We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveler rating
187
128
29
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
128
29
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottle shopbeautiful timbertennis courtsswimming pooloverlooking the lakebusiness triplakeside apartmentwine listgood sizea great place to staybuffet breakfastgreat facilitiesbit datedno air conditioningonly stayed one nightarthur riverstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 361 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We spend the first night of our holiday in Tasmania at Tall Timbers, it was quite a large establishment. The motel style rooms were quite basic and clean but overpriced for what you got. The travel brochures did not indicate that all the rooms opened onto gravel driveways and the "beautiful country setting" was not close the the accommodation. Breakfast was extra and the bus load of people who ate before us had emptied most of the supplies. There was a lack of staff to replenish these.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieq6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This accommodation was a real surprise to us. The location is very ordinary and I would not advise staying in Smithton unless you had to. I think Stanley is a much nicer place to stay but also much more expensive. We got a very reasonable rate and we were very impressed witht he resort. The cabins were very clean and comfortable and although they all seem quite close together we did not hear any noise during the night. We made use of the heated pool and gym which was great. We also had our evening meal in the restaurent which was ok, nothing to rave about but adequate. The grounds of the resort are well looked after and quite picturesque given the complex seems to be plonked in the middle of suburbia.
I would recommend this hotel if you had to stay in Smithton.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovescruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed in Lakeside Apartment early in March for 2 nights the apartment was extremely well equipped actually 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms for a 1 bedroom you only use 1 of each lovely balcony overlooking lake We chose to dine in Kauri Restaurant the first night we were asked at reception at check in that they would book our table for us as they would be very busy when we arrived at restaurant we were immediately shown to our table there were 2 tourist coaches in so restaurant was full the table service was very prompt our meals delivered promptly the quality of our meals extremely good the bar service and prices are rxtremely good $4 for pint of draught beer was unbelievable after this wonderful experience we decided to dine there again the second night this time we were joined in the restaurant by about 50 motor cycle tourists and again the service was above and beyond especially the bar waitress we actually remembered our drinks from the previous night after reading the previous reviews we were very wary but found none of the previous comments applied to our stay from check in to check out and dining we were treated well and politely all I can say is that they have picked up there act and it is worth the little extra to stay in one of ther beautiful apartments

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GigiandPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We had a beautiful lakeside apartment, which was extremely well apointed and a pleasure to stay in. It was cleaned daily. The site also has a lot of motel units, and a bottle shop. The main downside was the restaurant, the food was very poor and completely uninspiring, more like bad school food. Our stay would have been improved by a good chef serving sensitively cooked local produce. Also, Tall Timbers runs 4WD trips into the local countryside, but it is necessary to book well in advance. Some staff were not particularly helpful, although others were welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norrie_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We (2adults+2teens) stayed in a 2br unit (no 60) overlooking a large pond, which had lots of ducks in it and had birds and rabbits on the riverbank. It was quiet and very pretty. There was a balcony which would be ideal when the weather is good. The unit was roomy, clean and tidy, had tv/DVD, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. No oven, only a microwave and a
cooktop. The accommodation gets full thumbs up from us- but... The restaurant left us feeling disappointed. There were 31 other people in for dinner, there was only 7 dockets up for the chefs but it took nearly an hour for the food to come out. My vegetables were almost flavorless, and tasted like they came out of cans. Would love to see some great local flavors and fresh produce, it would make a big difference. Other onsite facilities:gym, indoor pool with spa, tennis court, bottleshop. Wifi available if you pay.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TasMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews