We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food”
Review of Bay Bar & Bistro

Bay Bar & Bistro
Ranked #12 of 30 Restaurants in St Helens
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

It's a pub, so it's not fancy by any means but the pasta I had with prawns and scallops was spot on and the nachos had by the kids also. Overall, it was better food than the expensive place we at at the resort/hotel complex

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    35
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a very nice meal at this Bistro. My partner ordered the roast of the day and had tender lamb on top of a wonderful selection of steamed vegetables along with the usual roast potato and pumpkin. Really unusual to get such lovely veges and much appreciated!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Okay meal - but wouldn't go again”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here with my two kids. Average pub style meals. My daughter had pizza and chips kids meal. The pizza was one of those small frozen jobs - they couldn't be bothered to make one! My son had chicken schnitzel and chips which were fine and I had Mexican chicken parmi which was fine. I wouldn't go here again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pub grub”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It was a delicious pub meal, we had 2 of the blackboard items and both were filling, swapping vegetables of which there were loads of. We went on a Sunday night so there were a few noisy locals that may have been in for a while who disappeared around 7pm

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlene Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprise!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had the best surf and turf we've had in years and very well priced too. Some pub meals can be very average and basic so, while this meal was no frills, it was cooked exactly to our liking, had a tidy side salad and crunchy chips. The steak was scotch and the half dozen prawns were in a creamy garlic sauce. Yummy!! And we won $40 on the Keno while we ate. Wish we had gone back there on our 2nd night in St Helens. We'll know next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
St Helens, Tasmania
 

Been to Bay Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing