We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C'est magnifique!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Helens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The French House
Ranked #1 of 5 St Helens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“C'est magnifique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We'd only booked one night here mid January, but really loved it. Jan & John, as other reviewers have said, are excellent hosts. (I noticed that Jan greeted everyone by their first name at breakfast - impressive!) She is obviously a good cook, & uses good quality produce. The room was faultless (lovely bedding) & the whole place really well designed & in beautiful gardens, well decorated, spotlessly clean & welcoming. Although Jan cooks some evenings, she also suggested a super little restaurant (Binalong Bay Café - don't let 'cafe' put you off. The food was great & views fab - we were lucky & got a table, but might be better to book to make sure).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redandwhitearmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
120
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We recently stayed at the French House for one night. Prior to my trip to Australia, I had never stayed at a B&B. I had my first experience the night before and I thought it was wonderful! My stay at The French House, however blew that one away!!! Before we even got out of our car we were greeted by Jan. She showed us around and gave us dinner recommendations. We went to one of her choices and it was excellent! Prior to leaving for dinner, we met Jan's husband John, who was equally warm and welcoming. Our room was perfect! Very cozy, with everything we could possibly need, including a refrigerator, tea kettle, tv). After dinner, we chatted for a bit with Jan, it was like visiting with an old friend. We went upstairs and had tea and to my delight, homemade shortbread (my favorite!!!). At breakfast, we chatted with Jan, John and the other guests and everyone was just wonderful! Jan was kind enough to give me her delicious shortbread recipe, and as we were leaving, John gave me some shortbread for the road (which, I did NOT share with my husband!). What a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Like other reviewers, we were looking for something a little more personal and interesting than the standard accommodation choices - and we certainly found it in The French House. Jan and John are the most genuine hosts who seem honestly glad to welcome you into their lovely home, and are delighted to give you information about local walks, sights, activities and restaurants. Alternatively, you can just sit in their lounge or garden and enjoy the tranquillity and elegance of it all.

Our room - Camellia - was beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and with the most comfortable bed. There is a good shower and plentiful towels, a generous-sized room fridge, and free wifi.

The breakfast - as others have said - is a true feature of this place. Being Brits travelling in Australia for the past five weeks we have rather missed our cooked brekkie, and Jan's bacon, eggs and tomato was a very welcome sight.

And as a final bonus, The French House is away from town and has very little light pollution, so we saw more stars than you can imagine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susievintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the French House for one night in early January (we were in the Camellia room). We were greeted by Jan when we arrived. She was very friendly and welcoming. She gave us a guided tour and also suggested some restaurants to try.

The room was spotless and well appointed (with kettle, small TV etc). It wasn't overly spacious but adequate for what we needed.

The highlight of the stay was the delicious cooked breakfast prepared by Jan the next morning (eggs, mounds of bacon, toast etc). Cereal, fruit, yoghurt and juice were also available. Needless to say, we did not need lunch that day!

The grounds of the house are lovely and this is a great option if you want something a bit different from your average motel in St Helens.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuddy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have just spent 3 nights here. When searching for accommodation this struck me as a nicer place to stay than other guesthouses in the locality. We were not disappointed. The house has been beautifully restored to a high standard with tasteful decor. We enjoyed staying in Magnolia Room. The house is in a very large garden and you have a great sense of tranquility as you enter. The rate included breakfast, which was plentiful and included a full cooked option if wanted. The hosts Jan and John were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. On New Year's Eve they generously laid on champagne for the guests for later in the evening. There is free wifi access.

St Helen's is a good base for touring and there are some great day trips to the Bay of Fires and inland to Halls Falls. Pyengana Dairy is not to be missed for the excellent cheddar and lunches. There is also a good Indian restaurant nearby for dinner- Punjaab's and a restaurant for local food- the Binalong Cafe.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here. I thought it was good value too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Camellia room on New Years Eve. Such a great start to our Tassie holiday after getting off Spirit in the morning. We were greeted by Jan and John our hosts and found them to be such a lovely couple. Very welcoming and genuine. Dinner at the Blue Shed was amazing definitely recommend. Jan's breakfast was one of the best we've ever had, particularly the roasted mushrooms with thyme!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hippielove39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at french house was "quality" . Our room was spacious with a leafy outlook. The ensuite felt near new and was very clean.

The owners where sincere and hospitable people who put a lot of care in to the house and the service they provide .

I really liked the location being just a little out of town on quiet road with lovely surrounds .

It was a

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
11.3 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bed in the Treetops B&B
Bed in the Treetops B&B
#2 of 5 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
2.5 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#2 of 11 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French House

Property: The French House
Address: 197 Ansons Bay Road, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Helens
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The French House St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing