We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest Accommodation in Tassie”
Review of @ VDL Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
@ VDL Stanley
Ranked #4 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manly, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Coolest Accommodation in Tassie”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This beautiful, historic bluestone building is even more amazing once you step inside with a super stylish interior and amazing attention to detail - perfectly balancing its heritage with a modern feel. The property felt very private which we love with only three rooms and the key left at the door for our arrival. You first walk into a great communal area with a big gas fireplace, couches and dinning table. Then up the open wooden stair case to the King Suite we staying in which was cosy with a gorgeous long window overlooking the bay and the local fisherman boats. The little plate of handmade chocolates as soon as we entered the room was a sweet touch. The fantastic styling continued in the rooms with raw, original walls, chic furniture, quirky decor elements and luxurious wool carpet. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the bathroom well designed. Free WiFi was a godsend as much of the accommodation outside of Hobart dosen't offer it. We could have easily not left the room it was so enjoyable, however when we did venture out all the restaurants the @ VDL website recommended were well worth the visit. We would return to Stanley in a heartbeat because of the wonderful stay we had here.

Room Tip: The King Suite has the best view with a long window overlooking Sawyer Bay and local fisherman boats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    22
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
105
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in a room @the base while it was freezing cold and raining outside. The room was nice, clean and perfectly warm. The bed was extremely comfortable and we loved the huge bathroom. The location was great, close to the centre of town and a close walk to The Nut.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Stayed at the Base. From our room, we have amazing views of ocean. Room had everything we needed. Bed was comfy, artwork was a nice touch. Solid and modern fittings throughout. Only downside was outside light was on a very sensitive setting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the VDL Stanley on our honeymoon and the service was good. The photo's of the room looked nice on the internet however when we got there unfortunately when you touched the cement walls some particles of the wall would fall off and become a little dusty. Location wise it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smithy7781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in room #1. Our room was absolutely amazing, the design of this hotel has been so considerate of the buildings history. The entertainment selections are great despite the owner clearly having a thing for Paul Walker :). We could suggest the only thing that could improve your stay is some hot chocolate and herbal tea. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is after a fantastically appointed, quiet getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust_Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon and we were so impressed. We would without a doubt live in this amazing bluestone property on a full time basis. Greeted with delicious gourmet chocolates, we found our room to be spacious, relaxing, and modern in architectural design. Nothing like what we have stayed in before. A true guesthouse, selection of DVD's and a communal kitchen, you can truly make yourself at home. A short walk from the shopping strip of stanley and stunning views of the beach, you could not ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tboandspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A bit of a strange start with nobody at the reception (pick up the phone and get your key), but the room was spacious and very nice. Good location close to the restaurants.

Across the road is a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
3.4 mi away
Stanley Lakeside Spa Cabins
Stanley Lakeside Spa Cabins
#10 of 10 in Stanley
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ VDL Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ VDL Stanley

Property: @ VDL Stanley
Address: 16 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — @ VDL Stanley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your @ VDL Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@ VDL Stanley Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing