We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanley Seaview Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very friendly and accommodating from booking through to checkout. It has been over 12 months since our last stay - the renovations are terrific, the rooms are extremely comfortable and practical. Already looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the town and the Nut is sure to please anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Good evening Ruben.

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this very complimentary review.

I am pleased you like the renovations - we are very proud of them and the standard we now have the property up to. It makes us very happy to hear repeat guests acknowledge the improvements.

Sounds like we can hope to see you again.

Clint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 514 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stanley Seaview Inn is on the side of a hill with a great view of The Nut. We stayed for 1 night and we were upgraded to larger room for extra $12.50 which ended up being a family room so therefore there was plenty of room with a kitchenette in which we found helpful to prepare our dinner. We decided to pay for the breakfast $15 each (didn't think it was worth it) but it was provided to us late afternoon and was able to keep juice and milk in the fridge in the room. The Inn was a short drive into town and to The Nut (main attraction). We found the staff very friendly and helpful and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faing84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks for the nice review.

Clint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed in March on a business trip. Noted there was Wi-fi but no mention of it when we arrived. Did not use it as is the case with a lot of Motels it was not well set up. There were 2 or 3 Access points but all were set to the same channel so communication would have been congested. I fail to see why all access points are on the one channel when there are at least 10 to choose from .The lack of a restaurant was disappointing and the package breakfast a letdown. TV was not good on all channels and some were constantly breaking up.
Renovated rooms are of a good average quality.
Bar fridge drinks are a little expensive for the quality of the Motel.
If you have no personal transport it is a long way to the shop or anywhere to eat.

Room Tip: The best view is from the top floor (second) but you may need to carry all cases up the stairs. No l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayceesophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

It is unbelievable what some people will complain about! You have broken new ground here.

We have been giving away fast reliable, FREE and unrestricted wifi for years now andthis is the first I have heard of this - what must be the latest groundbreaking new possible customer complaint - the channel that the wifi is on. Well - I guess we'll have to get our tech guy on to it.

Most people are just thankful for the service. It is not complicated at all - you connect to the network and enter a simple password.

Why would we mention it when you arrive? It is in just about every place we promote ourselves, and is the first thing mentioned in the information folder in the room.

The mini bar items are cheaper than just about any hotel or motel I have ever stayed in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Unfortunately these rooms did not live up to expectations. The TV screen was really small and the remote did not work from as close as our bed. We had to move to within inches of the TV screen for it to work. The car parking was difficult and, unless we parked a long way from the room, we could not get our car out. In our rooms the ceilings were sloped that each one of us hit our head at least once a day. The redeeming feature is the location which has lovely views and is an easy walk to town (about a km away). Also there is no restaurant on site.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Tenneluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Too bad you didn't let us know about the remote control. The batteries were flat, and so this could have been rectified very easily rather than you choosing to degrade our property to the world like this.

As for the ceilings and parking arrangements, I urge TripAdisor viewers to read our other reviews, and see whether anyone else has had problems with this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Called ahead and the male on the phone was very helpful with booking the room and assistance with where to eat for the night.
I would highly recommend Tall Timbers in Smithton for dinner. Was fantastic.
Rooms were spacious, newly renovated, and comfy.
Fantastic price for what you get. Stay here for sure!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chlohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hello.

Thanks very much for taking the time to write us such a good review. I am pleased that you had a nice time here, and that you enjoyed your meal at Tall Timbers.

Kind regards,

Clint Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed in the suite, you will pay a higher rate but very spacious with king bed and a single, has a spa for two, clean and well presented. Fridge, microwave etc. has great view from a bay window. Stanley is a great place to visit if you like well preserved period buildings, great walks and plenty if wind! Host Kerry is very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hi.
Thanks for taking the time to write this very nice review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our suite.
Clint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We checked in for one night, not previously booked. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, but a tad tired. We took a standard room, so no views, but none were promised.
Wifi in room. The heating was adequate and being middle of winter that was necessary.
Couple of kms out of town but that was no problem with a car. Free off street parking right at room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hello.
I note that your review is based on a stay from last July.
You mention that your room was a bit tired - you will be happy to know that we completed a major refurbishment last year - and now all of our rooms are quite modern in decore and fittings.
Regards,
Clint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
204 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
1.0 mi away
Bay View Guesthouse
Bay View Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Seaview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Seaview Inn

Address: 58 Dovecote Rd., Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia (Formerly Dovecote Motel and Restaurant)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range: $89 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Seaview Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley Seaview Inn is a multi award winning AAA rated 3 ½ star property in the peaceful historical fishing village of Stanley, at the Western end of Tasmania’s North coast.Our hillside location provides most guest rooms with magnificent views over Stanley, the famous Stanley Nut and the surrounding waters of Bass Strait.Recent refurbishments provided guest rooms with modern décor, furnishings and bathrooms, complimented by flat screen TV’s and fast, free reliable wireless internet (Wi-Fi).Other guest room features include : Complimentary tea and coffee facilities, electric heating, electric blankets, hair dryer, ironing facilities, desk, dining table, refrigerator, mini bar and free off street parking.We have a variety of room types including standard rooms (garden view), seaview rooms, family rooms and self contained apartments. Our property also features two playgrounds and BBQ areas (the second opens in October). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stanley Seaview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Seaview Hotel
Stanley Seaview Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing