We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE VIEWS !!!!”

The Nut State Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$131.58*
and up
Stanley and The Nut Day Trip from Devonport, Ulverstone or Burnie
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Caboolture, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“THE VIEWS !!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Its a long way to Stanley so if you make the journey make sure you go up to the top of The Nut reserve.
You will be rewarded by the most marvelous views.
If the chair left is not operating do the walk. I am unfit and overweight but just took my time.
It was so worth the effort.
RECOMMENDED !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank avromark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    249
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant , affordable entertainment !”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We both climbed the nut 15 yrs ago and came back now with two kids aged 5 & 7. The chair lift was closed so we walked (best way to do it! If you can!). Our kids run up, but we all stopped now and then. It's absolutely worthwhile, once you get to the top, to do the 2km walk around the top. It is , in the most part, flat surface. We counted 44 rock wallabies up the top . This was a highlight of our Tasmanian trip. Along with the stunning view.
*** please not that oust of the town CLOSES during winter. We didn't realise this. Therefore there are barely any attractions open , or cafes and galleries. There are some businesses open however and each were lovely.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank choops3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A must for all able bodied people....”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We first came two years ago. Loved it so much, we came back again. We did the steep climb up with our four year old. No problems, just took our time enjoying the spectacular views & photo opportunities. The walk around the top is fairly easy, with amazing views at all the various lookouts. Just not suitable for wheelchairs or prams.

At this time of the year, the chairlift is not operating & won't be till September. The cafe is also closed for the winter.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Nut is probably the most famous icon in the Stanley area. It is certainly a unique natural feature. Located in the middle of Stanley it is a must see attraction. You can access the summit via chairlift (when it's operating) or walking. While the walk to the top is only around 400m, it's steep and challenging for those who are elderly or disabled. Once on the summit, you have to walk the two km easy track around the Nut. There is wildlife everywhere and they are extremely tame. The views from the lookouts are spectacular and it is a most rewarding experience. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prado123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great sunrise destination”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I decided The Nut was worth getting up early to visit so got up before the sun to get to the top for the sunrise. Obviously the chairlift is not functioning at that hour. So had to take the short but very steep path. Great workout for the calves. Did the full walk around the top and there was a lot of wildlife around that time of the morning. Think I gave them all a fright. Lots of pademelons. A very different perspective that time of the morning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank qofd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nut State Reserve also viewed

 

Been to The Nut State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing