We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful apartment”
Review of On the Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
On the Terrace
Ranked #7 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Beautiful, clean and spacious apartment overlooking beach, with every amenity including laundry. Also lovely terrace to relax and watch the sunset. Our first visit to Tasmania and found Stanley a beautiful location and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxaimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were upgraded from a studio to 1 bedroom unit, so impressed with the decor and cleanliness, had everything we needed plus more. Owners were nice but not intrusive. Stanley and surrounds were great to visit, would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley TAS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Late in the afternoon (6pm) and looking for a place to stay in Stanley and we were greeted by the lady owner of "On the Terrace", after saying they had accommodation for a three night stay she quickly changed her mind after we told her we had a 4 year old child and basically did not want to know us... very rude and abrupt, so we took our money elsewhere, highly recommend looking at the Stanley Hotel as they have many cottages around the beautiful village and are family orientated. Good coffee go to Chin Wags. I'm glad "On the Terrace" didn't get our money.

Room Tip: Go to the Stanley Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night in this lovely place. We stayed in the studio apartment which, despite being compact, has everything needed without feeling at all cramped and included a private little courtyard. Mother/sister-in-law stayed in the unit in the main building which gave them a separate bedroom and sofa bed in the lounge option. This unit had extras the studio didn't have such as dishwasher, hotplates, huge tv, was very spacious, and the view to water was a little better (but studio view is still lovely). Extras in both units such as double glazing, thoughtful decorating, fresh flowers, a little dish of lollies, dvd's, magazines, good quality curtains, linen, taps etc gave the stay a quality feel. I couldn't fault our stay and thank our hosts for providing such a lovely place to relax in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed two nights in the Studio apartment at On the Terrace. Central location – walking distance to town centre and feature points. Great views, spacious apartment with quality fittings and appointments. Lovely hosts who made our stay most enjoyable – couldn't do enough for us. Thoroughly recommend Stanley as a place to stay with many interesting attractions in the immediate surrounds. History abounds in this region.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
615 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This apartment is beautiful inside and outside. The spacious patio has comfortable seating with views of the bay and is a lovely way to spend the late afternoon, surrounded by colorful plantings as well. The living area also looks out on this peaceful scenery. The bathroom is very roomy, the bed nice and comfy and the kitchen well appointed. Actually, the entire place is well appointed. This was a wonderful location and we highly recommend a visit. We had a wonderful time chatting with Robyn about the kilos of tomatoes she had picked and was turning into sauces and such for the year. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed 1 night and would have loved longer. Had great water view from front of building. Heaps of living room area and extremely well appointed apartment. Everything you would want and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Host was present on arrival and easy to speak with over the phone when making arrangements.
Would recommend this B&B and it is close to eveything in Stanley (within walking distance of restaurants and attractions).
Car parking on premises. Gardens were very well maintained and wonderful to view when enjoying a wine out the front.
Views were amazing and the sunset just lingered for quite some time as we waited for the Penguin tour operator to arrive. Delightful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarcyIpswich1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
1.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Terrace

Property: On the Terrace
Address: 8 Alexander Tce, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — On the Terrace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Terrace Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing