We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
@ VDL Stanley
Nearby Hotels
Stanley Hotel(Stanley)(Great Value!)
$79
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stanley Seaview Inn(Stanley)(Great Value!)
$97
$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waterfront Wynyard(Wynyard)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wellers Inn(Burnie)
$96
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Ikon Hotel(Burnie)
$129
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tall Timbers Tasmania(Smithton)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
101
24
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
24
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking loftcomfortable bedheritage buildingfree standing bathboutique hotelfront doorturn down servicewalking distance to most thingsquality appointmentsmoby dickmodern fittingsbeautiful accommodationliving spaceloved staying herelarge showerplace to staycoffee table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 136 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

As we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary we decided to stay somewhere a little special and were not disappointed with the VDL@ Stanley. The building is a beautiful heritage listed wool store that has been very tastefully decorated with contemporary furnishings to give it a fabulous modern look. The room was lovely and warm and again furnished to a very high standard. Although there is no one on site permanently, you feel like you are the 'lord of the manor' which is very nice. There are only 3 rooms, one being a loft room with a full kitchen and living space. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a nice stay in one of the queen rooms at the sister property of vdl stanley just down the road. Room was very nice and clean with a view of the ocean. No cooking facilities but they recommended some favorite restaurants. Good value!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzyfrombondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visiting places where your ancestors first established themselves in Australia creates a certain bias toward a place. We have made several visits to Stanley. On other occasions we have stayed at the 'parent' property, the on the waterfront bluestone @VDL. We have been there in every season and stayed in each of the suites. If modern comfort of home, dare we say, luxury feel, then @VDL provides everything one could want. On this occasion, we stayed at what is termed the 'sister' property @The Base. Located in the 'dress circle' on Alexander Terrace which sits above VDL with sweeping views of the bay. There are two suites one larger than the other. We needed only the small suite which was perfectly adequate for a weekend stay. It 'ticks the boxes' as far as comfort, position, amenity and cost. And it is breathtakingly silent a must when we travel. Take breakfast at nearby Moby Dicks they serve brilliant meals. Try the pub brasserie or Zanders on the main street for dinner.

Room Tip: If you are a couple the ensuite is OK; specify if you need more space and the proprietors will advise you whether @VDL or @The Base is best for you.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffB2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Loved staying here, it was such a luxury compared to some of the other places we stayed in whilst travelling Tasmania! Beautiful interior, loved how it was decorated. Very much appreciated coming back from dinner to find a plate of handmade chocolates waiting for us! Very worth the money. The only downside was the water pressure. Took nearly an hour to fill the tub and to wash shampoo from my hair but other than that, cannot fault this place.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LilLozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I loved arriving at this place. The history of the building (Van Diemen's Land Company house) and its stunning and very stylishly designed interiors are gorgeous. The art reflects Tasmania's contemporary print scene and the huon pine and other crafted modern furniture made me feel I was having a 5 star experience at the end of the earth...nearly. Great bathroom. The location to the centre of this tiny town is good...owners have the local gift and coffee shop too. Lots to buy.

There are only a few studios. Any would be lovely. We were upstairs.

Room Tip: Upstairs studio apartment was lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frangipanihongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews