We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch delight”
Review of Xanders Brasserie - CLOSED

Xanders Brasserie
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Yolla, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
“lunch delight”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Took a good friend out to lunch, could not fault the menu as it is light and truly delightful. We will return for lunch and dinner. Desserts to remember. As always service was friendly and the 3year old with us was given special treatment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    29
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“devine”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

wonderful wonderful restaurant fantastic staff beautiful wine. Diabetes on a plate... give me more. We will fly to Tassie just to come back to Xanders

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recent appalling deterioration in standard”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We returned to Stanley for a few days recently mainly to eat at this restaurant which had been fantastic a couple of years ago when it had different owners. It still sources good beef and lamb locally but the way the produce is used is not even pub standard. It also tasted as if some ingredients were pre-packaged or canned. For instance my Asian noodle soup had no hint of Asian flavours. It was a clear broth like Campbells packets, containing noodles accompanied by a small bowl of dried onion flakes, again from perhaps a Mclintock's shaker? Where were the Asian greens eg bokchoy, herbs eg coriander, spices eg 5 spice powder or star anise (if Chinese) or lime, chilli (if creating a Thai style)? My partner's gnocchi were equally disappointing-soft and flavourless he reported.
My lamb was nice and cooked rare, as I like it, but the crumbs were soggy. A good cook would know to cook high and fast would result in rare meat and crisp crumb topping. The accompanying salad again showed that lack of understanding and passion for food. It was a small bowl of mainly endive, with brown ends, plastered in a zig-zag pattern of mayonnaise from a squeeze bottle-again off the shelf, no interesting vinaigrette as these prices should bring. My partner's duck was reasonable but again that lack of understanding of flavours. The satay sauce, tasting as out of a can, was unpleasant and hid the flavour of the duck. I'm afraid it appears as if the cook is one out of a pub 20-30 years ago when all that was expected was mixed grills. The kitchen staff would benefit from education and interest in today's food and consumer habits. Also the maître de/current owner would learn from his customers' experiences if he ASKED their opinions, not simply joke/make statements "well you'r e getting into that". The wine list was probably the only good point of the night. However to capitalise on the list, the staff need to know about the wine. It was terrific that the young waitress said she'd transfer our question to someone else who would know...........but he (the said maître de) didn't know enough about wine to be the 'expert' on hand.
We are very happy to pay a fair amount for a good meal but the food at the local pub is far better. This restaurant needs a wake-up call. If it purports to be "fine dining" it needs a change in management and cook.
This is very unfortunate for Stanley as a place as it has great cafes like Touchwood and Chin Wag who earn their good reputation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Elsie212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
1 review
“truely Scrumptious”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A friend bragged about how awesome this restaurant was and he was right. What a delight, cant wait to come back :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KB2268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

coming from Sydney we were surprised to find a regional rest. in Tassie the equal or even better than some of the top class restaurants there the food beautiful service great a must if visiting Stanley.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xanders Brasserie also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing