We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ark Stanley”
Review of The Ark Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ark Stanley
Ranked #1 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rosebud, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Ark Stanley”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have no reservation recommending 'The Ark". Decorated tastefully to a very high standard, and immaculate. One of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed in, attention to detail second to none. Walking distance to various eating houses. quaint and quiet little village. Would love to come back if we ever visit Tasmainia again. Cheryl and Phil. Rosebud Victoria.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope you can find your way back to Stanley. Lovely to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
148
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stay in Stanley a few times a year, and the normal accomadation I stay in was booked out, so this was a second choice for me, as I normally prefer to stay in hotel or apartment rather than B&B's....However.... My stay at the Ark was a very recommendable one. very freindly and professional hosts, and excellent room with everything you could need for a stay away from home.
The house has had recent and complete renovations, and finished to a very high standard with quality fittings throughout. The location is very good, with a very short walk to the wharf, parks or the main shops..
All in all a excellent stay, and one I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
It was lovely to read your comments, and to learn a guest house/b&b can be a great choice for a business traveller. We do hope to see you again; thank you for giving us a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Upon arriving in Stanley we couldn't have been more happier with our selection on Wotif. We were so happy that asked to stay another night. We were lucky enough to stay for two nights in two different rooms, each unique but both very classy and extremely comfortable. The rooms were elegantly furnished and the bathrooms were very nice, the dual shower heads a highlight.

The location was also spot on. A beautiful view of the water in both rooms. Positioned nicely under the famous Nut and a short stroll to all the cool little, shops, cafes and restaurants in Stanley's town centre.

Little details were great too, chocolates, coffee and tea in rooms plus a good folder in each room to provide info on things offered in town. Continental breakfast as well was very nice with some quality home made jams.

Thanks Guys

Elanna and Jack

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay in Stanley. It was lovely to meet you and have chats over breakfast. We thank you for taking the time to leave a review and - Please visit us again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Arrived in Stanley with nowhere to stay for one night. After asking around at a few places - all booked out we found this cute B and B. I was hesitant at first as these places are usually not children friendly. Spoke to owner who was very happy to accommodate a child. Had a beautiful room, I became paranoid as the room was exquisite and i had a 2yr old who liked to touch everything. Complimentary chocs to go with our coffee. Even had a DVD player. Bathroom gorgeous. We paid $140.00 on wotif it was a back room, totally worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwind44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and, hopefully, you can stay a little longer next time! The heated floors we have in the ensuites, continuing through to the natural pebbles in the shower area, are definitely a great feature in the cooler months. While the Corinthian Suite is one of our most popular, both the Anderson and Belvedere are set directly at the front of the property so have the most amazing views and are the closest to the water. Thank you for choosing "The Ark", for your accommodation in Stanley, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed one night at this great guesthouse. Best night's sleep in a long while with a very comfortable bed. And of course the location, short walk from the pub bistro. The highlights include an amazing heated tiled bathroom floor and right on the sea front.

Room Tip: We stayed in Corinthian room. I think the best view was from the Belvedere room? The one on the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Glad to hear you had a good night's sleep, not always easy when away from home, and bare feet certainly do appreciate a heated floor in the cooler months! Thank you for staying with us, thank you too for taking the time to leave your comments, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is our 3rd time to Stanley in 10 years. We found this place on the web and I can't remember it being open last time. Have stayed at a couple of places around town. Always try to search for a place with decent view.
We booked the belvedere suite which had an amazing double shower, and a view which can only be seen to be beleived !
Can't remember the owners names but they were most accommodating and very friendly.
There was all equip to make teas etc a few lil choccy's (yum) no full kitchen but we weren't on holiday to cook !
great eatery's within minutes of a leisurely stroll.
Can't wait for a 4th trip and will 110% book this place again ! WOW !
Daren & Georgia Maddison.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarenAndGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you Daren and Georgia for your review, our first! Yes, we have only been open a few months and we are happy you enjoyed your stay at The Ark Stanley. Since then we have added free wi-fi to the services offered, so we hope this will be of benefit to you in the future. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 7 in Stanley
126 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ark Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark Stanley

Property: The Ark Stanley
Address: 18 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ark Stanley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House The Ark Stanley is situated in Stanley Tasmania, a restored period residence, positioned directly opposite Tatlow’s Beach and at the base of the plug of an extinct volcano standing approximately 150 metres high, known as The Nut. Our location takes in sweeping views across Sawyers Bay, and of course upward to the impressive and towering Nut. The Circular Head area, and the township of Stanley in particular, is a much-loved tourist destination and has something for all, be they adventurer, explorer, naturalist, historian, fisherman, romantic or holidaymaker. The residence has recently been tastefully restored, renovated and enhanced. With an eclectic decor, paying homage to yesteryear and planning for the future, an outstanding home has been created which is proudly offered for guest accommodation. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ark Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ark Stanley Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing