We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
Certificate of Excellence
Ulverstone, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow - excellent!”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I've been twice now to this great destination - Tall TImbers. First time I stayed in an elegant modern 2 br cabin - on the edge of a small lake - filled with ducks and other birds. The bedrooms were huge - the place had 2 bathrooms also (one per bedroom) and a large kitchen/lounge/dining area with a patio to look at the sunset over the lake. The second time I stayed in a 1 br unit, still large and lovely - but the winner for me was the 2 bd unit. Meals were scrumptious in a lovely warm environment, with gracious, helpful, friendly staff. There's also a spa, pool, and plenty of grounds to wander (which was fabulous on a crisp, frosty morning). Most definitely will stay again, and again. Not too far from any destination I wanted - the pounding surf on the rugged far n.w. coast of Tas., Stanley and it's beauties and the halfway point for me to Corinna. Kitchen was in the 2 bd unit...not the single one I stayed in at a later time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylene19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    106
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
66
114
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed in the basic accommodation for two nights, paid a premium over Easter break. Rooms fine, mattress could do with replacing. Didn't hear much noise from adjoining rooms but the plumbing from those rooms was quite loud. Bistro inconsistent with meals - burnt roast of the day but a very nice steak. Bar staff were not rude as such, but certainly could be a lot friendly. It was disappointing that everything shut up shop 8pm on Sunday night - bistro, bars etc as we were not able to relax over our evening meal or enjoy a quiet drink. Location is okay if travelling further NW or west otherwise Stanley is a better option and is about 15mins away. I would recommend only if cheaper price is important or if attempting to reduce travel to further NW or west.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country NSW
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We found ourselves in Smithton & booked this hotel for one night at $145/Night which I thought was reasonable as we quite happy with the Standard Room. We had dinner at the Restaurant, which had a very Pub/RSL type ambience & found the meal to be quite nice. The staff apparently knock off early on a Sunday night, so we did feel a bit hurried out the door at the restaurant, but overall it was a pretty good stay

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liveforholidays-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We spend the first night of our holiday in Tasmania at Tall Timbers, it was quite a large establishment. The motel style rooms were quite basic and clean but overpriced for what you got. The travel brochures did not indicate that all the rooms opened onto gravel driveways and the "beautiful country setting" was not close the the accommodation. Breakfast was extra and the bus load of people who ate before us had emptied most of the supplies. There was a lack of staff to replenish these.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieq6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This accommodation was a real surprise to us. The location is very ordinary and I would not advise staying in Smithton unless you had to. I think Stanley is a much nicer place to stay but also much more expensive. We got a very reasonable rate and we were very impressed witht he resort. The cabins were very clean and comfortable and although they all seem quite close together we did not hear any noise during the night. We made use of the heated pool and gym which was great. We also had our evening meal in the restaurent which was ok, nothing to rave about but adequate. The grounds of the resort are well looked after and quite picturesque given the complex seems to be plonked in the middle of suburbia.
I would recommend this hotel if you had to stay in Smithton.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovescruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed in Lakeside Apartment early in March for 2 nights the apartment was extremely well equipped actually 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms for a 1 bedroom you only use 1 of each lovely balcony overlooking lake We chose to dine in Kauri Restaurant the first night we were asked at reception at check in that they would book our table for us as they would be very busy when we arrived at restaurant we were immediately shown to our table there were 2 tourist coaches in so restaurant was full the table service was very prompt our meals delivered promptly the quality of our meals extremely good the bar service and prices are rxtremely good $4 for pint of draught beer was unbelievable after this wonderful experience we decided to dine there again the second night this time we were joined in the restaurant by about 50 motor cycle tourists and again the service was above and beyond especially the bar waitress we actually remembered our drinks from the previous night after reading the previous reviews we were very wary but found none of the previous comments applied to our stay from check in to check out and dining we were treated well and politely all I can say is that they have picked up there act and it is worth the little extra to stay in one of ther beautiful apartments

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GigiandPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We had a beautiful lakeside apartment, which was extremely well apointed and a pleasure to stay in. It was cleaned daily. The site also has a lot of motel units, and a bottle shop. The main downside was the restaurant, the food was very poor and completely uninspiring, more like bad school food. Our stay would have been improved by a good chef serving sensitively cooked local produce. Also, Tall Timbers runs 4WD trips into the local countryside, but it is necessary to book well in advance. Some staff were not particularly helpful, although others were welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norrie_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithton
11.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
197 reviews
10.7 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
493 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheer Pleasure Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
AAA - Ye Olde Post Office Cottage - Smithton
9.0 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
1.2 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Smithton
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timbers Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timbers Tasmania

Property: Tall Timbers Tasmania
Address: 5/15 Scotchtown Rd, Smithton, Tasmania 7330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Smithton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Timbers Tasmania 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timbers offers modern 4 star accommodation located at the gateway to the Tarkine Wilderness in North West Tasmania. We offer a range of accommodation options from studio suites through to fully self-contained 1 & 2 bedroom luxury apartments. Guest facilities include an indoor heated pool, spa, gym, tennis court and BBQs set in landscaped grounds. Tall Timbers also has an award winning bistro, bar, bottle-shop, gaming facilities and function rooms available for conferences, weddings or conventions. Free parking at your door, free Wi-Fi and daily newspaper provided. Fully guided luxury 4WD and helicopter tours of the Tarkine can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tall Timbers Tasmania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timbers Hotel
Tall Timbers Tasmania Smithton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing