We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

spring onion, basil, sun dried tomato, and cheese toasted cob loaf, AMAZING!
Best beef and reef steak out, tasty and cooked to perfection.
Beer was nice and cold.
We went back again the next night, again the cob loaf, tasty!
Quail was great though there was more salad than quail.
My partnered ordered the green chicken curry, he was a bit unsure about it.
Frangelico crème brulee for dessert, amazing!
Lovely view and great food,
though the wait staff could smile a little more..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cait W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 205 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

4 of us traveling around on motorbikes, stayed Saturday night here.
I found this place to very well run and everything spotless. The rooms are basic and have coffee making facilities, when checking in Anita at reception suggested we should take the non ensuite rooms as they are cheaper.
The toilet and bathrooms were also surgical clean too!
Food and bar service was also very good

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank rod g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We didn’t stay at the Stanley Hotel but at Abbey on Church villa, run by and just down the road from the Stanley Hotel. Very cute, very pleasant. A comfortable and a nice, new fitout. Well located on the main (really the only) street in a picturesque little village on the top left hand side of Tasmania. Well worth the stay and the visit to this cute little town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We recently stayed at Abbey's, The Green House; a well maintained, fully equipped, well-presented three bedroom cottage, run by the hotel. We had everything we needed, close to a beach and the historic burial ground. We ate at the hotel's bistro on our last evening and were disappointed with the standard of the food; the service was wonderful.

Room Tip: Sleeps six easily: two queens and a twin room. One queen has an ensuite and the main toilet is separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

There is not a lot of competition in Stanley for restaurant service so it is disappointing when you book a table for 7 pm. Give your order for steak and fish at 7-15 and still be waiting at 8-15.
The restaurant was Perhaps two thirds full when we entered and my wife and I had eaten there the night before so were prepared for some wait but one hour?
The food is only fair and the selection rather limited and if you don't like chips. .....tough.! As for service well of course it depends on your waitperson as generally the staff are really nice but there is always one who was trained by Basil Fawlty.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Perthscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a room booked and arrived a little later than expected. The staff were so helpful, they sorted out our room details and then took our dinner order so it would be ready when we came down. Little details like that make all the difference. The food was delicious, we even had dessert! The room was nice and clean, just a little small. Was a gorgeous wee town and the Stanley Hotel is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Estowen House is one of quite a few other properties managed by Stanley Hotel.
See the previous review (April 2012) for information about the house, all of which I would agree with. The following are just my comments to add the the previous:
Very well equipped kitchen, although the lighting over the bench is pretty dim making food preparation a little difficult if you don't have excellent eyesight!
We were there in Winter and the electric heating was quite adequate (all the old fireplaces are covered over and not in use).
The bedding was comfortable, but not generous in proportions: 2 bedrooms have double (not queen) beds and the third bedroom has 2 single beds which also looked quite small. There is a fourth room off the lounge that also has a bed in it, but it is quite small and I'm not sure if it is in use as a bedroom.
The toilet is at the furthest end of the house from the bedrooms. I didn't mind this, but my wife thought it a bit creepy to have to go down a couple hallways to get to it in the middle of the night.
The bathroom is good, with a claw-foot bath as well as a shower - it is not quite as far away as the toilet, but there is no toilet in the bathroom itself.
As the previous review noted there is a piano in the lounge with plenty of sheet music. It is only just playable as it needs a bit of a tune and a few of the notes don't work properly. This is an observation rather than a criticism as I would have been extremely surprised if it was perfectly in tune!
The house and furnishings do ooze character, and I would certainly choose to stay there again if visiting Stanley, particularly with a larger group of people (as it was just me and my wife in what is really quite a large house).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendo_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
11.4 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
0.9 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay View Guesthouse
Bay View Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
0.1 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 19 - 21 Church St | Stanley Tasmania, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range: $63 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of this historic fishing village, the Stanley Hotel allows you to immerse yourself in the quaint township of Stanley. The comfortable and recently refurbished en-suite rooms offer an affordable alternative for your holiday accommodation with great views of the township.All are sunny, cosy and fitted out with televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. The Stanley Hotel has an award winning Bistro on site specializing in local seafood and steak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Orbitz so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing