We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B & B in Stanley”
Review of The Ark Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ark Stanley
Ranked #1 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great B & B in Stanley”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a two night stop in the Ark where had an excellent stay due to the the friendly and helpful hosts. We arrived before lunch after arriving in Devonport on the Spirit of Tasmanial. I was feeling off weather and was very pleased when we were able to book in early, our room was changed to allow this. This welcome was continued over the next few days with recommendations of places to eat and places to visit.
The room was comfortable, with a very modern bathroom. (They could have provided larger bath sheets to extend the luxuriant experience.)
Excellent location in walking distant to the best restaurants in Stanley.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Your review is much appreciated Vicki and we thank you for your comments. When you arrived at 9.20am and your husband explained you weren't well and needed a bed, we could not accommodate you immediately in the room you had booked as it had not yet been vacated by the previous night's guests who were still at breakfast. An upgrade to the Belvedere Suite soon fixed that and we were happy to oblige. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes. Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
146
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and I must say that everything Brenda S has said in her review is spot on. The location and outlook are great. The house has been beautifully renovated and our room felt nicely secluded. Rhonda & Christer were very welcoming and we were upgraded on arrival to the Anderson room at no extra cost.The room was immaculate and spacious and the décor very tasteful. The bed linen and soft furnishings were top quality. Breakfast in the gorgeous kitchen was scrumptious, with a great selection of healthy foods to choose from. Rhonda preserves fruits in season and a good selection of them is offered each morning. Would definitely recommend a stay. Only (slight) negatives were an intermittent WiFi signal and a firm bed, which is probably more about personal preference.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you Ann for your review. it was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality and special touche throughout the property. The intermittent wi-fi signal is unfortunately something that is generally encountered throughout town and more so indicative of our area, lovely as it is! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a fantastic overnight stay at The Ark. The owners were welcoming,friendly and very hospitable. The room was immaculate,clean,fresh and very tastefully decorated. Every little extra you could possibly think of was in the room. Including things like an aromatic candle,timtam biscuits,battery operated decorative light feature,umbrellas and robes in the cupboard, toilet spray,makeup remover,cotton buds/ balls and cushions for the outdoor chairs. Also provided were champagne glasses,wine cooler,plates and cutlery even though it wasn't self contained. A lovely breakfast was provided n the central kitchen. A choice of various cereals, fruit,yoghurt, breads,jams, fresh squeezed juice and a large choice of various coffee made fresh from the coffee machine. A choice of DVDs and magazines could be borrowed from the main lounge. One tiny criticism was the wifi signal didn't reach the room we stayed in as it wasn't apart of the main house. We stayed in the weatherly room. Should we ever return to Stanley we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: An internal room if you want wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us Brenda S. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay, that you liked the details in the room and would return if travelling to Stanley. That is a great recommendation and we really appreciate it. Hopefully your return visit will be sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Myself and my Groomsman stayed at The Ark for 2 nights in the lead up to our wedding. It provided a perfect base and the B&B style of this property served us perfectly with rooms opening up into a shared common area. Breakfast was great and filling and Rhonda was an absolute dream to deal with. You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
It was a pleasure John, for The Ark Stanley to have had the opportunity to be a part of your special day, and the lead up to it. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it is very much appreciated. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a lovely day driving through the hinterlands from Devonport to Stanley. The weather was sunny and perfect for open top touring and to arrive in Stanley at The Ark capped off a perfect day! The renovations to this wonderful house are stylish and it presents v.clean indeed with v.hospitable owners. With The Nut as a backdrop it is the perfect place to stay in a beautiful little town and easy walking distance to the main street. Highly recommended and would stay again!

Room Tip: We had the 'Anderson', great views out over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you Danny G for your review. You certainly did arrive in style and that itself was great to see. Happy to have been able to give you an undercover park! Stanley definately is a great destination and we are glad you found your way here, and most importantly that you enjoyed your time at The Ark. Regards, Chris and Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very comfortable and friendly. We agree with all the other very positive reviews. One of the best places we stayed in the whole of our trip. Large double shower,very comfortable bedroom and friendly hosts

Room Tip: Ours had an outside sitting area and was excellent. It was the first room by itself from the entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Your review David C is very much appreciated; we are particularly pleased you rate us a 5 star and that you enjoyed your stay in the Weatherly Suite. As you say, it has its own entrance and verandah, and we find it is very popular as a more secluded suite. Hope to see you again one day. Regards Chris and Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Ark Stanley will not disappoint. It is stylish; beautiful furnishings, the most comfortable beds, gorgeous bathroom fittings, and your own set of bathroom robes! The hosts are friendly and very accommodating. No expense has been spared to create this warm and inviting environment. I felt like i was at home! Small details made the difference; tim tams in the rooms, breakfast included, and use of dvd's. This will be our first stop if we return to Stanley. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: the front rooms give you great views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hristina3666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We appreciate the time you took to leave a review for us Hristina3666 and are pleased you enjoyed your time at The Ark. Looking forward to seeing you again one day. Regards, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
11.3 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 7 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ark Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark Stanley

Property: The Ark Stanley
Address: 18 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ark Stanley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House The Ark Stanley is situated in Stanley Tasmania, a restored period residence, positioned directly opposite Tatlow’s Beach and at the base of the plug of an extinct volcano standing approximately 150 metres high, known as The Nut. Our location takes in sweeping views across Sawyers Bay, and of course upward to the impressive and towering Nut. The Circular Head area, and the township of Stanley in particular, is a much-loved tourist destination and has something for all, be they adventurer, explorer, naturalist, historian, fisherman, romantic or holidaymaker. The residence has recently been tastefully restored, renovated and enhanced. With an eclectic decor, paying homage to yesteryear and planning for the future, an outstanding home has been created which is proudly offered for guest accommodation. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Ark Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ark Stanley Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing