We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2012

First off a huge thank you for the upgrade. We had originally booked our 1st night at Pol & Pen cottage & as that was unavailable for our 2nd night in Stanley we booked our 2nd night at Stanley hotel. On checking in at Stanley Hotel we were informed they had upgraded us to stay both nights at Abbeys on Church. We were very happy with the upgrade. The cottage was beautiful. So freshly renovated you could almost smell the paint & fitted out with first class fittings & furniture. Absolutely loved the 2 person spa & the King bed & my wife loved the kitchen & the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dags111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Stanley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 201 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed with my wife at the Sanley Hotel based on the pictures they have on the net, on arrival we were disappointed to find our room has the old bathroom and decor. They advertised that the hotel had been fully renovated.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countryjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We hadnt been to Stanley in years and decided to go up for a few nights, alot has changed, even the drive along the coast was easy with new highways in place.
Stanley is still beautiful. It was great to see alot of development to the Hotel, but everything is still in keeping to the historic and comforting place that it always was.
The local pub is in a great location in the centre of town and in walking distance to everything, the rooms have been recently renovated and ours had a lovely modern bathroom.
We also enjoyed the great food at the bistro , the staff were very attentive and friendly, there were lots of locals as well. Great bottleshop too!
We will definatley come back again and would highly recommend the Hotel to family and friends, it would be great if everyone could experience such a great weekend that we had.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

It was rather easy to find as its strong colored building stood out. Check in was at the restaurant below. Stairs leading to the rooms were a little narrow, so we didn't bring our baggage from the car, but just the necessities. Room was average sized, and the heater didn't really work, but the blanket warmed us well.

Shared bathroom was surprisingly clean - the cleanest among the shared bathrooms I have ever came across in my Australia trip. We also watched the best sunset in our lives just near the dock which is a short distance walk from the hotel. I couldn't remember what we had for breakfast as it was 7 months back, but I remembered it was one of the best breakfast we had in Australia.

Your hotel is indeed a complimentary to our enjoyable trip up to The Nut. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broadshouldersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I'm a big fan of the old pubs in small towns and the Stanley Hotel is just that.

You always expect issues like cold water, creaky beds and the like and that's all part and parcel of the experience - but not at the Stanley Hotel. It's an upmarket sort of place that's been renovated and has all the mod cons.

Terrific bar area and the bistro has won more awards than I've had hot dinners - terrific food, bit on the expensive side.

The accommodation was pretty basic (bunk beds in a small room) and the top bunk didn't feel that stable. Creaked with every movement so I didn't move much.

It’s a very professionally run hotel, with a thoroughly modern team looking after you very well for a low rate.

Overall, quite nice. Next time I visit Stanley I'll try somewhere else (if there's somewhere else available), but would be happy if I had to end up back here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We had an ensuite room. It was tastefully renovated with a great bathroom, fridge and flat screen TV on the wall.

Classifying this property as a B&B isn't accurate. It is a pub with great rooms and good food. The whole place (except 3 rooms) has been renovated and is very warm and comfortable.

The bar is good and well used by locals. The two ladies behind the bar were working hard but were process driven -- poor customer contact skills. Not a deal breaker as we were pleased overall.

We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed the steak. My partner's medium steak came on the wrong side of rare. This was replaced quickly and without issue and followed up with a checkup from the manager. Good recovery.

Good food and wine in pleasant surroundings.

Breakfast is not served but the there is a fantastic cafe 5 minutes walk away, named Moby Dick's, which we visited. This place has great coffee and a brilliant breakfast menu with very friendly service -- a must visit location.

The Stanley Hotel was pretty good and I would happily stay and eat there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

the only place to drink in Stanley. Great atmosphere, crazy American barman with lethal cocktail combinations. lots of fun.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahCharnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
11.4 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 19 - 21 Church St | Stanley Tasmania, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range: $65 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of this historic fishing village, the Stanley Hotel allows you to immerse yourself in the quaint township of Stanley. The comfortable and recently refurbished en-suite rooms offer an affordable alternative for your holiday accommodation with great views of the township.All are sunny, cosy and fitted out with televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. The Stanley Hotel has an award winning Bistro on site specializing in local seafood and steak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing