We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifique......”
Review of The French House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Helens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The French House
Ranked #1 of 5 St Helens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I totally agree with all the previous reviews. Everything you read here is so true. I know it sounds too good to be true...but believe me it is all true...I have recently stayed here for two nights with my husband in the Jasmine room and although it is slightly cheaper it is just as beautiful but a bit smaller. Everything is just perfect here. I have never stayed in a B and B before as I was never a fan. Being very fussy I always opted for high end hotels. But I just love this place...Jan & John are super friendly; breakfast is delicious as is dinner (we ate here one night); the bed is comfortable; the whole house is just beautiful, inviting and super clean. The chocolates & home made shortbread in the room is a lovely touch! I would not hesitate to recommend this place as the no 1 place to stay in St. Helen's. We felt like we were staying with friends, not strangers. We will definitely come back here on our next trip to this beautiful island. Love your work Jan & John..... thank you for your chats, recipes and advice on where to visit while we stayed at your beautiful french house.......c'est magnifique.......... the "daffodil" lady & her rowdy husband!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are tastefully decorated. The Jasmine room is smaller than the Magnolia and Wisteria r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piv14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 160 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight with another couple and couldn't be happier with our choice. Jan and John really made us welcome and the rooms were very good. They have put a lot of hard work into making the house comfortable, clean and practical, but it is really their hospitable attitude that made it so delightful to stay there. We joined them and other guests in the evening, after returning back from some nice seafood in town, for some great relaxed conversation and plenty of laughs over a glass of wine - felt like we were friends already. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pike87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you're looking for a home away from home....but better! Then stay at The French House. Jan and John are fabulous hosts. They clearly work hard to keep this place ship shape as the place is impeccable. The rooms are simple and beautifully presented. We had planned on going back into town for dinner but once the smell from the kitchen started to waft up to our room, we quickly changed our minds and decided to stay for dinner. This was the best decision as the conversation flowed, the jokes came thick and strong and we were lucky to have met another regular guest who insists on remaining anonymous (you know who you are PB!) I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jutes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I literally cannot rate the French House highly enough! I must admit that it was the first time that I had ever stayed in a B+B- wasn't sure if it would suit us-how wrong I was!
Jan and John were such wonderful hosts-they couldn't have done enough for us! From the moment we arrived, we received the warmest of welcomes as Jan showed us to our wonderful room (wonderfully finished ensuite which included all the essentials any guest would need) . The recently renovated house offers all the mod cons yet with such a cosy, homely feel. The location of this B+B is close to town (5 mins in a car) and is by FAR the best place to stay for anyone who wants comfort, style, fabulous breakfast and a welcome that is second to none!
Jan and John were made to run a B+B-we couldn't get over how friendly they were!They were more than happy to chat about life, travel, etc. and were so eager to ensure that we received any travel tips needed for the Island. We genuinly really enjoyed their company-and to meet such warm and friendly people while staying in such a lovely town was delightful!
While the red wine, music and chats were so inviting, we eventually ventured out for dinner that evening. Jan was only to happy to recommend a variety of restaurants and offer to book us in also.
Before I leave I MUST mention the 5* breakfast served in the gorgeous kitchen/dining area- simply delicious! (and not a slice of burnt toast in sight!! ;)
Jan and John are made for this business and the Irish couple (the Engineer and the Teacher) down from Melbourne, on a Tazzy weekend break, wish them every success for the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room that was soooo spacious and comfortable-huge walk in shower with extensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have stayed at a lot of B&B’s over the years, but I can’t remember any that have provided the level of satisfaction that the French House did. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Jan and John are excellent amiable hosts who aim to provide the best experience possible for their guests. Breakfasts were excellent – freshly prepared to order when required. Dinner was available and was delicious - home cooked by Jan.
The property is very well planned and maintained and, being set in a garden environment, was quiet and peaceful.
The French House is very highly recommended for any visits to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at The French House for one night and enjoyed our stay immensely. We had never stayed in a b&b before as we felt it wouldn't suit us. We were so wrong. John and Jan were incredible hosts. They were so friendly and welcoming. The rooms were so clean and comfortable. After unpacking the car we were invited into the meals area for a cuppa and some home baked biscuits. When we saw the dinner menu in our room we decided to eat in and Jan cooked the most amazing meal for us. While preparing the meals John and Jan were happy for us to spend the time talking to them. They are a very interesting couple. After only having our own company for over a week it was lovely to talk to someone else. Next morning they had a wonderfully cooked breakfast for us. We can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sega58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and were warmly greeted by Jan and John. The house was well heated throughout by a wood furnace plus the wood heater in the kitchen dining area. Jan is a great cook - wonderful breakfast including steward rhubarb which is to die for, marinated oranges plus hot cooked fare. We enjoyed dinner both nights, roast chicken and veg then the next night a beef rague served with pasta. Really is excellent wholesome food. We are very fussy people and found everything to be very clean and tidy and had a lovely homely feel. Jan and John are very easy to get on with and create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our room was spacious with comfy bed and good sized ensuite. Highly recommend this delightful B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
11.4 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
96 reviews
11.6 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
2.6 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bed in the Treetops B&B
Bed in the Treetops B&B
#2 of 5 in St Helens
25 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
352 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anchor Wheel Motel
Anchor Wheel Motel
#3 of 5 in St Helens
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French House

Address: 197 Ansons Bay Road, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Helens
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The French House St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing