We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable accommodation”
Review of Sweetwater Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweetwater Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed February 2, 2011

10 Min drive along foreshore of St Helens. Great self contained accommodation. Comfy sofa for watching Austar. Note website says there is a spa for communal use but this is closed. Good value for money, friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilove2travel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
92
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra,Sunshine Coast,Qld.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

These villas were recommended to me by other Tasmanian travellers but my friend and I had already booked a night here on our way to Launceston. Two bedrooms,shower and toilet were on the bottom floor with high,steep flight of internal steps to the lounge,kitchen and another toilet on top floor. This accommodation would not be suitable to people with young children or the elderly because of the steep staircase.We found the villa to be clean and comfortable and close to the lovely Latris restaurant on the waterfront.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We had a one bedroom unit, with breakfast components supplied in the room, in a pleasant area about half an hour walk from the harbour, along the shoreline.

The accommodation was clean and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the bay. There was a range of TV channels using Austar. Cabled internet in office.

When we checked out and I mentioned that the hairdryer wasn't working, the owner took great delight in telling me that it was a temperamental problem with a small holding clip, which I should have adjusted - a most unhelpful approach.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

It is located in a quiet part of st. helens. There is a nice view of the river from the balcony.
The host and hostess are very friendly. In fact, on reaching we realized that our mobiles were out of range. They were courteous enough to let us use their phone for all local calls for no extra charge. They do make you feel home!
Recommend for a quiet getaway with a touch of romance!

  • Liked — location, decor, sevice
  • Disliked — no shops nearby for any emergency needs!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deepsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State, WA
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We stayed here for one night, as we traveled along the east coast of Tasmania. We chose the location, as it was close to the Bay of Fires & Binalong Bay, and because it was a self-catered apartment. The price was very reasonable, and the "villa" (a bit of a stretch!) was clean & comfortable. Kind of a quirky bathroom setup, but, again, it was more than adequate for the price & location. Having a computer in the office was helpful, as we were able to check our emails using our own computer. The management is efficient, but we never felt that we were being penny pinched...and they made the call to the restaurant for us, without charging extra for the local call...as a previous reviewer experienced. No warm fuzzies, but no reason not to recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Quirky bathroom set-up
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DuoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

My partner and I stayed in the self-contained 1 bedroom unit for 2 nights. The building and room decor probably aren't worth writing home about but it was clean and comfortable and for the budget price it was hard to complain. The proprietor runs a tight ship and charged 60 cents for a local phone call.

  • Liked — budget price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
8.3 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
91 reviews
8.6 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
1.1 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Homelea Accommodation
Homelea Accommodation
#3 of 10 in St Helens
73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#4 of 10 in St Helens
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Villas

Property: Sweetwater Villas
Address: 16 - 18 Halcyon Gr, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back and relax at Sweetwater Villas, your home in St. Helens. Sweetwater Villas is located in a region with lots of natural beauty that makes it unique and special, The best location to discover Tasmania's East Coast and to explore the famous Bay of Fires located only 10 minutes away!The motel apartments are positioned on a hill in a quiet cul-de-sac away from the main road providing serenity and a panoramic view of the bay. We have a great team of people that work and live on-site to help you enjoy your stay in St Helens. The award winning fully self-contained and spacious one and two bedroom apartments are Star rating accredited 3.5 Stars and offer full cooking facilities, fresh linen and onsite allocated parking directly outside your apartment, We also have BBQ facilities and a guest laundry. Guests also have access to FREE WIFI in public areas and flat screen HD TV with DVD players with latest release loan DVDs available. The 2 storey two bedroom apartments can accommodate up to five guests. The self contained one bedroom villas have a separate lounge area and en-suite. Take a leisurely two minute walk to the Georges Bay Walking Trail and the renowned Kirwin fishing pier or drive 10 minutes to St Helens Point and Beerbarrel beach which are the local surf beaches. Why not browse through the local shops in town and dine at the RSL or numerous seafood (Salty Seas, Mohr and Smith or Skippers), Indian, Chinese and Italian restaurants and cosy cafes. Come and experience the warm hospitality at Sweetwater Villas today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Sweetwater Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Villas St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing