was good value and we had a very nice meal with excellent and friendly service. Breakfast is delivered to your room for you to enjoy at leisure.

The location is a little out of town , but being fair I'm not sure that there is a lot of night-life in downtown Stanley.

Complimentary wifi and a great view of the Nut, made this a a great one-night stop.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Spectacular views of Stanley and the Nut. Only 3 minutes from the town centre. Comfortable modern rooms. Very clean. Friendly staff. Very nice restaurant - with views few could boast about.
Been here 4 or 5 times in 25 years - always a good stay. Price quite reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
201 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 7 in Stanley
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Stanley
129 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
0.7 mi away
Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Seaview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Seaview Inn

Property: Stanley Seaview Inn
Address: 58 Dovecote Rd., Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia (Formerly Dovecote Motel and Restaurant)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Seaview Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley Seaview Inn is a multi award winning AAA rated 3 ½ star property in the peaceful historical fishing village of Stanley, at the Western end of Tasmania’s North coast.Our hillside location provides most guest rooms with magnificent views over Stanley, the famous Stanley Nut and the surrounding waters of Bass Strait.Recent refurbishments provided guest rooms with modern décor, furnishings and bathrooms, complimented by flat screen TV’s and fast, free reliable wireless internet (Wi-Fi).Other guest room features include : Complimentary tea and coffee facilities, electric heating, electric blankets, hair dryer, ironing facilities, desk, dining table, refrigerator, mini bar and free off street parking.We have a variety of room types including standard rooms (garden view), seaview rooms, family rooms and self contained apartments. Our property also features two playgrounds and BBQ areas (the second opens in October). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanley Seaview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Seaview Hotel
Stanley Seaview Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing