We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stanley Seaview Inn...don't go!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanley Seaview Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I went here on New Years Eve 2012. I booked the day before and was told that there was a table at 5.30 or 8.30 only, we chose 8.30. Upon arrival the staff were a little confused as to where to seat us even though there was only two other groups in the entire room. The woman who appeared to be in charge criticised the other staff and showed us to our table. She then proceeded to tell us what they didn't have available from the menu (which was just about everything!). Entree of scallops - the scallops were absolutely tiny. Main course - we both had the steak as they were out of almost everything else (approx $40 each) the steak was ok but it came with a tiny serve of potato and some very uninspiring coleslaw, worse Than a cheap pub meal. I would not recommend going there as it was way overpriced and the decor is really cheap.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Monica.

I am sorry to read that you had such a bad time in our restaurant on New Years Eve. I accept you criticism about the hand cut potato and coleslaw and I agree that staff should not blame each other.

However, I think most of you other points are being a little bit harsh. It is reasonable that on the busiest night of the year (New Years Eve), that there may be a bit of confusion over which table you were to sit at; Tasmanian scallops are a fine local delicacy - and they do tend to be quite small these days; our Cape Grim scotch fillet steak is one of the finest cuts of meat you can find; To suggest that we were out of "just about everything" is a little bit of an over statement; our prices may not be the cheapest, but they certainly are on par with the Tasmanian market and I your suggestion that our decore is cheap just baffles me.

Our Trip Advisor listing is testament to the standard of business we operate and high level of customer satisfaction that we enjoy. I am sorry that we have not met your expectations.

Regards,

Clint Walker,
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 521 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

This motel is in a lovely spot on the hill overlooking Stanley, the beach and The Nut. The room we stayed in was very spacious, comfortable and very clean. The outside is well maintained and looks very nice.

We had intended to eat in the village but unfortunately everything was either closed or fully booked so we headed back to the hotel to eat in their restaurant. My husband called from the room to see when they could take us as we were told they were very busy. After a very confusing phone call we were told we could have a table at 8.15 which was perfectly fine.

We had a copy of the menu in the room so we had a chance to look at it before going in. It seemed a bit pricey with mains ranging from about $30 - 50 (including lobster which was obviously quite expensive). For the price I was expecting much more from the restaurant than what we were served. Each main course was served with sauteed potatoes and coleslaw. Each in themselves were fine and in fact the slaw was very good, but the fact that every dish had the same accompaniment, I think, shows a lack of thought in developing the menu. My husband had scallops for his main, which the potatoes and slaw didn't really go with. I had lamb, which I asked for medium rare but came medium well. Even so, it was very tender and quite well seasoned although perhaps a little salty.

We also had dessert for which I ordered the cheesecake. Unfortunately this was lacking in flavour and the texture was slightly odd - almost springy and it had little bubbles through it. My husband ordered the cheese plate, which was very nice and was a huge portion, we could have easily shared it.

All in all the hotel was nice, but I would avoid the restaurant in future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night while travelling. Was checked in by Alan who was friendly and helpful.
My room was spacious and clean, but a little dated. Free wifi included which was good. The TV signal was intermittent and kept dropping out. I wanted to walk into town for food and drink, which takes about 15 minutes and Alan was able to recommend the Stanley hotel (pub) which was very good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boredinsouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here one night and because it was my birthday had booked a Seaview Spa Suite. It wasn't quite what we were expecting but it was still a nice property to stay in. We thought a Spa Suite would have a big round spa in the room whereas it was a normal bath with spa jets which was quite small. A tight squeeze for two people.

Upon checking in we received friendly service and although the property is a little older now the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment which was a nice start to our stay in Stanley. The room was very spacious and had a very lovely view of the nut.
Stanley is a really nice town - with cute little stores, cafes and restaurants.
Be sure to take the chair lift up to the Stanley nut and walk around the top!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahbanoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My friend and I had a one night stay, rooms were very clean, comfy beds. The service at reception was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant, very relaxing, great views and excellent service. We would definitely recommend this quiet location..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night and had dinner in the Nutview Restaurant. The rooms are very nice if a little dated with the wood panelling, the bed was really comfortable and warm with the electric blanket. Our meal was superb-overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenb12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
205 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
203 reviews
1 mi away
Bay View Guesthouse
Bay View Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Seaview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Seaview Inn

Address: 58 Dovecote Rd., Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia (Formerly Dovecote Motel and Restaurant)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range: $84 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Seaview Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley Seaview Inn is a multi award winning AAA rated 3 ½ star property in the peaceful historical fishing village of Stanley, at the Western end of Tasmania’s North coast.Our hillside location provides most guest rooms with magnificent views over Stanley, the famous Stanley Nut and the surrounding waters of Bass Strait.Recent refurbishments provided guest rooms with modern décor, furnishings and bathrooms, complimented by flat screen TV’s and fast, free reliable wireless internet (Wi-Fi).Other guest room features include : Complimentary tea and coffee facilities, electric heating, electric blankets, hair dryer, ironing facilities, desk, dining table, refrigerator, mini bar and free off street parking.We have a variety of room types including standard rooms (garden view), seaview rooms, family rooms and self contained apartments. Our property also features two playgrounds and BBQ areas (the second opens in October). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanley Seaview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Seaview Hotel
Stanley Seaview Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing