We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gull Cottage stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Helens, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judi M
2 reviews
“Gull Cottage stay”
Reviewed January 18, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Location perfect. Serene and picturesque. Only a short trip to the town centre.

Directions to the house and collection of the keys were easy.

Rooms clean, tidy, large. Beds very comfortable.

Would have liked to know whether distilled water is used in the iron. Couldn't find any so assumed tap water.

Times for restaurants, IGA and cafes would be beneficial in the welcome booklet.

Thanks.

Judi

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2018
Hello Judi
Thanks for taking the time to review and glad you enjoyed your stay. We'll certainly add your suggestions into the compendium.
kind regards
Gary and Trish
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PipJH
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in perfect location”
Reviewed December 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Gull Cottage is a beautiful roomy cottage with lovely furnishings and gorgeous views across George's Bay at St Helens. The cottage was stocked with all the essentials (including a wood pile!), kitchen crockery, pots and pans, and cleaning products, that made our stay very comfortable indeed. The Master Bedroom is very large, and the bed lovely and comfortable. Gary, the owner was very helpful when we had a minor issue with the gas water heating.
Such a lovely place to stay. We'd love to visit again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2017
We'd love to have you stay again! So glad you enjoyed your time at Gull Cottage.
Gary and Trish
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howletts
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful property. ”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This place is amazing. Just felt so happy as soon as you walk in and see the view in the dining room, perfectly set up with chairs at the end to just sit and take in the view. It is like a Hamptons style house, with lovely colours throughout. Everything was very clean and in good working order. We loved our couple of days here, so relaxing and the town and area is lovely as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2017
Thanks Tracy, for your very kind comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Gull Cottage. We hope you might return in the future. You are always welcome.
kindest regards
Trish and Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhippetZ
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A winter stay”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I needed a much needed break from our very stressful job, and Gull Cottage allowed us to just chill out (and in winter we really did chill out) in a peaceful and tranquil environment. I had been looking forward to this stay very very much and embarrassingly I actually teared up when I walked into the cottage for the first time and saw how beautiful it was - it was everything I hoped it would be. It has beautiful views, a big, private garden and inside the house it had everything we needed, including country ambience. I loved it. As expected (for Tassie in winter) the temperature was very cold but the air-con in the bedrooms kept these rooms nice and warm, and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was lovely. The fireplace/wood burner was also wonderfully warm. The kitchen was very cold, but we found some radiators in the cupboard under the stairs and so that fixed that problem.
The township of St Helens is only 1 km away, with decent grocers etc for supplies but my favourite thing was the walking path around the bay, which I walked twice a day and every time I went the vista looked different. We took day trips to nearby forests and beach towns. Loved loved loved the place. Can't wait to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1dingogir...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed February 4, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Great location, amazing views and extremely comfortable and luxurious accommodation. Could have stayed there forever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We'd love to host you again in the future.
kind regards
Gary and Trish
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation ”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at Gull Cottage for a few days and it was just beautiful. The view was great, the facilities were excellent, the area was fantastic. The old world charm of the house was a nice change and the yard and garden were great to relax in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2016
Thanks for your kind review, Matt. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Cottage. We would welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing