We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stop over Motel”
Review of Anchor Wheel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor Wheel Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 St Helens B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Stop over Motel”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

For the money it cost we can have no complaints, but this is a motel that needs a bit of TLC. It was clean and Jan made us so welcome, but is tatty round the edges, with a bit of a bit tidy up this could once again have the glory obviously it once had. 20 mins walk to village ( 2 mins drive ) for resturants and shops, RSL Club excellent value for food.but unless you want a take away dont be late St Helens closes at 8. not the place for a wild night out.I would have no hesitation of booking in there again,In considering this review I think the positives exceed the negatives, but for a little investment it could be so much better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirleeolgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
50
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We read all the reviews and agree -quirky place, mommas and poppas type throw back hotel, where personal service matters.
Our daughter left her coat in the wardrobe, and we knew it was worth ringing back and Jan would offer to send it back.
Many thanks Jan, and good luck for the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We found this place driving past. The guy checking us in (not Peter mentioned on the website) had obviously enjoyed a few too many drinks, and could hardly hold a sentence together, but you had to hand it to him for trying :) It was all quite funny really and we did get checked in! A bit later the owner lady arrived and all was under control.
The room was nice, clean and comfortable, with an area to sit by the window. Simple breakfast included. Off street parking.
We had a great stay and would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moruya, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Clean, comfortable, quiet, convenient, good value for money.
Helpful owner who wouldnt take our money until after we had seen and approved of the room.
Would I stay here again? Yes, if I was ever in St. Helens again.

Room Tip: Its better than the other place in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMoruya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here with the intention of visiting Binalong Bay as the accommodation in Binalong Bay itself is quite expensive. This was a great budget option for us.
Rooms were old, but clean and quite large. Basic continental breakfast is supplied. Free parking available right in front of your room. Friendly owner who is helpful with local information and recommendations.
Location is slightly outside of the centre of St Helens but not overly inconvenient. If you have a car Binalong Bay is about a 15 minute drive and well worth a visit.
Overall this is a basic but good value hotel with good service from the owners. If you are just looking for a place to sleep that is clean, quiet and comfortable, and don't require luxury, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, NSW
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

One attraction was an on site restaurant but it has closed permanently. Jan at reception is very welcoming and helpful. You can borrow magazines and DVDs free of charge. The room icon clean and comfortable. The motel is in need of refurbishment - it is 1980s in style but perfectly acceptable for an overnight stay. The local RSL provides tasty meals at a reasonable price along with a good selection of wines at very good prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Agree with all the other reviews that state that the owner is a very sweet and helpful. The room was nice and clean and a cot was provided to us for no extra cost which is a plus.

Yes, the decor of the room and bathroom may be a bit dated, but it's a very clean and comfortable room and at $85 per night (including continental breakfast) you can't really expect much more. Their restaurant isn't open anymore which is a shame, but the owner told us that she couldn't cope with it all which is very understandable.

My only minor negative was the fact that there is no A/C which made the afternoon quite hot as the sun was facing the room. Other than that, I was happy with our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
10.1 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
0.8 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
396 reviews
1.3 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#5 of 10 in St Helens
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homelea Accommodation
Homelea Accommodation
#3 of 10 in St Helens
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Wheel Motel

Property: Anchor Wheel Motel
Address: 59 Tully St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia (Formerly Anchor Wheel Motel & Restaurant)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosts Gary and Juliana look forward to welcoming all their guests with a warm smile and offer a cosy comfortable room. Conveniently located just one kilometre from the centre of St Helens and close to all the scenic wonders of the Bay of Fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anchor Wheel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Wheel Motel St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing