We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
188
128
29
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
128
29
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottle shopbeautiful timbertennis courtsswimming pooloverlooking the lakebusiness triplakeside apartmentwine listgood sizea great place to staybuffet breakfastgreat facilitiesbit datedno air conditioningonly stayed one nightarthur riverstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 362 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Rooms are OK, can be noisy, restaurant average but feels like a gaming parlour. Breakfast atrocious. Bus tours prevalent and seem to take precedence over other customers. But worst was the attitude of the receptionist who was downright rude to a number of customers and seemed to think it important to take phone calls while dealing with face to face customers, even with a long queue of people waiting. If you want to stay in this area go to Stanley.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grangeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

The grounds are lovely with ducks, creek, lake and beautiful trees.Had a good size room, with very comfortable king bed. Reception and Cleaning staff very nice and so were most of the waiters, waitresses except for one or two. Food was a bit inconsistent....either very good, or just lacking. However, the woman in charge of functions left a lot to be desired with her attitude to some guests in our party at dinner one night . Also, never saw her smile in the 4 nights we were there. I would return, but just avoid this woman!

Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
Thank kkcsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

We stayed at Tall Timbers in Smithton three nights and had a lovely time. Smithton was ideal base to tour around the north west of tassie.

With two teen age kids we stayed in one of the two bedroom, lakeside units, big, contempary, new and very comfortable.

Tall Timbers is very well set out and covers a range of accommodation from motel units to what we stayed in. It had a bottleshop, bar, bistro, it has a great heated indoor pool and gym, all of which we used. Our unit had a kitchenette and the town has a good supermarket so we cooked as well, mainly breakfasts.

A top spot to stay while seeing the North West.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BendigoGlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Friendly staff, clean rooms.
Dinner menu has superb. Breakfast choices were slightly limited.
Must take the tour to the Edge of the World - it includes a gourmet picnic lunch with local wine and cheese. [Getting the 4-wheel drive bogged in the sand added to our adventure :-)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We got in very late so only enjoyed the bed/room and breakfast here. The room was comfortable and very tastefully done with wood to make a lodge effect, screening the TV and other modern luxuries with wood. It has an electric blanket, which in winter was very appreciated. The breakfast was decent and the hotel was clean and appeared to be well managed. No complaints.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews