We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great feel and welcome”
Review of The French House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Helens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The French House
Ranked #1 of 5 St Helens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

About 3 minutes from St Helens and a great place to stay. Lovely courtyard for a small wine or two , great hosts who welcome you with open arms, lovely lounge and good breakfast. We will return again next time

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DobbieHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 160 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Jasmine room which proved to be great value for money and perfect for us. The room was immaculately clean, tastefully furnished and complete with fridge, tea, coffee, homemade biscuits, free unlimited wifi and a good ensuite bathroom. The location is an easy 5-min drive to St Helens. Breakfast is plentiful and of a good standard with individual tables for each room and free newspapers. Whilst this is all great, what really makes this place is the hospitality, friendliness and warm welcome of the hosts who take a genuine interest in their guests.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Located on about 5 acres the house is lovely - very clean and quiet. Beds and rooms very comfortable and you have your own TV and bathroom. Jan and John are fantastic hosts who are there when you need them (e.g. to change a flat tyre) but otherwise go about doing their own thing. Breakfast is fantastic - very fresh and eggs are HOT which is not how cafes serve them these days! Poached peaches one morning with thick yoghurt followed by perfectly poached eggs and bacon!! If you can get Jan to cook up some of her 'spag bol' for dinner one night you will be VERY happy with the result:) Wonderful stay - wish we could have stayed longer to be honest as it was such a great place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasur7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spent one night here and Jen was a lovely hostess - very welcoming and friendly. The room was spotlessly clean and breakfast was delicious with grilled peaches and yoghurt to start and then a cooked breakfast to follow! It is a lovely quiet location so a good night's sleep is guaranteed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewfromfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We couldn't fault our stay here. John and Jen were so lovely and friendly and cooked us a pretty mean breakfast the next morning…it was delish! We only had one night there unfortunately but wished we could have stayed longer. We were in the twin room, it was the only one available at the time of booking but my man was actually thankful for a good night's sleep without me tossing and turning!. It had an area for the coffee/tea and fridge and the everything was spotlessly clean. We just loved it and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzygirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed just 1 night but would have loved to stay more. Could not fault this accommodation, Jan & John are perfect hosts and make you feel right at home. The bedrooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Common area is welcoming and spacious, garden is beautifully maintained & peaceful.Totally agree with all previous reviews - people / place / produce = 10/10

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We love our experience at the French House. Jan and John were helpful and friendly hosts, and the breakfast prepared for us were so lovely! Part of our breakfast comprised of pretty yellow tomatoes from their garden, and we found the breakfast on our plates so beautiful that we went to get our camera to snap pictures of them! The jasmine room that we stayed in was also a delight - the bed was comfy and room was cosy and nicely arranged - all of which gave us such a homely and warm feeling. Although we stayed for only 2 nights, they still took effort to clean our room daily. The pillow chocolates were a nice touch too!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank janeloee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
11.4 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
96 reviews
11.6 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
2.6 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
353 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bed in the Treetops B&B
Bed in the Treetops B&B
#2 of 5 in St Helens
27 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anchor Wheel Motel
Anchor Wheel Motel
#3 of 5 in St Helens
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French House

Address: 197 Ansons Bay Road, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Helens
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The French House St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing