We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Wonderful!”
Review of Woolnorth Tours

Woolnorth Tours
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Smithton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Woolnorth Tour (2hrs) The Tour consists of three main elements. The first is an up-close visit to the cliff top towers of the Woolnorth Wind Farm and information centre. The second is a visit to the historic Woolnorth property homestead and historic precinct, while driving through wonderful dairy lands of the Van Diemen’s Land (VDL) Company. Finally, a visit to the breath taking Cape Grim where we see the wonderful coastline, breathe the cleanest air in the world, and witness all the islands off the NW coast of Tasmania. A Taste of Tarkine (3+hrs) These tours operate year round, as well as on weekends.This tour is for those who love nature at it best. The tour involves several of the most beautiful locations that the Tarkine has to offer; including Dip Falls, and the Trowutta Arch. The tour also includes a lovely drive through Circular Head’s rich farmlands and a visit to the Blue Hills Honey Farm. Lunch is included with this tour. A reasonable level of mobility is recommended. These tours operate year round, as well as on weekends.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We did the full day tour of Woolnorth. I have to say I was very pleasently surprised! It was really fantastic. Very Interesting, relaxing and stunning scenery. Wonderful hosts Helen and Eddy, put on a yummy lunch. We all had a lovely day. The half day tour would be just as good I'd say but it is obviously without the lunch and the trip to the northern coastline. Highly recommend

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nige M, Manager at Woolnorth Tours, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Thank you for coming on our tour and also for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for your kind words and hope you will visit us again one day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    20
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Woolworth tours”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Eddy and Helen are a very informative couple who do these 1/2 days tours to the wind farm and Cape Grom. Both tell the history of both places with humour and lots of information. Questions asked by the patrons are always answered with knowledge that they have researched extensively.
Morning tea/ afternoon teas is provided and there is time allowed for patrons to browse the property around the homestead as well as browsing around the small gift shop

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nige M, Manager at Woolnorth Tours, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Thank you for coming on our tour and also for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for your kind words and hope you will visit us again one day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Much anticipated ... But very disappointing ....”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

As you can see from my many other Tripadvisor reviews, I rarely have bad things to say about experiences, or at least try to pick out positives. Unfortunately there was not a lot of positive in our Woolnorth Station, Windfarm, and Cape Grim Tour.
We only went to this area specifically for this tour and highly anticipated it, especially the windfarm. I have a love of photography and I was looking forward to getting some great shots of the wind turbines. We only went to one spot, which was disappointing. The tour guide was brief on information and brushed me off when I asked questions, and at one point rudely and pointedly walked away from me mid conversation, to go and show another tourist a picture on her phone of some windmill in Europe or something.
We then went to the Directors House, for afternoon tea, which was ok, but we stayed there for nearly an hour... There was not really anything to see or do there and it was a waste of time. The time would have been better spent looking at the Windfarm from a different angle or maybe answering some questions from interested tourists. .. We then went on to Cape Grim which was quite nice, but again the blandness of our tour guide, and her disregard (apparent disdain) of certain guests was quite distasteful, and rude.
We felt that $80 for the tour would have been acceptable, if it wasn't so crap!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fezzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nige M, Manager at Woolnorth Tours, responded to this review, April 15, 2015
Thanks for your feedback and taking the time to review our Tour Company on TripAdvisor. My wife and I have taken over the management of the company in recent months and from the outset we reviewed all Trip Advisor comments and weighed them up against the schedule etc etc.
I would like to advise you that your comments have been taken into account and we have modified sections of the tour to incorporate feedback such as yours. Hopefully you will visit us again if you ever visit the region again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent day out”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The half-day tour to the wind farm, through the Woolnorth property and on to Cape Grim was well worth the price we paid for it. Eddy, our tour guide, kept is informed and entertained with his vast knowledge of local folklore and history. This section of the Tasmanian island is a magnificent mosaic of lush farmland, natural wilderness and modern technological wizardry topped by the awe inspiring and strangely beautiful wind turbines dotted across the cliff tops, and all of this gently brushed by what has been claimed (and apparently scientifically proven) to be the cleanest air in the world. The visit also includes morning tea at the architecturally stunning, American cedar Directors Lodge with is unparalleled views into Bass Strait, a brief stop at the old original cook's cottage and a look at a traditional Aussie shearing shed! No visitor to this region should miss this experience! Sit up the front with the driver and you can also take part in that strange but wonderful game of puzzle solving as you work out the vast array of farm gate locking mechanisms, seemingly no two of which are the same!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nige M, Manager at Woolnorth Tours, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Thank you for coming on our tour and also for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for your kind words and hope you will visit us again one day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth the trip.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was worth the trip and seeing the stunning size of the windmills was a WOW!
The history of Woolnorth was interesting.
Going up to Cape Grimm was the highlight.
If you have some time up your sleeve as you travel to Arthur River or through the Tarkine then recommended.
If you had no intention to go past Stanley then I wouldn't bother the extra journey for this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank avromark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nige M, Manager at Woolnorth Tours, responded to this review, February 21, 2015
Thank you for coming on our tour and also for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We fully agree that your next stop after our morning ½ day tour should be driving via Marrawah, the Arthur River and the Tarkine region.

We thank you for your kind words and hope you will visit us again one day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woolnorth Tours also viewed

 
Arthur River, Tasmania
Smithton, Tasmania
 

Been to Woolnorth Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing