We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for family budget holiday”
Review of Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayside Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked ourselves into a (indoor, heated) pool side family room, stayed for 6 days and were very happy. Clean rooms, towels changed daily (if required), complimentary pool towels, friendly quiet atmosphere - exactly the right thing when touring with kids. We used St. Helens as a hub from which to undertake daily motorcycle tours around Tassie's Northeast/Midlands. Rides started early, we were back at the hotel by late afternoon - and there's nothing more relaxing than dropping the gear and hopping into the pool to stretch those sore limbs. The hotel provided the right service for us at a great budget price. It's no resort, but we didn't need resort. The kitchen offers dinner specials (bar meals) for $12 (fish'n'chips, lasagne, lambs fry, asian food platter, etc) which is good value and tasted great. Kids can eat at bar until 6pm, we got there a bit late and they let us orer at the bar and then served our food in the bistro dining room. Other than that, they provided us with a micro wave in the room so we could cook up our own spaghetti dinners (Nigellas Lemon Linguini, amongst others- oh yeah!) and breakfast omelette - all of which helped us to keep the costs down.
If you call them direct, they can offer a better room rate than the one you'll get through the usual booking agents. Very helpful & friendly staff. The motel is a bit dated, and the room furniture is from the 70's, but this time we weren't looking to be pampered at a modern & fashionable 'hot spot'.

Room Tip: Hotel is situated at the main road through St. Helens, Bayside room are quieter than road/town side...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 249Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Bayside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 348 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very friendly and helpful service, but their budget motel rooms are very worn down. It had an old plug in radiator (worked fine), a very old fridge, old TV, old bed that squeaked a bit and the shower was a bit icky in the corners. On the other hand the bistro service was excellent, although I found their pasta dish bland, and the bottle shop went above and beyond to help me find tasmanian beer to bring home (and gave me free stubbie coolers).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed in the old motel section of the bayside inn,80 bucks ,rough as guts units with the best views in town..if its flash acc.youre after this isnt it ,however the newer parts of the hotel are fine,brecky was very nice and plenty of it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasmini125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Bayside Inn last minute as tired from travelling. Found the accommodation rooms to be old, but very comfortable and clean. Meals were great and all staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely outdoor dinning area which looks new. Stayed on a Saturday night and although we did hear the Karaoke in the Bar, found it entertaining and as we were only passing through, it didn't bother us and no doubt the locals enjoyed the entertainment who are the ones that live in the Town and they should be able to enjoy the local. Lets hope Tassie gets a tourist boom so this old girl can bloom once more. We will definatley stay again. Value for money compared to some mainland establishments.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0vet0travel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very basic and probably a bit over-priced however, soft bed, good hot shower, good locks on the door. Fridge, although not dreadfully cold worked OK for our requirements. As someone else mentioned, Receptionist was lovely.
My husbands biggest gripe was that there was no mirror over the basin for shaving so you had to scoot down to the other end where the power point was. No problem I guess if you use an electric shaver but not everyone does. Gap under the door allows dirt and leaves to blow under and the floor hasn't seen the vacuum cleaner since we've been here but we have had clean towels every day and soap, coffee, tea, biscuits replenished daily. It would be good value for around $80/day but $100+ is a bit much. I guess you pay for the view but that plays no part when you're out and about every day. We also planned badly for touring the east coast and should have opted for somewhere more central to but east of Launceston.
Ah! Well! Half the fun is in the learning.

Room Tip: We had a secondary road running past our room which was fairly busy by day but not noisy at night.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 303heatherlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Were greeted warmly by the reception staff. Had a great weekend, good facilities. Room a little average but clean and comfortable, excellent view across the Bay. Dined in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast, would recommend the smoked salmon eggs benedict for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed in one of the upstairs bayview rooms that provided me with an uninterupted view of Georges Bay, absolutely stunning. Room was as described, dated however clean and tidy. Hotel facilities have been recently updated and were excellent. Dining experience was good and staff were pleasant and helpful. Genuine value for money. I have stayed at this venue a several times and will do so again.

Room Tip: A good base for discovering and touring the East Coast of Tasmania
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maccacj58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9.6 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
9.3 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Sweetwater Villas
Sweetwater Villas
#2 of 10 in St Helens
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homelea Accommodation
Homelea Accommodation
#3 of 10 in St Helens
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn

Address: 2 Cecilia St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range: $104 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing