We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great launchpad for Tarkine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tall Timbers Tasmania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
Certificate of Excellence
Culburra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great launchpad for Tarkine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Encountering great front-of-house staff is always a nice start to a stay, and Ruth, who was on duty when my friend and I checked in, was friendly, professional and couldn't have been more helpful.
Our room which faced the carpark was cheerfully swapped for another which overlooked nearby fields, complete with grazing cattle.
The grounds of this hotel/motel are pleasant and there is an indoor pool and spa which sadly we didn't have a chance to try but have earmarked for a return visit. As my companion and I had just returned from a three-day trek on Maria Island on the east coast, the spa would have been most welcome. We felt the room and facilities offered good value for money. There are also self-catering cottages on the grounds which front onto a small waterway.
Our standard room was large and comfortable, with a good-sized bathroom with plenty of towels.
A word about the restaurant, however. Unlike some other reviewers here, our food was quite good; I had a roasted duck breast and my companion, a gluten-avoiding vegetarian, found a seafood offering to her liking. Food service was pleasant and prompt, but the bar service was, quite simply, appalling. The large dining room was less than half full, but the three bar staff on duty were completely overwhelmed by the workload. Despite being told we would get table service, the drinks waitress never came near us. I approached the bar three times in an effort to order a bottle of wine which eventually arrived halfway through our meals (which were cold by that stage as we foolishly decided to wait for the wine before realising we'd be waiting a long time). The staff were serving both the main bar of the hotel as well as the dining room, and there were clearly grossly understaffed. Probably not their fault, but not nearly good enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the grassy fields rather than the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Maggie,

Thanks for the review it sounds like you and your friends had a wonderful stay.

Tall Timbers prides itself on the front-of-house staff and I am pleased you had a nice warm welcome from Ruth. I will pass your comments on to her. Flexibility is the key to offering that extra special experience for a guest as well and if we have the availability we will certainly try and put you in a good room. Great to see you were moved to a room with a nicer view.

Sounds like you will have to come again and visit the Tarkine region and enjoy all facilities we offer, guests do enjoy relaxing in the pool and spa after a day out exploring.

Thanks for your positive comments on the bistro; I am glad you and your friend enjoyed your meals. The duck is certainly a good menu choice and it is nice to know we were able to cater for the dietary requirements without a hassle. In regards to the bar service and wait times I really do apologise for the issues that have appeared that seemed to dampen your experience of the evening. As you would have noted on other reviews service is usually exceptional and it is very disappointing to hear you weren’t looked after at your table after being told you would be. I will ensure these comments are passed on to all waitress staff and management. It seems that the night you dined was quite busy in the bar therefore leaving the drinks service in the bistro a little less to be desired, and as you stated not good enough. In the future these staffing issues will be rectified however it is hard to manage the staffing requirements for a rural venue that can be so busy or quiet on any given day of the week. That is no excuse and we are certainly aware of this issue.

Thanks again for your comments Maggie C and happy travelling

Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    94
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
62
107
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

From the moment we were greeted on entrance we knew our stay was going to be great. The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful. Our cabin was cosy, clean and well-presented. The cost of meals at the bistro is slightly above average (compared to Sydney prices) but the servings are generous and of good quality.
The natural surroundings of the hotel were lovely to explore. Heck, even the ducks were friendly! One waddled right up to our door as we were leaving for breakfast!
Only fault I could really pick (and it is a highly subjective one) was that the pillows were a bit hard for my liking.
Staff really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. Overall highly recommended, I would certainly go back if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank innocint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The rooms were ok clean and tidy. Reasonable value for money. Went to the restaurant but the food w below average. Not cooked with any love just processed and put out . Waitress not overly friendly.
Rooms ok but give the kitchen a miss

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Andrew,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Tall Timbers last year in December.

I appreciate your honesty about how you feel your Bistro experience was however it is a shame to see you mentioning this over two months after you had stayed with us. We do encourage reviews particularly about our dining experience however I am surprised to see that you mention nothing of letting anyone at the venue know.

We have a policy that if guests have issues with their meal they should let the staff know at the time and we can endeavour to fix the issue for you. I understand you feel the meal was “just processed and put out” and I am sorry you feel this was your experience. Our staff will always check how guest’s meals are throughout the dining times, and I would be disappointed if you did not let the staff or manager on duty at the time aware of your meal dissatisfaction. It is a shame to hear as we do offer a great menu selection in our award-winning bistro and our employees have been recognised for excellent customer service.

Once again thanks for your review and if you did let the staff at Tall Timbers know I would hope they addressed the issues for you and you would of appropriately stated that on here also.

Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

awful awful lunch. the menu had a nice penne pasta with chicken pumpkin and spinach. however it came out as a dry bowl of fettucine with three or four bits burnt penne sitting on top. the chicken was burnt and there wasnt much spinach or pumpkin. bland awful and where did the fettucine come from?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank smithtontrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hi smithtontrent,

It is with great disappointment that I see your review of the restaurant here on Trip Advisor without any comments made to us at the venue after your bad experience. We do encourage reviews both positive and negative experiences so we can endeavour to solve issues however it is unfortunate to see you did not approach any staff member to make them aware of your experience whilst you dined with us.

The review you made was over two days after you dined with us and I am amazed you did not let any staff member know during your meal. Our staff will always check how guests meals were and the staff working on the day you dined said there were no complaints or comments made about any of the menu items that were ordered. In this case we cannot attend to this matter appropriately as at no time did you show any sign of not being happy with the meal to either the waitress staff on that day or to reception staff upon your departure of the venue.

Management have looked into this matter and are aware of the issue but would like to see any complaints be made at the time of the dining with the staff who are serving you. We are sad to hear you had this experience and it is unfortunate it could not be rectified at the time.

Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights with our teenage children. Right from the start you are greeted with warm friendly Reception staff - you can't but help love this place. All the staff were friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. We dined at the Bistro both nights and all our meals were delicious and reasonably priced. Agree with Jean H pool and spa surrounded by glass windows overlooking paddocks with cows - fantastic. Loved the Tractor Pull Competition in the back yard on the Saturday! Would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling to the North West corner. We travelled across to "The Edge of the World" and surrounds. It was a pleasant days drive not too far. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We just had a few nights away with our children and the first 2 nights were spent at Tall Timbers in Smithton. What a lovely place to stay. From the moment I walked in the front door to check in I was greeted by a lovely lady who was so friendly. All the staff were great. We had meals both nights in the restaurant as the first night was so good. The kids meals are great and come out very quickly. There was also a childrens play are that had 4 XBoxes set up in it. The two adult meals were great although the steak on the second night could have been a better for the price.
The swimming pool was a favourite with our children and they had heaps of fun. The pool area was always clean and tidy. Our room was a conjoined room which was not ideal only due to the size but as we made the booking late we were grateful that the lovely receptionist was able to organise this for us. Everything was very clean and we were offered to have everything restocked etc for our second night.
I would hightly recommend Tall Timbers Tasmania to families or couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi Amanda,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We are glad you enjoyed the stay and found Tall Timbers an ideal spot for you and your family. It's so welcoming to be greeted by a nice receptionist and we are glad this was your experience and you found all staff friendly.

Thanks for the positive feedback on the restaurant, I am glad you enjoyed the meals and found the play room for the children. I am sorry to hear the steak was not to the standards you were expecting for the price. The meals served in our bistro reflect quality food from the region hence why the price can be a little higher as we pay higher prices for local produce. We have received awards for the bistro meals and service, it's unfortunate the second night of your stay with us wasn't quite as pleasing re food. I hope you let the staff know when they asked how your meal had been.

Lovely to hear you enjoyed the recreational facilities on the property and it suited your family. As you mentioned you had booked late but I am glad the staff could accommodate you during your stay with us.

Safe travels in the future.

Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Started our recent holiday to Tasmania with a stay at Tall Timbers at Smithton. What a fantastic place!
The accommodation was wonderful... very comfortable setting and room had a pleasing view to the lake!
The meal at the restaurant was fabulous... delicious meal with a wide variety of options.
All of the staff were fantastic... everyone was friendly and professional in their service.

Our booking through 'wotif.com' was so easy and painless.

My wife and I would highly recommend this accommodation to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi Pat and Jeff,

Thanks for your review we are very happy to know that you enjoyed the stay and have some very positive feedback.

Sounds like you found the accommdation comfortable and enjoyed the rural settings with the view of the lake.

It's pleasing to hear you liked the meals you both had in our restaurant and the staff provided excellent friendly service. I will pass these comments on to our front of house staff.

Safe travels and please recommend our beautiful area on this great island state.

Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithton
11.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
10.7 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheer Pleasure Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
AAA - Ye Olde Post Office Cottage - Smithton
1.3 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Smithton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
9.1 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timbers Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timbers Tasmania

Property: Tall Timbers Tasmania
Address: 5/15 Scotchtown Rd, Smithton, Tasmania 7330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Smithton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Timbers Tasmania 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timbers offers modern 4 star accommodation located at the gateway to the Tarkine Wilderness in North West Tasmania. We offer a range of accommodation options from studio suites through to fully self-contained 1 & 2 bedroom luxury apartments. Guest facilities include an indoor heated pool, spa, gym, tennis court and BBQs set in landscaped grounds. Tall Timbers also has an award winning bistro, bar, bottle-shop, gaming facilities and function rooms available for conferences, weddings or conventions. Free parking at your door, free Wi-Fi and daily newspaper provided. Fully guided luxury 4WD and helicopter tours of the Tarkine can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tall Timbers Tasmania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timbers Hotel
Tall Timbers Tasmania Smithton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing