We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Ross Bakery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ross Bakery Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Ross B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here on a weekend trip to Tassie a few years ago, but this time we were just passing through, so we stopped at the bakery with the kids, who happened to be very indecisive on this occasion! The staff were very patient with them, and the service was great. I was a little cynical of their claim to have the "World's Greatest Vanilla Slice", but it did look great, so I gave it a go and wasn't disappointed... I can't confirm that it's the world's greatest, but I look forward to seeking a better one!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 91 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2011

We have just checked out & we LOVED it. The cottage has a very 'homely' feel and contained everything that we needed. We loved the huge kitchen table!

I am one of those people who reads reviews but rarely writes them! In this instance I feel I have to as after reading the last cottage review, I nearly didn;t bother staying here. I am very glad that we went ahead and stayed. The price was definately worth it. We paid under $200 for four of us.
The place was clean, lights were fine, the couch comfortable, the lounge room big enough for all of us, the lawn was mowed, the ivy has taken over the side garden a bit,but that didn't bother us. We also didn't mind the decor, we found it homely and very comfortable. Its an old cottage, not a standard modern building! As for having to collect our breaky, it is a minutes walk and we got to see it cooking! Can't get any fresher than that. I am also certain that if required one if the staff would have delivered it for us.....they were very friendly and helpful

Now to my review!
We were checked in at the bakery by the friendly staff who gave us our milk and a plate of bakery goodies. They then directed us to the cottage. About a minutes walk from the main Inn. We had an enjoyabe evening and slept very comfortably. In the morning we leisurely strolled down the tree lined street to the bakery to collect our much anticipated breakfast basket. Looking through the visitors book, breakfast was nearly always mentioned.
We were not disappointed. It was WONDERFUL. I don;'t know of any other accommodation where you can get croissants, cakes & bread straight out of the oven. We even poked our heads into the oven & saw our loaf baking directly on the bricks. It is a HUGE old woodfired oven. Be sure to take a look.
Ross itself is a lovley historic town with many beautiful sandstone buildings & of course the old bridge with its carvings. There are also quite few antique shops which are definately worth a look.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Ross and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The Inn operates as an in-house bed and breakfast plus a small cottage down the road a bit. Booked Kirsty's Cottage for two nights and, based on other Ross Bakery Inn reviews, expected great things. Also, it was quite a bit more expensive than comparable accommodation on the road between Hobart and Launceston.
Quite a few disappointments. First, the living room was much, much smaller than it pretended to be via published photos. The chairs were comfy but the couch was a saggy mess. The cottage was decorated in a very ho hum, ordinary style, part kitsch, part suburban, part junk. The electrics were alarming! The lamp in the living room flashed on and off randomly ALL the time and, it transpired, so did the bedroom touch lamp. Quite scary. The back area verged on unpleasant containing dirty plastic furniture and 3 foot high weeds in abundance. The general feel of the place was a bit grimy and run down and we were glad that we had made plans to eat out both nights.
The breakfast was good BUT we had been told to pick it up at 8.30 the first morning and it was not ready until at least 10 minutes after that. For the price that is charged for the cottage, the breakfast should be delivered (on time).
The good things: Well, the beds were comfortable, the shower was quite adequate, the filtered water was welcome, there was a digital TV with a DVD player, washing machine functioned well and, of course, the cottage location in the centre of the small historic township of Ross is very convenient.
Worth about $100 a night, not the $175 which is being charged.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kateshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

food here is well priced and absolutely delicious, kids loved the cakes

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimsta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This historic bakery and inn is situated in the main street of Ross. The town of Ross is itself one Tasmania's earliest settlements and maintains that olde world charm with many historic sandstone buildings, ruins of a penal settlement and churches.
The staff in the bakery also run the accommodation side and are very friendly. Pastries on arrival and help yourself to the port and/or sherry by the wood fire in the guest sitting room. Breakfast is continental style and freshly baked warm bread, pastries, croissants and endless tea/coffee.
Don't expect too many mod cons, after all we are talking about a building nearly two hundred years old. However wi-fi is available free of charge to guests and customers spending more than $10 at the bakery.
Management advise NOT to drink water from the tap but have installed freshly filtered water in a separate dispenser for drinking and tea and coffee. Water used in the bakery is also of a very high quality. At the time of writing (1 Sep 2011), the local council advise that a water purifying plant for the Ross and surrounding towns and villages is expected to be up and running by the end of the year.
We stayed in the blue room which was quite suitable for a couple. Bathroom on the small side but adequate for the amount of time spent in this room! Other rooms were vacant on checking in and they were larger and suitable for a small family. All rooms were clean. Stairs to the rooms on the first floor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Gorgeous little cozy spot - rustic and old fashioned just like I expected and wanted with this booking. Boyfriend got a bit tired of me swanning about like Elizabeth Bennett (but the setting was perfect for it - do you blame me?).
Ross is a beautiful place and can def spend a day there looking around and doing the historic walks.
Got the biggest baked breakfast plus continental brekky and got doggie bags to take the baked goods away with us (we def needed to!). At night we sat in the living room with a roaring fire and complimentary port and teas. Brilliant!!! Hosts were lovely too. :)

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claireben2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

The accommodation was great, the rooms, clean and comfortable, a cot was provided for our toddler. Breakfast was fabulous, the traditional cereal, juice and toast was set out, and then the bakery staff came in and took coffee orders, then brought in a platter of bakery items! And if you didn't eat it all, they'd pack it up for you and you could take it for lunch.
Ross is a beautiful little town and perfectly situated between Launceston and Hobart. Don't forget to look at the bridge, and there is a nice walk along the river. The town is full of beautiful old buildings.
Next time we're in Tassie, we'll be back to visit the Ross Bakery Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross hotels
0.2 mi away
Man O' Ross Hotel
Man O' Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ross
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ross Motel
Ross Motel
#1 of 3 in Ross
78 reviews
0 mi away
Colonial Cottages of Ross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ross B and B
Ross B and B
#2 of 3 in Ross
3 reviews
0 mi away
Somercotes
Somercotes
#3 of 3 in Ross
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Bakery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Bakery Inn

Address: 15 Church St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ross
Price Range: $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ross Bakery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Ross Bakery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Bakery Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing