We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost purse recovered - how honest!!!”
Review of Man O' Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Man O' Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ross
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I did NOT stay in this hotel - my fiance and I went there for dinner on Jan. 2, 2012. I had just flown 4 legs of flights (total of 26 hours) from the east coast of the US and probably I wasn't all there. The food was very good - my fiance had a whole trout (he loved it) and I had braised ram, which was tasty. From there we went for a walk in town. It was rather late and we were worried that we would lose the daylight if we did not hurry. So we walked out in a hurry. The dinner was prepaid so we did not reach for the purse after dinner for payment. Silly me, only the next morning I found that the purse was not with me. They do not open until lunch time and our holiday time was so limited so we kept on moving to our next destination. We called the place from our next destination and Denver the manager answered the phone with lots of humor. ("Oh, the purse with the passport, money, credit cards and all? I spent all the money!"). We continued our trip peacefully knowing that the purse was in a good hand (my fiance had money). We were coming back to Ross anyway as we made a circle in the eastern part of Tasmania, we came to recover the purse 4 days later. Denver even declined to take the thank-you money we offered so we had to push it to him. We were very impressed with his honesty. This is a model that every business has to follow.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank runner750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Man O' Ross Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 80 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stopped here from 11:00am on Monday 6th September,to the following morning.
This being my first holiday to Tassie an experience was to have..

My friend & I were looked after, being the only 2 guests at the hotel..
would recommend a stay here, especially if your into history..

The evening dinner was great. Slow roasted lamb.. Yum!
The town was quite and we walked around the sites no problems..

A must visit to the Ross Bakery also

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syrup10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Quaint, romantic upstairs room facing the street in a beautiful Georgian village. The room has been used by travellers for over 150 years, so it had a special feel...no ghosts though! Large, clean shared bathrooms at either end of the corridor. Breakfast in the lovely old dining room downstairs was delicious. We also had a lovely dinner there and there were nice touches like home made bread served in clay pots. This is old world style accommodation that is very reasonably priced. Parking only at the front of the hotel, but it seems to be a very safe little village. Free high speed internet was an added 21st century bonus. The cakes and slices from the two village bakeries are the best I've ever tasted.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickAndLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

This lovely 1835 convict built hotel is in the National Trust listed heritage town of Ross in the Midlands of Central Tasmania. Ross is comprised of mostly all convict built buildings and is heritage listed, has a convict jail, Famous convict built bridge, 2 amazing bakeries, craft centres selling wood and wool products, upmarket antiques and homewares.

The hotel is the GENUINE old creaky staircased pub of Yesteryear with the cosy lounge and log fire, leather armachairs and a good, reasonably priced in-house menu for lunch and dinner most nights. I stayed overnight in a sunny double room (1 of 7) with shared facilities, and good continental breakfast thrown in. My wonderful stay cost a little under $90.00 AUD. I believe there is a self contained cottage available also for about $125.00 AUD a double with Cont. breakfast.

Would recommend this Pub with Atmosphere to anyone who cherishes the past and a warm welcome on a cold winter's evening. Tracked my booking through the RACQ (Auto Club)Accommodation guide (Web address -www.manoross.com.au) The property is 3 star++ rated and Tasmanian Tourism Accredited.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank swishwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

We arrived in Launceston on a Friday night for a short trip, and decided to have dinner at the amazing Luck’s restaurant before heading to Hobart. But late at night, who wants to drive to Hobart? According to the map, the township of Ross was roughly between to the two cities, about 45minutes each way.

We looked at the Ross Bakery Inn, but settled on The Man O’ Ross Hotel as our accommodation, as it was only to be a flying visit, arriving late and leaving early enough to get to a morning tour of the Cascade Brewery via a bit of sight seeing in Oatlands. The tariff was a budget AU$85 for a double room with shared facilities.

The Man O’ Ross is an old Tavern constructed from hand cut sandstone in 1835, five years after the historic convict built bridge around the corner. It is comfortable and cosy. The roaring fireplaces instantly drew us in on this wintry night. Downstairs is the public bar, bistro and lounge where a night-cap can be taken on big leather sofas by a fireplace. Upstairs is a guest lounge with kitchenette, tea and coffee facilities and TV with DVD player.

On offer is a self-contained ensuite room or a number of bedrooms with multiple, gender specific, shared bathroom facilities. Our room was at the front looking over the town and next to the pine clad facilities, which were immaculately clean and featured heating and a hair dryer. The bedroom was small, but fine for our needs and tastefully decorated in rustic pine and floral motifs. The mattress was quite firm and there was both a heater and electric blankets to keep us snug. Generous sized towels and a cake of soap each were provided.

Included in the tariff was a simple breakfast of cereal, stone fruit, toast, orange juice, tea and coffee, available from 7am-9am. We grabbed a newspaper and took our meal in front of the fire in the bistro/lounge area.

Outside was an inviting beer garden, ideal for a little respite on summer days touring in the area. Around the corner from the lounge was an excellent conference room/private dining room, featuring small crystal chandeliers and sandstone walls, a large fireplace and antique paraphernalia. Under the stairs we found an internet station, over looked by a large stuffed stag’s head.

The staff at the Man O’ Ross were very hospitable and accommodating. Although brief, we found our stay very satisfactory and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CatWoman_&_BoyWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bibilupabilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 601samanthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ross
0.0 mi away
Ross Motel
Ross Motel
#1 of 3 in Ross
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Cottages of Ross
15.5 mi away
Lake Leake Inn
Lake Leake Inn
#2 of 4 in Campbell Town
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ivy on Glenelg
Ivy on Glenelg
#1 of 4 in Campbell Town
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somercotes
Somercotes
#3 of 3 in Ross
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Ross B and B
#2 of 3 in Ross
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Man O' Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Man O' Ross Hotel

Address: 35 Church St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ross
Price Range: $58 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Man O' Ross Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Man O' Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Man O' Ross Hotel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing