We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillcrest Tourist Park
Reviewed July 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel VERY welcome, nothing seemed to much trouble, cabin was clean and very comfortable , with an on site shop and take away everything is here, the whole area is great and we highly recommend staying here and seeing this area, we will definitely come and stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Powered site for one night only. Park was tidy, quiet ( this was the off season) and as I really couldn't be bothered cooking it was great they did takeaways - I had a very tasty seafood basket. Free wifi was great. Amenities were clean. I found the owners very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again. Definitely not close to town though. Own transport a must.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qofd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. We chose it instead of the Big 4 as Hillcrest was cheaper.

The location is ok, but it’s about 3km away from St Helens so you need your own transport.

On our arrival we checked in and the manager was helpful and friendly. We had a campervan and the camping sites are at the bottom of the tourist park. There was another campervan but apart from that the other 12 or so sites were vacant. The campsites are close to the camp kitchen which has a small tv, a microwave and kettle. It would have been good to have a hot plate or stove.

The toilet and shower facilities were in a good clean conditioner. The water was hot and the showers had a decent power.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The choice of campsites in St Helens is really between the Big4 and Hillcrest - I picked Hillcrest as it appears from the map to be closer to the water (though, as the name suggests, it is on a hill).

Due to the road layout, the site is actually between two fairly busy roads, and as the powered sites line one edge, there was road noise all night - in a tent or a van you hear this very clearly, which (with no information as to how busy towns were while we were travelling around) meant it was easily the noisiest site we stayed at by some margin. There was no division between sites - that isn't a criticism but just a statement as some places do, and some don't.

Some of the powered sites are powered by the usual 15A power and some are 10A - after an initial fright I did find out they have adaptors you can borrow, so that didn't end up being an issue.

Amenites were fairly old but clean with decent sized showers.

Not much nearby except houses as you are a fair way from the town, but there is path down the cliff to the beach nearly opposite the main entrance to the site. There was also of course a great deal of 'general public' milling around and it seems they may have had issues with this before as when you arrive you are given the 'rules' which include very specific comments regarding noise and unruly behaviour - something I have not come across before.

It wouldn't be fair to say this was the worst site I've stayed at, but it was probably the most I've paid for a site I wasn't entirely happy with.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thingyjiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

After check in a cabin, we went out to visit some scednary spots and some friends. Just expecting a warm water shower for a good sleep. However, no hot water! No information, no instruction, the receptionist told us he closes at 6pm.
What can you do with that?
And we could get an decent apologize thenext morning. Very upset, very angry, very very bad experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you check everything to make sure they are working. The managers will not take any respo0n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 25, 2012

The customer in question paid for 3 people and had 6 people stay!!!!
Any excuse not to pay full price.security cameras do not lie.This is not a true giude yo this park.Anyone can make a storey up so they don't have to pay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed November 16, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9.7 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
2.4 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
352 reviews
2.3 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Anchor Wheel Motel
Anchor Wheel Motel
#3 of 5 in St Helens
87 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homelea Accommodation
Homelea Accommodation
#3 of 10 in St Helens
81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Tourist Park

Address: 10 Chimney Heights Rd | Stieglitz, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty Lodging in St Helens
Price Range: $64 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillcrest Tourist Park 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Tourist Park is located just 8km from St Helens Business area & offers 8 self contained cabins plus both powered and unpowered sites for camping or caravans. We also have a discount fuel station attached and a mini mart. We offer all your basic grocery items and have a wide variety of takeaway food including pizzas and homemade pies. There is Free Wi-Fi!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hillcrest Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Tourist Park St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing