We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Man O' Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Man O' Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ross
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed the night at a cottage in the gorgeous little town of Ross. Had a meal at the pub and it was lovely.

I had the reef and beef and my partner had the steak with mushroom sauce. Both were cooked to our liking. Big meals, fast service.


Very enjoyable. Gorgeous little beer garden out the back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide_Girl_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatton, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We did not stay here but had dinner, the food was appetising and plentiful and we both enjoyed our meal. The restaurant was clean and comfortable, the price was average hotel pricing. Meals were served quite quickly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaGatton_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Room was quite cheap, $65 for twin beds. Shared bathrooms. Walls are a bit thin. Overall nothing particularly fancy, just a place to sleep. Food downstairs wasn't too bad, and the fireplace was quite nice.

If your looking for somewhere cheap to stay, this isn't too bad. If your after something nicer, there are other BnB's in Ross as well (that aren't reviewed yet on tripadvisor)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandrashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but rather had dinner there. The food was delicious and reasonably priced being the only place open for dinner. The beer damper with garlic butter was outstanding in its little clay pot, roast lamb delicious but the sticky date pudding was simply to die for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissM277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

after closing and reopening with the same staff... and now with new management and staff..
it is the best it been for a few years.... good food for a pub...and a wine list.. for august it was busy on a sunday night... overall a good dinner with a a bottle of wine all at a good price
lets hope it continues at this standard

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank old-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I came back to give it another try because I love Ross and hoped things had improved. Our dinner was absolutely delicious. Fantastic service, nice china, excellent porterhouse steak cooked to perfection, a lovely little jug of very nice Diane Sauce, delicious fresh cabbage stir fry with red onion and some garlic I think. Steamed tasty carrots and then crisp and crunchy, beautifully cooked golden chips. $25. My friend had delicious roast lamb and said it was yummy with beautifully roasted vegetables and gravy and a little pot of mint jelly. We had coffees and they were big city standard with a nice thick froth in a good cup and served with a very nice chocolate on the side. Overall a perfect dinner, by the roaring log fire in a cosy room with nice tables, carpets, and very good friendly staff. Congratulations on a fantastic hotel! It seems very well run, but with a nice country relaxed feel.

Room Tip: Sit by the fire in Winter. Delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discerningtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were at ross on firday night and there were about 7 tables full in the dinning room,
ordered the chicken parma, not bad at all and for the price it was good, the place still has the same feel to it, the service was friendly and the wine was average in price.

the inside is very dark and is quite old worldie, but it is a old pub, also the place is in a bit of a time warp, but We think it fits the town

keeping in mind it the only place to eat at night in Ross, it was not bad at all, and would go back next time in Ross.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank old-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ross
0.0 mi away
Ross Motel
Ross Motel
#1 of 3 in Ross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Cottages of Ross
15.5 mi away
Lake Leake Inn
Lake Leake Inn
#2 of 5 in Campbell Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ivy on Glenelg
Ivy on Glenelg
#1 of 5 in Campbell Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somercotes
Somercotes
#3 of 3 in Ross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
19.8 mi away
Oatlands Retreat
Oatlands Retreat
#3 of 4 in Oatlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Man O' Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Man O' Ross Hotel

Property: Man O' Ross Hotel
Address: 35 Church St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ross
Hotel Class:2 star — Man O' Ross Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Man O' Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Man O' Ross Hotel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing