We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tidal Waters Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tidal Waters Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Because of the lack of choice in St. Helens, you might find yourself in only this horrible hotel. Our advice - revise your itinerary so that you don't need to stay here. Our room was overpriced with a tiny shower. The door stop for the bathroom was right in front of the toilet in order to stub your toe with each visit. The restaurant was unacceptable in food quality and service. Concerns and complaints were snubbed as if we were pesky mosquitoes buzzing in their ears. Do yourself a favor and avoid Tidal Waters Resort like an outbreak of cholera.

Room Tip: Book at another establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    106
    132
    57
    30
See reviews for
58
219
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The prices here are very overpriced , $39 for Seafood basket - the crumbed and then deep fried to a crisp fish was terrible, crumbed prawns & calamari very oily. Seafood Marinara - with fish pieces, chirizo sausage and coriander !!! The service was very, very poor. Not many diners, seemed to be a lot of staff, but no service. The only good thing about this resort is the view. Do not recommend this restaurant. Many other much better restaurants in St.Helens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soozyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Helens hotels

Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am currently staying in a westerly facing room. It is 9.40pm and the temperature in the room is 35 degrees centigrade in heat. There is no air conditioning or breeze from this direction. The best that this 4 star joke has is a small fan. The common areas have cooling but not the rooms - what the? I have two young children and am having great difficulty cooling them off so they can get to sleep. I can't leave the sliding door open for any ventilation as there is no security screen. It is going to be a very hot long night for us and the kids. The pool was very hazy in colour, dirty, & full of leaves. We weren't able to have dinner here because of a wedding reception that we were never previously advised of, hence we have just driven to another motel to purchase dinner. We have had to park a substantial distance from our room on return again likely due to the wedding attendees parking in guests spaces. The TV reception continuously breaks up on every channel and there is no pay TV. Our bathroom floor is Lino with a plastic shower base that has a large floor waste cover that keeps coming off. Most of the gardens need quite some level of maintenance. For the money a real let down and something I will never do again. 4 star I think not.

Room Tip: I would make sure I had an easterly facing room in summer to get ocean breezes or find another prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast Qld
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Was very disappointed with our $220 room at this hotel. If the hotel has its own linen service, they certainly don't bother to use the linen press. Our sheets and pillow cases were so rumpled it looked like they had been slept in for a week. Breakfast was terrible. The bernaise sauce for our salmon had completely separated. They served us a small bowl of what looked like melted butter. I had no idea it was the bernaise sauce. Really? would a real chef let that go out to a table? The only good thing about the hotel was the view out over the water. The managers need a lesson in professionalism!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LornaJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

St Helen's is a very pretty place to stop over for one or two nights, if you want to visit Mt William National Park--there's not a lot else in the vicinity. This hotel is OK, the review of the harbour from the deck is great, the price for a garden-facing room was also OK in high season. I would avoid the breakfast, it's $19 for a so called continental breakfast which consists of only cereal and toast (plus juice and tepid coffee)--a bit of a rip-off. The room is a bit stuffy, if you want any air you need to leave the balcony door open as there aren't any windows. The furnishing is faux antique and not very pleasant with a fairly impractical sideboard structure but nowhere to put the kettle to boil it other than the floor or the toilet.

Room Tip: fork out the extra for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_B_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

A lot of substandard accomodation in St Helens,this is the best available by far. Bay view with rack rate
of $200 may be justifiable in peak season but certainly not for most of the year.Criticisms by other reviewers about bathroom fan & noisy corridor I agree with but overall the room was well furnished & had a desk suitable as workspace.Reception staff friendly & helpful,restaurant food & service good & certainly reasonably priced for the standard.Wine cheaper than we paid in many lesser venues throughout Tassie.We had a room at far end of resort & my cooked breakfast was hot!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice enough, but built on a wooden platform the whole building is paper thin, and you can not only hear your neighbours talking but you can hear anything that moves past in the corridor. Clean and tidy, but with horrible synthetic blankets - I asked for a Duvet, which they kindly supplied - the place is probably ok for a small conference but not a wowing experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ads1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9.5 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
0.8 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#2 of 11 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidal Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidal Waters Resort

Property: Tidal Waters Resort
Address: 1 Quail St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia (Formerly Doherty St Helens Resort)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tidal Waters Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tidal Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidal Waters Hotel St Helens
Tidal Waters Resort St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing