We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of @ VDL Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
@ VDL Stanley
Ranked #4 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Base Queen Suite and it was modern, roomy and comfortable. The bath was very deep and the bathroom floor heated. The room had very comfortable furniture. A small area to make a cup of tea or coffee. We ate at the Hotel Stanley and the meals were reasonably priced and lovely. We had breakfast at Moby Dicks only a short walk from the Base. The staff were incredible, the food fantastic and cheap.The view from our room was amazing. There are only two rooms at the Base and it is very private. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book on Wotif
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christene_burnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for @ VDL Stanley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 126 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

We loved this property. Great location, large and spacious room with a wonderful comfortable bed and a great bathroom. We went around to the owners delightful giftshop to collect the keys and found him to be extremly hospitable and welcoming. We are already planning our next visit. We can highly recommend dinner in the local pub.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dowrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

It was the break away that we needed.

The Hotel and Stanley is a little hidden gem.
The 2 rooms that we had were superb and i had the best sleep ever the bed was the best i have ever slept in........ We woke in the morning to a wet and windy day and managed to climb the nut between showers. Then retired to the comforts of our room and watched a few dvd and relaxed in style.



Thank you VDL for a truly wonderful stay and we will be back soon with more freinds. And thanks for the chocolates a nice touch!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stokes_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We loved VDL! We stayed for two nights and enjoyed every minute. We thought Stanley was a beautiful town in a gorgeous setting, so relaxing and peaceful. We had #3 upstairs and it was a huge spacious room. Great Kind bed, comfy couch and cool bathroom. The renovation is stunning and we immediately felt at home. I enjoyed not having alot of staff around and just being left alone to do your own thing and their dogs are cute :)

Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goingplacesmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I fell for the web site and write ups big time,I booked a week!!
I even knew the sleepy Stanley town and this old warehouse building,next to the car park and chip shop,and still I said no this is the place for a "unique,luxury,HIP,all suite,stylish"etc etc.
I was very wrong.
When we arrived a note told us to collect our key from a shop back in the village not a great start.We were allocated one of the top floor/roof space rooms for the week and instantly disliked it.Gets warm but no AC or fan.Small windowless bathroom,but good towels.Poor inside and outside maintenance and cleaning.Some furniture thick with dust.Carpet stains.The first morning we found animal excrement downstairs.No bath robes as advertised.The large TV was too high for comfortable viewing from the good large couch.
There is a washing machine and drier for guests but these are coin operated.
Staying for the week I had expected the best room ,and excellent hospitality but did not get it we left without a farewell.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
6  Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford11, Owner at @ VDL Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

We thank you for your feedback.....Given that we are only a small property with three rooms there is not always someone on site waiting for guests to arrive and depart and all our guest checkin and out of the store which is located about 100 metres from the Hotel.

I am sorry that you were expecting a better room than the cheapest room that you had booked. If you wished to have moved to one of our other rooms we would of happily moved you if you wanted to upgrade.

All our rooms do have bathrobes and if you had bougt it to our attention we could of pointed out where they are in the room if you missed them.

And in relation th the animal excrement downstairs I am sorry that another guest had inadvertantly walked in Wallaby Poop and walked this through the property as our front yard is frequented by these little creatures and well it happens.

And the television sits no more than 1200 high on the side unit so..........I am sorry that oit was not suitable for your viewing.

And as for the building maintenance if you had pointed these out to us we could looked at the issues that we are unaware of. If it was the walls you were talking about, these are limewashed and unfortunatley they do flake aliitle over time. This is the original process that was used and we need to retain these as the Property is of National Heritage Significance.

But again thank you for your feedback......!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Maybe I had my hopes and dreams of staying at this guest house set too high! Beware of fancy website advertising! Stayed at much better establishments in Tasmania for a lot less money.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CairnsScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed at @VDL on our honeymoon. We originally booked it for one night but extended it to two after discovering just how lovely it was.

We arrived after dark and the owner was waiting for us. As soon as we walked in the door, my new husband and I couldn't stop saying "wow". The renovations inside this historic building are amazing, and the decor is stunning.

The bed was extremely comfortable as was the couch, the room had a large flatscreen tv, a gorgeous bathroom with both shower and freestanding bath, and locally produced chocolates and liquer for a nightcap.

The owner also lives in the boutique hotel and urged us to feel at home. He demonstrated the coffee machine in the kitchen and then left us to it. There aren't any meals available but he personally made a booking for us at a pub/restaurant in the town, and we easily found somewhere for breakfast the next morning.

I highly recommend @VDL and can't wait to get back there again :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SomerLoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
496 reviews
1.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
0.0 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ VDL Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ VDL Stanley

Address: 16 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $146 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — @ VDL Stanley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your @ VDL Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@ VDL Stanley Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing