We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Helens Bayside Inn pub”
Review of Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“St Helens Bayside Inn pub”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

When we arrived in St Helens we had no trouble finding this hotel. Right in the centre of town.

my husband has sayed there many times and we went for the Stake dinner
was delish

This has a lot or turnover as it is the only town and it is cheap
staff are great
the water view rooms in the main building. These rooms while still not very new or modern are defintely a better option.
beds comfortable and the rooms very quiet. All of the staff in reception and in the bar, were very friendly and efficient. The view from the water view rooms when the sun is rising in the morning is beautiful and definitely worth the extra ten dollars per night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    84
    122
    59
    54
See reviews for
68
169
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just had two nights staying in one of the units in the single storey semi circular building next to the main hotel. This property is without doubt the worst place we have ever stayed in our travels, both within Australia and overseas, so bad the place will be brought to the attention of the Health and Building section of the local council. The smell in the unit could be coming from anywhere. The polystyrene ceiling tiles, where not coming unstuck are held together with mould. I've seen timber boats with less rot than this place. The door frames and even the doors themselves have extensive wet and dry rot, the swelling in the timber unable to break through to the surface due to the application of thick plastic paint. The bathroom must be competing in a mould growing experiment. The floor of the unit was uneven but I was not brave enough to lift up the filthy carpet to find the cause, either rotting floor boards or decaying, broken concrete. More likely the carpet is just on bare ground!!! Broken door handles, missing bathroom fitting, faulty tap fittings, the 240 volt light in the shower just centimetres from your head. The list is endless. Oh but the view over the bay is nice!!! Don't drop the soap?? The drain in the shower had no cover. At least the opening is not wide enough to break your leg should you step in it. Places like this do nothing for the reputation of an area, nor Australian tourism. A disgrace.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ogradyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Helens hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

When we arrived in St Helens we had no trouble finding this hotel. Right in the centre of town.
We had booked one of the pool side rooms, when we initially saw these buildings we thought they were an old disused motel. But no - these rooms are still being used, and on the night that we stayed the rooms did appear to be quite heavily booked. We did go and look at the room we had been allocated, but decided it was not for us. We asked reception staff if we could move our booking to one of the water view rooms in the main building.
These rooms while still not very new or modern were defintely a better option.We found the beds comfortable and the rooms very quiet. All of the staff in reception and in the bar, were very friendly and efficient.
The view from the water view rooms when the sun is rising in the morning is beautiful and definitely worth the extra ten dollars per night.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms in the hotel building, the other rooms in the older should not be rented out. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, Uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Drove into St Helens on a Sunday evening and this was the first place I saw. Enquired at reception and was glad they had a room available as had been driving all day. Proceeded to the room which was in a block behind the hotel. The room was more like a breeze block garage with a bed in it. Very cold and poorly decorated. There was an indoor swimming pool which looked filthy, I wouldnt have gone anywhere near it. I did eat in the hotel bar as there was nothing else at all in the town that was open and the food was acceptable.
The evening was a bit strange with several very drunk fishermen in the bar who were being rude and offensive to other guests, the young bar staff took no notice and carried on serving them, I assume they rely on their business. Several of us decided to get some take away drinks and sit outside to get away from them, where we had a pleasant evening in the hotel grounds overlooking the harbour. I was surprised by St Helens as it had been billed as a big seaside town by other travellers, infact it was small and closed !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boredinsouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here on our first night of this Tassie trip and were made very welcome, had a well served meal and a good nights sleep. Finding a pool there was a bonus. The location of the hotel is great, fabulous views across the bay.

The rooms could do with updating, but they're clean, tidy and comfortable and the good breakfast was freshly cooked and well presented. All the staff were friendly and helpful and there's a bottle shop on site too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebery, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked ourselves into a (indoor, heated) pool side family room, stayed for 6 days and were very happy. Clean rooms, towels changed daily (if required), complimentary pool towels, friendly quiet atmosphere - exactly the right thing when touring with kids. We used St. Helens as a hub from which to undertake daily motorcycle tours around Tassie's Northeast/Midlands. Rides started early, we were back at the hotel by late afternoon - and there's nothing more relaxing than dropping the gear and hopping into the pool to stretch those sore limbs. The hotel provided the right service for us at a great budget price. It's no resort, but we didn't need resort. The kitchen offers dinner specials (bar meals) for $12 (fish'n'chips, lasagne, lambs fry, asian food platter, etc) which is good value and tasted great. Kids can eat at bar until 6pm, we got there a bit late and they let us orer at the bar and then served our food in the bistro dining room. Other than that, they provided us with a micro wave in the room so we could cook up our own spaghetti dinners (Nigellas Lemon Linguini, amongst others- oh yeah!) and breakfast omelette - all of which helped us to keep the costs down.
If you call them direct, they can offer a better room rate than the one you'll get through the usual booking agents. Very helpful & friendly staff. The motel is a bit dated, and the room furniture is from the 70's, but this time we weren't looking to be pampered at a modern & fashionable 'hot spot'.

Room Tip: Hotel is situated at the main road through St. Helens, Bayside room are quieter than road/town side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 249Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very friendly and helpful service, but their budget motel rooms are very worn down. It had an old plug in radiator (worked fine), a very old fridge, old TV, old bed that squeaked a bit and the shower was a bit icky in the corners. On the other hand the bistro service was excellent, although I found their pasta dish bland, and the bottle shop went above and beyond to help me find tasmanian beer to bring home (and gave me free stubbie coolers).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9.6 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
9.3 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Hillcrest Tourist Park
Hillcrest Tourist Park
#9 of 10 in St Helens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn

Property: Bayside Inn
Address: 2 Cecilia St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing