We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good motor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheffield Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here on 10th January with my wife. This motel is simple but good enough for over night purpose before you go to visit Dove Lake and Cradle Mountain. The rant is very reasonable.
Hong Kong traveler should consider to stay here because you can see a painting by singer Chan Yick Shun in this small town. Restaurants are very few. A town club near serves very good grill and beer, but only open on Thur, Fri and Sat from 6-8 p.m.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NelsonHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Sheffield Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

For a small town, this little hotel is quite lovely. From the outside it might not seem like much but our room, bed, linens, and towels were all high quality. For the price of a standard hotel we also found a small kitchenette.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Staff were exremely friendly and helpful. Very clean and spacious rooms!

Cafe served tasty cakes, scones and there is a lovely menu as well!

Murals are found throughout the town. There is an option to go to the information centre to get a headset and listen to the meaning behind each mural.

Pub across the road serve delicious meals!

The roads to and from Sheffield are fantastic for those who love a good road trip.

Close to Cradle Mountain.

WIFI kept dropping out, but that was ok.

Medina has a Honey/Bee Farm.
Mole Creek has a Tasmanian Devil rescue centre, only $20AUD for such a fantastic cause.
Cradle Mountain is not too far away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaskedWright85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was a more than adequate motel for a stopover en route to Cradle Mountain, and the town has interest too with all the murals.
The young lady owner was very bubbly and enthusiastic and her welcome included lots of local info. Her husband needs to cheer up a bit - we had only been in our room for about 15 mins when he knocked on the door and said that we should have paid on check-in and that we should go to the office straightaway to pay. We saw him briefly the next morning too and did not get a smile. Such a shame when the young lady was such a shiny person.
But the room was fine and comfortable and we had a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay on check-in!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for one night in the main street, centre of town in Nov 2012. It is a great stop before or after visiting Cradle Mountain. It is about 50 minutes drive to the mountain, the road is good but is on the hilly side with lots of twists and turns. The rooms were clean and comfortable and there are plenty of places to eat around the Hotel. The Hotel offers a continental breakfast but we declined preferring to do our own. We could not hear any traffic noise from the room and I would stay again. The front reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

During recent visit to Tasmania we spent 3 wonderful days at this Motel. Great place to travel out to Cradle Mountain, Launceston, Perth, Railton (town of Topiary), Longford etc. New Managers, Arvid & Tammy and daughter Mia were wonderful when the hot water didn't eventuate for a shower - the next night the smoke alarm battery beeped!! The last night was incident free. We hope Arvid and Tammy are well on top of the new job now, as I am sure they will be. Meals were available from the Hotel across the road or the local RSL club just a short walk away. Rooms lovely and clean and all in all, a great place to stay and call home. Sheffield is the town of Murals - wonderful history told through art.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Room were clean and comfortable. A little dated, but had a good night sleep. Very easy to find in town.

The motor inn is across the road from the Sheffield Hotel and the IGA supermarket. Hotel serves meals (did not eat there).

Room Tip: Stayed in a room downstairs in the eastern section of the motor inn. There were also, appeared to be...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phb_in_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
24.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,010 reviews
14.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
109 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Sheffield
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Motor Inn

Address: 49-53 Main St, Sheffield, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Sheffield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: $88 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheffield Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheffield Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheffield Motor Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing