We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting, well developed”

Tasmanian Wool Centre.
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Ross
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tassie tourers
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Interesting, well developed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This venture has kept the town alive. It is top quality, cafe and shop. The free tour is also interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tassiestourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    50
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Droped in to buy some wool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Friendly staff, brought some very nice wool. Interesting place, with a display at the back of the shop

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tuna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
165 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

It is interesting to have a look at the sheep/wool museum area to the back of the shop - I was fortunate to have also timed my visit when they also were hosting the exhibition on Governor Lachlan Macquarie which I found very interesting, as this was due to finish in April it must have stimulated sufficient interest for it to remain longer, it was certainly worth it. The product on sale in the shop are of high quality, I would love to have worn some of those made from fine merino wool but they were beyond my price range.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassie-ite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex hills Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“what a wealth of information!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just a beautiful place.. an extremely interesting museum, a shop, a tourist information center. This place has the lot and more!!
Just wonderful friendly women operate this centre. We would have surely missed a heap of things if we hadn't gone in there.. so thanks!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marea9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
202 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“genuine local history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We always pop into the wool centre if we go through Ross. The woollen products on sale are first class and the display is worth seeing. You really gain a sense of place here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank agrippina1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasmanian Wool Centre. also viewed

 
Ross, Tasmania
 

Been to Tasmanian Wool Centre.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing