We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay with friendly host and their friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carinya Farm Holiday Retreat
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay with friendly host and their friends”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Carinya Farm is full of love and homey! There were lots of animal living in the farm, they wer just so cute and lovely! We enjoyed playing with them and feeding them. The room is clean and tidy and with fully equipped kitchen. We saw lots of star at nighttime, which was romantic! Chris and Garry are super nice couple, we felt their enthusiasm in decorating the room and the farm. We wish them every success in their business and enjoy their vocation. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The location might not be showed in the GPS, but could seek the help from tourist information. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

What a welcoming and friendly place to stay. Great for kids. The accommodation is comfortable and homey. Lots of effort has been made to decorate with handmade wall hangings and country finishes. Well located for Sheffield township and surrounding attractions. Only downside was that there was no bath for the children, but the shower has excellent water pressure and bathroom is nice and clean. Lots of good towels and warm bed linen. The kitchen is also well equipped. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naynay808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Chris and Garry are absolutely nice and always sharing a lot about their life and the farm. Everything is prepared, including breakfast with jam. Animals are so cute that I cannot help playing with them. If you've never experienced country life in Tasmania, Carinya Farm is a good choice!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lannylau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed just 1night at here.chris made lovely meal n really kind.home's atmosphere is also good. I wanna stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have been to Tasmania 4 times and by far the most comfy and snug accommodation has been at Carinya Farm, Sheffield. For us, a comfortable bed is very important. You will not be disappointed here - it was just perfect. Not only is the accommodation generous in size, warm and cosy with a welcoming, wood fire lit each night when we arrived back after a day exploring, there is plenty to entertain the children and delight adults. Cattle, sheep, chickens, beautiful gardens and I mustn’t leave out Bill the Goat all add to the farm-stay experience. Garry and Chris really know how to make their guests feel welcome. From fresh home-baked bread on arrival, little pots of Chris’ jam for your toast at breakfast and little surprises during our stay (fresh eggs, herbs and wonderful country hospitality), all made us feel very special indeed. We left "Carinya" feeling like we were part of the family.

Room Tip: Perfect location to stay a few days while you visit the many local attractions including magical Cra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhondda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

To choose the best thing about this little haven is impossible; it might be the cozy accommodation, the beautiful scenery, the welcoming hosts, the homemade extras or its great location. Needless to say we loved it. Hubbie even caught a ten dollar note while fishing at Lake Barrington. This was a memorable stay, just as it was the first time and I know will be the next time. If you are a keen photographer Mount Roland is an ever changing tapestry that offers brilliant shots and it's right outside your door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeR1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Still feel warm when thinking about the hot home-made bread & the fresh berry jams made by Chris who toured us around her garden with all kinds of fresh beans, fruits & plants!
We love it & thanks to Chris & Gary again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossetti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
4.2 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
61 reviews
11.0 mi away
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
3.0 mi away
Silver Ridge Retreat
Silver Ridge Retreat
#1 of 9 in Sheffield
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
AAA Granary Accommodation
AAA Granary Accommodation
#1 of 1 in Promised Land
194 reviews
4.8 mi away
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Sheffield
52 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mount Roland Country Lodge
Mount Roland Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Claude Road
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carinya Farm Holiday Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carinya Farm Holiday Retreat

Property: Carinya Farm Holiday Retreat
Address: 63 Staverton Rd, Sheffield, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Sheffield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carinya Farm Holiday Retreat offers 2 self-contained, open-plan chalets set in a peaceful country setting. 'Van Dyke' 1 bedroom chalet is a perfect romantic hideaway for couples. 'Roland' 2 bedroom chalet is perfect for family or friends get together with twin beds down stairs. Both loft master bedrooms feature queen size beds taking advantage of the view of nearby Mt Roland. Uninterrupted views of the mountain by day, spectacular starry kaleidoscope by night! Both chalets decorated with hand-crafted crafts and art. Prepare your evening meal or breakfast in fully equipped kitchen. Enjoy plunger coffee, home made bread and jam along with fresh farm eggs if girls are obliging. Complimentary to our guests. Enjoy your stay with all the fun of the farm at Carinya's rural tranquil location, just 7 minutes drive from Sheffield's popular attractions and amenities. Find extra gastronomic delights or stroll around the famous Murals. Visit nearby Lake Barrington, Devonport, Latrobe or Deloraine. Conveniently located gateway to Cradle Mountain, Mole Creek Karsts or Narawntapu National Park. 1 hours drive from Launceston. Perhaps we can assist with the planning for another glorious day or just come and stay at home, curl up with a book and enjoy the peace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carinya Farm Holiday Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carinya Farm Holiday Retreat Sheffield, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing