We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with ocean view”
Review of @ VDL Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
@ VDL Stanley
Ranked #4 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a nice stay in one of the queen rooms at the sister property of vdl stanley just down the road. Room was very nice and clean with a view of the ocean. No cooking facilities but they recommended some favorite restaurants. Good value!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzyfrombondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 126 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visiting places where your ancestors first established themselves in Australia creates a certain bias toward a place. We have made several visits to Stanley. On other occasions we have stayed at the 'parent' property, the on the waterfront bluestone @VDL. We have been there in every season and stayed in each of the suites. If modern comfort of home, dare we say, luxury feel, then @VDL provides everything one could want. On this occasion, we stayed at what is termed the 'sister' property @The Base. Located in the 'dress circle' on Alexander Terrace which sits above VDL with sweeping views of the bay. There are two suites one larger than the other. We needed only the small suite which was perfectly adequate for a weekend stay. It 'ticks the boxes' as far as comfort, position, amenity and cost. And it is breathtakingly silent a must when we travel. Take breakfast at nearby Moby Dicks they serve brilliant meals. Try the pub brasserie or Zanders on the main street for dinner.

Room Tip: If you are a couple the ensuite is OK; specify if you need more space and the proprietors will advis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffB2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Loved staying here, it was such a luxury compared to some of the other places we stayed in whilst travelling Tasmania! Beautiful interior, loved how it was decorated. Very much appreciated coming back from dinner to find a plate of handmade chocolates waiting for us! Very worth the money. The only downside was the water pressure. Took nearly an hour to fill the tub and to wash shampoo from my hair but other than that, cannot fault this place.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LilLozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I loved arriving at this place. The history of the building (Van Diemen's Land Company house) and its stunning and very stylishly designed interiors are gorgeous. The art reflects Tasmania's contemporary print scene and the huon pine and other crafted modern furniture made me feel I was having a 5 star experience at the end of the earth...nearly. Great bathroom. The location to the centre of this tiny town is good...owners have the local gift and coffee shop too. Lots to buy.

There are only a few studios. Any would be lovely. We were upstairs.

Room Tip: Upstairs studio apartment was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frangipanihongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I absolutely loved this place. We stayed in @vdl's sister property called @the base (room nos 2) and it was wonderful! It's at a great location( we were a 5-10 mi walk away from Hursey's seafood, the Moby Dick breakfast bar and the walking trail to the Nut. From our room we got a wonderful view of the sea and the room is very tastefully decorated. love it!

Room Tip: I really like room nos 2 because of the lovely view
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Samjogoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The architecture at VDL is stunning, but not very practical. The sitting room downstairs looked great but the failure off the fire to light made it very cold. The air conditioning in the bedrooms was not adequate for the very cold winter temperatures. The location is great being a short stroll from the water, the shops and restaurants and the Nut. It is a little disconcerting to have no one on site
So there is no real feeling of welcome. The property is highly unsuitable for children as it has an open staircase with no railings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiley8082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our 1st time in Stanley and we decided to book a room at @thebase. The room was cosy and spacious and the bed was super comfortable! We loved the free standing bath and the underfloor heating was an added bonus :) Free wifi was great, Thanks for the great recommendations of places to eat/ drink, Location is very central and 5 mins walk from the Nut and all the main shops.
Great views from the balcony of an amazing sunset topped our visit off! Def come back if we are in Tassie again :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sozzyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
502 reviews
1.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
0.4 mi away
Touchwood Cottages
Touchwood Cottages
#3 of 10 in Stanley
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ VDL Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ VDL Stanley

Address: 16 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $142 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — @ VDL Stanley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your @ VDL Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@ VDL Stanley Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing