We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lynne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Was meant to be a 1 night drop in to enjoy a hot shower, ended up staying 3. Excellent customer service, friendly owners and staff. Spotless amenities, great camp kitchen and laundry. Lots of fun for the kids. Will definately return. Thanks

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank lynnus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 226 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have stayed in caravan park cabins before, but this was like going backwards many years.
Our "standard" cabin was little more than a building site shed from the 1980s with a bay window and a coat of paint over the plywood wall panelling inside.
Packed in a row like sardines, our cabin was no more than 2 metres from side and rear neighbours. The only break in the spacing of the cabins is the car parking space.
At over $210 a night for a family of 4 ( when other motels and B&Bs in town were advertising $70 a double room) it does NOT constitute any sort of value accommodation.
I could go into detail about the poor layout, broken latch on bathroom door etc but to summarise: i dont think this cabin could possibly have been built, or fitted out, with any cheaper materials. We will probably give the Big4 chain a miss after this stay.

Room Tip: Be aware standard cabins are very very basic. I hate to think what "basic "gets you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Having camped without hot water or laundry facilities big 4 St. Helens was a welcome relief. We wouldn't normally choose a big 4 but we needed to wash our clothes and ourselves! We probably wouldn't use a big 4 again unless we really had to. There's the noise factor, the overused toilets which were not clean at all (maybe they should be separated into men's and women's and not shared). The people were friendly and everyone's happy because they're on their holidays but its just not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Notusingaguidebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed only a night on our trip around Tassie, but really appreciated the cleanliness of the one bedroom cabin we stayed in. It also had all the things you need for self catering - complete place-settings for four as the sofa bed in the lounge meant another couple/kids could also stay. All cooking utensils gas stove, microwave, pans, etc. Everything worked well. The only downside may be for some is that the jumping pillow was right opposite and it was a real attraction for very noisy kids. Didn't worry us as that is what kids do, and it was shut down by park management at 8.30pm to much disappointment, but if you're delicate get a cabin on the next street.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank David_and_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed for 1 night here in a family cabin after arriving on The Spirit from Melbourne. The room was clean and comfortable. It wasn't terribly modern, but it wasn't too outdated either. It was pretty simple, but for a single night it was a great stay and great value. Check-in and check-out was easy and service with a simple was welcoming. The park is a little out of the main strip of St. Helens - about 2 minutes drive - but for us this wasn't too much of an issue. A nice place to stay if you are planning on heading to places like bay of fires (north), or the Freycinet (south). Note: My wife and I had no phone reception (Vodafone) while in St. Helens.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixfootscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

a little bit out of town, but an easy walk if you don't mind walking. this has been the most expensive caravan park we have visited so far but it's definitely worth it. very clean, spacious and new toilets. 2 well equipped camp kitchens. very quiet. lots of room to move. great play equipment if you had kids.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffymuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Well guys - you've done it again! Thank you for such great customer service, advice & an incredible stay! We all enjoyed our stay over Melbourne Cup weekend (for us as Victorians)! The cabin was fabulous & we fit in nicely even with 4 Adults! The cabin was spotless & even though the park was busy we only heard others when we went out! And congratulations - I saw on your Facebook you won the tourism awards for the 6th year running - well deserved! Looking forward to the next visit!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Belle_Ame_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
2.3 mi away
Hillcrest Tourist Park
Hillcrest Tourist Park
#9 of 10 in St Helens
54 reviews
8.1 mi away
Scamander Tourist Park
Scamander Tourist Park
#3 of 3 in Scamander
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homelea Accommodation
Homelea Accommodation
#2 of 10 in St Helens
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park

Address: 2 Penelope St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in St Helens
Price Range: $93 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park offers 20 private cabins set amongst a picturesque setting, along with multiple powered and unpowered camp sites. A fully-equiped kitchen, a children's games room, a jumping pillow and a free barbecue area help make BIG4 St Helens a truly welcoming park for families and Grey Nomads alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing