We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average pub food with restaurant prices”

Stanley Hotel Bistro
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: At the Stanley Hotel you’ll find a cold beer, a warm welcome and great food.Our bistro offers quality Tasmanian produce featuring great steak and seafood. Produce is sourced from the local region. In season try the fresh Lobster (crayfish), scallops, crisp battered fish ‘n’ chips, great local oysters, juicy tender grass fed beef and natural chicken.Join us for lunch or dinner which is served every day in our bistro or on our sunny deck.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average pub food with restaurant prices”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Disappointed with the meal we ordered - had the steak with peppercorn sauce. Took a long time to get our order (other dish was chicken schnitzel) and the steak was a little over-done compared to what was ordered. The peppercorn sauce had a funny taste, not quite what was expected. Overall would say the price was not reflective of what was received. Will try a restaurant next time if we return to Stanley, which I noted had the same prices as the hotel.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank frankoamalfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    225
    62
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over 1 hour wait for food”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

3 families with young kids got there at 5.30 and were told that if we ordered before the kitchen opened at 6.00, we would be served first up. Our meals came out in dribs and drabs, with the last ones arriving at about 7.10. The food was OK, but we wouldn't go there again for fear of starvation.

Helpful?
2 Thank Longlea73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Dropped in here for lunch on a Sunday. We got there just before 12.00. By 12.30 the place was packed.
Had a very tasty Pepper Beef pie, served with great chips and a nice salad.
Good, hearty pub food.
Tip: Visit their website and print out their Stanley Hotel Bar Bucks to get $5 off your first drink!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommyfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Seafood!!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at the Stanley Seaview inn and had a voucher for dinner at the Stanley Hotel Bistro. WOW!!! Food was magnificent and the seafood spectacular. It would be the best seafood I have ever eaten. Service was excellent also. Highly recommend

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank maikuwunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“uninspiring”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

food not up to much, served us oysters at ambient temperature, YUK !
And most things served with insipid under cooked chips.
there are much better options in Stanley

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teddenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley Hotel Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Stanley Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing