We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheffield Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in this motel. The rooms are clean, tidy and spacious. The bathroom is huge and very modern. Apart from a couple of rednecks two rooms down, and this is no fault of management, it is very quiet and comfortable. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Please Note: I never stayed at the Sheffield Motor Inn, but My family and I did eat at the attached Cafe and this is what I want to review.
The food was absolutely fantastic, taste and value, the waitress AMY was so, so friendly and happy, as were all the staff, the variety on the menu was great catering for all tastes, try the hot chips really yummy big chunky so delicious, homemade cakes, great foccacias, fish, the list goes on and all fresh & very well priced, Great Coffee and a friendly smile. Sheffield is such an amazing Township, some of the most amazing paintings, you have got to check it out. and please stop at the Cafe attached to the Motor Inn, its wonderful. By the way they also have a little gift shop you can browse and find some real treasures for those at home that werent lucky enough to be with you. Spotlessly clean restrooms, and plenty of parking. Thanks to Amy for helpful friendly service, your a real treasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank October-Sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed for one night as a break in travel from Strahan to Launceston. We had a one bedroom unit which was very nice, a separate bedroom with ensuite, a lounge and kitchenette. Fresh milk was provided. The accommodation was clean and most comfortable a really comfortable bed we had a great nights sleep. A bakery was on the premises and a hotel for meals right opposite. Definitely a nice place to break your journey.

Room Tip: The one bedroom units are more spacious and not much different in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaGatton_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It seems that there are limited hotel choices in Sheffield and I chose this hotel because of the positive feedback in Tripadvisor. The hotel did not let me down indeed.

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night in a family room. There were 1 double bed and 3 single beds inside. The room was spacious, clean and tidy. There was a small kitchen with sink and microwave. Bathroom was clean. Hot water supplied steadily with sufficient water pressure. There were 2 heaters in the room which was enough for warming the room.

You can park your car simply outside your room.

Reception staff was friendly. She introduced the locations of supermarkets, restaurants and murals to us soon after we checked in.

The location was super, there was an IGA supermarket just opposite to the hotel and another IGA within 2 min walk.

The complementary milk and biscuits were very delicious.

Recommend this hotel if you are going to visit Sheffield.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoopyCHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms were outstanding with how clean they were. I am a cleaner in hospitality myself and it was the first thing i noticed was how clean and nothin out of place, front desk again excellent service. Will defiently be back and will highly recomend this place to anyone. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardhat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Sheffield is a great place to stay as a gateway to the Cradle Mountain area. This hotel is right in the centre of the lovely township of Sheffield. The hotel has been refurbished and is very clean and comfortable. The hosts were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Hotel was great, township was great and the walk around Dove Lake, Cradle mountain was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_C_Senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This property is in the centre of town. Consists of a new section and an older section. The older section however, has been refurbished to a high standard. The hosts are pleasant and hard working, running a cafe as well as the motel. A pleasure to stay at the Sheffield Motor Inn.
The Chinese restaurant in town is a must to dine at, especially their home-made ice cream.
Devonport is a mere 20 mins drive away. Why stay in the big smoke ?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BugsyMaleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
61 reviews
24.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
975 reviews
14.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Sheffield
52 reviews
13.8 mi away
Mole Creek Cabins
Mole Creek Cabins
#2 of 3 in Mole Creek
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Motor Inn

Property: Sheffield Motor Inn
Address: 49-53 Main St, Sheffield, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Sheffield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheffield Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheffield Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheffield Motor Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing