We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The French House
Nearby Hotels
Bayside Inn(St Helens)
$88
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Homelea Accommodation(St Helens)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sweetwater Villas(St Helens)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pelican Point Sanctuary(St Helens)(Great Value!)
$102
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Wheel Motel(St Helens)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park(St Helens)(Great Value!)
$91
$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queechy Cottages(St Helens)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Kellraine Beach Cottages(St Helens)(Great Value!)
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
158
11
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful housewonderful hostshosts janmagnolia roomone nighthomemade biscuitsbreakfast was deliciouslovely homefrench styleguest loungeroom was spotlessfresh towels each daygenuine hospitalitypoached peachesthe north east coastmohr smithhuge grounds
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 169 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were very happy with The French House. Hosts John and Jan have put considerable effort into the house and it shows. They're both very welcoming and helped us out with some cutlery for our pyengana cheddar cheeses the one night we stayed. Breakfast was beautifully cooked using quality ingredients and rooms were well equipped. It's located about 4.1km away from St Helens in a quiet area. Highly recommended! You will not regret booking this!

Room Tip: Jasmine room has a super comfy king bed
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbrightside88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We'd only booked one night here mid January, but really loved it. Jan & John, as other reviewers have said, are excellent hosts. (I noticed that Jan greeted everyone by their first name at breakfast - impressive!) She is obviously a good cook, & uses good quality produce. The room was faultless (lovely bedding) & the whole place really well designed & in beautiful gardens, well decorated, spotlessly clean & welcoming. Although Jan cooks some evenings, she also suggested a super little restaurant (Binalong Bay Café - don't let 'cafe' put you off. The food was great & views fab - we were lucky & got a table, but might be better to book to make sure).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redandwhitearmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We recently stayed at the French House for one night. Prior to my trip to Australia, I had never stayed at a B&B. I had my first experience the night before and I thought it was wonderful! My stay at The French House, however blew that one away!!! Before we even got out of our car we were greeted by Jan. She showed us around and gave us dinner recommendations. We went to one of her choices and it was excellent! Prior to leaving for dinner, we met Jan's husband John, who was equally warm and welcoming. Our room was perfect! Very cozy, with everything we could possibly need, including a refrigerator, tea kettle, tv). After dinner, we chatted for a bit with Jan, it was like visiting with an old friend. We went upstairs and had tea and to my delight, homemade shortbread (my favorite!!!). At breakfast, we chatted with Jan, John and the other guests and everyone was just wonderful! Jan was kind enough to give me her delicious shortbread recipe, and as we were leaving, John gave me some shortbread for the road (which, I did NOT share with my husband!). What a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annmarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Like other reviewers, we were looking for something a little more personal and interesting than the standard accommodation choices - and we certainly found it in The French House. Jan and John are the most genuine hosts who seem honestly glad to welcome you into their lovely home, and are delighted to give you information about local walks, sights, activities and restaurants. Alternatively, you can just sit in their lounge or garden and enjoy the tranquillity and elegance of it all.

Our room - Camellia - was beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and with the most comfortable bed. There is a good shower and plentiful towels, a generous-sized room fridge, and free wifi.

The breakfast - as others have said - is a true feature of this place. Being Brits travelling in Australia for the past five weeks we have rather missed our cooked brekkie, and Jan's bacon, eggs and tomato was a very welcome sight.

And as a final bonus, The French House is away from town and has very little light pollution, so we saw more stars than you can imagine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susievintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the French House for one night in early January (we were in the Camellia room). We were greeted by Jan when we arrived. She was very friendly and welcoming. She gave us a guided tour and also suggested some restaurants to try.

The room was spotless and well appointed (with kettle, small TV etc). It wasn't overly spacious but adequate for what we needed.

The highlight of the stay was the delicious cooked breakfast prepared by Jan the next morning (eggs, mounds of bacon, toast etc). Cereal, fruit, yoghurt and juice were also available. Needless to say, we did not need lunch that day!

The grounds of the house are lovely and this is a great option if you want something a bit different from your average motel in St Helens.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbuddy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews