We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The room was a good size, clean and tidy, well appointed, the rooms had a good heating system,heat lamps in the bathroom was great as it cooled down of a night for a shower. The pizza from the bar was excellent as we sat by the fire. The Front Office Staff could not do enough for us as we where to Cradle Mountain and had heard the roads had been shut due to snow a few days before we where due to leave, they kept an eye on the road reports and told us all roads where open and which was the best way to travel.
The only problem we found was our time of travel due to a lot of tours being closed due to being the start of winter but we found that a lot in Tasmania.
I would recommend Tall Timbers to everyone and I will be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    106
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
67
114
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at Tall Timbers for the 1 night but wished we could've stayed for 2. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The food was delicious and value for money. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our only fault out of everything would be that the pool/spa weren't hot enough. Especially this time of the year. But other then that it was great :) can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Bobbi2013,

Thanks for the review. Really glad you enjoyed the stay and found the staff welcoming. Certainly a spot where there is plenty to do and sometimes one night is not enough. At least you have a good excuse to visit again! We are glad you enjoyed the food and found it good value for money; we are updating the menu shortly to reflect seasonal winter changes so watch this space!

Thanks for the feedback on the pool/ spa. As you mention at this time of year it would be nice to have it warmer, the temperature is kept at 32 degrees which is quite warm for a pool and we use the pool for hydrotherapy treatment. Due to the size of the building and the outside air temperature (which was approx. -2 in Smithton last week!!) it may have impacted on the temperature. I will ensure this message is passed onto the suitable people to investigate to ensure we keep people nice, warm and toasty throughout these colder months.

Thanks again for the review, happy travels and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After one night in the bridge hotel ( :-() it was such a welcome relief. No hassles, easy and comfy. Bar was a nice warm place to enjoy a few ales and a nice meal too. Breakfast in the dining room was a very nice and inexpensive feature we enjoyed...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radar-ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the night of the 10 March. We read reviews of no air con, but needed to stay in a close location due to other activities. On arrival we were greated by a very friendly receptionist. We were advised we were in a 2 bedroom new apartment on the lakeside with air con (which was great on a very hot day). On entry we were blown away. Absolutely beautiful and modern apartment. Pool and Gym facitilies were fantastic. We didn't have dinner but found the menu great and inhindsight realitivey good value for money given other areas in Tassie. We would recommend these apartments to anyone, and hope to have a longer visit again at Tall Timbers

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gowrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for the positive Trip Advisor review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us at Tall Timbers. I am pleased you found your experience with us from the moment you were greeted a pleasant one, I will ensure I pass your comments onto the reception staff. We are glad you liked the accommodation you were staying in. The Lakeside Apartments are certainly nice, roomy and comfortable to meet guests’ requirements during their stay.

Thank you for your positive comments on the menu even though you did not dine with us. It is great to see you noted the pricing was reasonable compared to other areas in Tasmania. As you will note I have said in other review replies we do serve great Tasmanian produce and the price and quality of the fine food is a reflection of this, so we appreciate your comments. Enjoy your future travels.

Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea Gardens
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We should have done some more homework before reserving 2 nites @ this property. It was recommended as was convenient for the day tour that we were participating in on the following day, and from the name, we imagined it to be situated amongst lots of trees and gardens. Sadly this is not so. There is a drive-in Bottle Shop attached to the main building.The rooms are in rows or blocks set behind this - we managed to 'win' an end room of one of these blocks, situated in the middle. Because it was a very warm afternoon, we began with windows & door open (no airconditioning - which we can live without) together with a counter fan that was provided. Then we found out that the property is full of "construction" workers as they made their way 'home' from around 1500 till late. With the vehicles charging around (& some of them small trucks) the area around our block soon became very dusty & or course noisy, so we closed up the room and went out for an hour or so. When we arrived back, a number of guys were sitting outside one of the rooms opposite having a drink & regaling what had happened to Mick during the day - then Mick arrived 'home' & we learnt Mick's version of the story - & of course the voices all became louder as the story progressed. I know that these guys have to stay somewhere & you cant blame them for wanting to sit around chatting before dinner & especially when they are away from home....but if you are wanting somewhere quiet, quiet, -stay @ Stanley...there are some lovely quiet, non-dusty properties there. Late in the afternoon we received advice that our tour for the following day had been cancelled, so we asked Reception if it was possible to cancel our second night..,this was no problem & I must mention @ no cost. We ate at the restaurant where there was a good selection, but found costs to be rather high...in fact the most expensive of all the rual & regional areas that we visited in our travels.
In all - our stay here was not a "unique experience".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was the 4th stop on our tour of Tasmania and not having been to this part before, we opted to stay just 1 night. We could have stayed longer. This is a great location to visit the Tarkine and Arthur River, Stanley and the local surrounds. From the arrival, we weren't sure about what to expect, but our expectations were well met and exceeded. We stayed in an Executive Spa Apartment (#66 & 67) on the lake side. The apartment has a spacious lounge, though lumpy sofa, decently appointed kitchen and large separate king bedroom and bathroom. There is a washer/dryer to do laundry free of charge. The bed was very comfortable, slept well and the bathroom had a large spa bath, just what you need after a long walking day to relieve sore muscles. The shower however is a death trap, make sure you put the supplied mat down before stepping in as the tiles are very slippery. No aircon in the bedroom but for the most part this part of Tasmania probably doesn't need it, however we were there on 2 consecutive 29 degree days. Parking is right outside the apartment and free of charge.

Staff were friendly and courteous, responded to questions and requests for assistance quickly and professionally. We ate dinner in the bistro with the food a bit of hit and miss. Service was excellent and quick, given there were also some large parties taking place as well. The chicken chilli pasta was fabulous but the duck was overcooked and tough. Ate breakfast here too and for the first time ever can say it was a fantastic buffet. The hot food was not cooked and left to wallow in bain marie but rather they cooked almost to order, everything was hot and cooked as required. The sausage was bland but the fried and poached eggs were perfectly cooked.

Next time we'll stay longer to take advantage of all the area has to offer.

Room Tip: Executive Spa Apartment worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchick_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culburra Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Encountering great front-of-house staff is always a nice start to a stay, and Ruth, who was on duty when my friend and I checked in, was friendly, professional and couldn't have been more helpful.
Our room which faced the carpark was cheerfully swapped for another which overlooked nearby fields, complete with grazing cattle.
The grounds of this hotel/motel are pleasant and there is an indoor pool and spa which sadly we didn't have a chance to try but have earmarked for a return visit. As my companion and I had just returned from a three-day trek on Maria Island on the east coast, the spa would have been most welcome. We felt the room and facilities offered good value for money. There are also self-catering cottages on the grounds which front onto a small waterway.
Our standard room was large and comfortable, with a good-sized bathroom with plenty of towels.
A word about the restaurant, however. Unlike some other reviewers here, our food was quite good; I had a roasted duck breast and my companion, a gluten-avoiding vegetarian, found a seafood offering to her liking. Food service was pleasant and prompt, but the bar service was, quite simply, appalling. The large dining room was less than half full, but the three bar staff on duty were completely overwhelmed by the workload. Despite being told we would get table service, the drinks waitress never came near us. I approached the bar three times in an effort to order a bottle of wine which eventually arrived halfway through our meals (which were cold by that stage as we foolishly decided to wait for the wine before realising we'd be waiting a long time). The staff were serving both the main bar of the hotel as well as the dining room, and there were clearly grossly understaffed. Probably not their fault, but not nearly good enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the grassy fields rather than the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Maggie,

Thanks for the review it sounds like you and your friends had a wonderful stay.

Tall Timbers prides itself on the front-of-house staff and I am pleased you had a nice warm welcome from Ruth. I will pass your comments on to her. Flexibility is the key to offering that extra special experience for a guest as well and if we have the availability we will certainly try and put you in a good room. Great to see you were moved to a room with a nicer view.

Sounds like you will have to come again and visit the Tarkine region and enjoy all facilities we offer, guests do enjoy relaxing in the pool and spa after a day out exploring.

Thanks for your positive comments on the bistro; I am glad you and your friend enjoyed your meals. The duck is certainly a good menu choice and it is nice to know we were able to cater for the dietary requirements without a hassle. In regards to the bar service and wait times I really do apologise for the issues that have appeared that seemed to dampen your experience of the evening. As you would have noted on other reviews service is usually exceptional and it is very disappointing to hear you weren’t looked after at your table after being told you would be. I will ensure these comments are passed on to all waitress staff and management. It seems that the night you dined was quite busy in the bar therefore leaving the drinks service in the bistro a little less to be desired, and as you stated not good enough. In the future these staffing issues will be rectified however it is hard to manage the staffing requirements for a rural venue that can be so busy or quiet on any given day of the week. That is no excuse and we are certainly aware of this issue.

Thanks again for your comments Maggie C and happy travelling

Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithton
11.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
201 reviews
10.7 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
495 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheer Pleasure Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Smithton
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
AAA - Ye Olde Post Office Cottage - Smithton
9.0 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timbers Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timbers Tasmania

Property: Tall Timbers Tasmania
Address: 5/15 Scotchtown Rd, Smithton, Tasmania 7330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Smithton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Timbers Tasmania 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timbers offers modern 4 star accommodation located at the gateway to the Tarkine Wilderness in North West Tasmania. We offer a range of accommodation options from studio suites through to fully self-contained 1 & 2 bedroom luxury apartments. Guest facilities include an indoor heated pool, spa, gym, tennis court and BBQs set in landscaped grounds. Tall Timbers also has an award winning bistro, bar, bottle-shop, gaming facilities and function rooms available for conferences, weddings or conventions. Free parking at your door, free Wi-Fi and daily newspaper provided. Fully guided luxury 4WD and helicopter tours of the Tarkine can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tall Timbers Tasmania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timbers Hotel
Tall Timbers Tasmania Smithton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing