We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sails on Port Sorell
Ranked #3 of 4 Port Sorell B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Still Excellent”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was my second stay here, and glad to find it was still as good as first stay.. this place ticks all the boxes it is in a nice quite area, room is very well equiped including kitchenette, BBQ available, and nice and clean... The hosts are friendly, but give you engough distance. It is easy to see that Sails on Port Sorell wants you to enjoy your stay, the little touches go a long way, a assortment of chocs, quality coffee and a home baked cookie make the difference.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailsonPortSorell, Owner Managers at Sails on Port Sorell, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Port Sorell is the Port of Golden Beaches and a great place to stay whether in the region on business or for R&R. We are glad that you enjoyed your second stay with us as much as your first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
39
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

From the friendly welcome, to the chocolates on the bed, free breakfast provisions and a quiet location 50 metres from the beach, you could not want for more.

So quiet and relaxing. We had the Oyster studion and it has everything you need for a short or longer stay.

Can't recommend more highly.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailsonPortSorell, Owner Manager at Sails on Port Sorell, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We always aim to provide a homely environment for all our guests and are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Lovely stay, relaxed and unwound in the spacious unit (lighthouse). It was just like going to your own holiday home. Comfortable and homely stay. Beds were comfortable, all amenities met and everything was up to date.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goatee4641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailsonPortSorell, Owner Manager at Sails on Port Sorell, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Our aim is to provide a home away from home for our guests in all our apartments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and felt at home in our Lighthouse Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

It's hard to find anything to fault about our stay. We were in the Oyster Studio for one night and could have happily stayed longer if time allowed. Friendly hosts, great facilities, little extras like plunger coffee, chocolates, breakfast provisions, home-made cookies, real milk in the fridge, off-street parking, DVDs and CDs (free to borrow), comfortable bed, electric blanket (great for cold nights!), good shower with lovely shower gel ... the list goes on. Easy walk to a beautiful beach, and a short drive to pick up dinner when we couldn't be bothered sorting out something to cook! We must make special mention of how clean the apartment was - the attention to detail was amazing. Port Sorell is small and pretty, easy to walk around ... and make sure you check out Hawley Beach as well. This region of Tasmania is stunning and our stay at Sails was the icing on the cake. Thanks Sue and Keith for a short but sweet visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailsonPortSorell, Owner at Sails on Port Sorell, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We are really glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Our focus is to provide a home away from home for all our guests. Thank you for your comments – we value and appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This place is a great find, the hosts go the extra mile with little finishing touches like choc's on the bed and quality coffee included in reasonable rate.
Full kitchen and comfortable surroundings, as well as a deck with BBQ!
Peaceful street, and all round great place to spend a night or two..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sails on Port Sorell, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our accommodation offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlette, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The accomodation was better than expected and our hosts were very welcoming and knowledgeable on what to see and do for our day trips. We could not have asked for better accomodation and the local people have all been so friendly. We come from a popular tourist town and our accomodation providers and store owners could learn a lot from the lovely people in this town. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icequeen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sails on Port Sorell, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hospitality. We look forward to catching up with you again when you come back to the northwest coast of Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom studio (Oyster or Dolphin) for 3 nights. It was excellent accommodation that was spotlessly clean and even had chocolates on the bed on arrival. The room was the correct size for 2 with a kitchenette and small table for breakfast. Sue the owner was very welcoming and friendly and provided an excellent introduction to the town and nearby attractions.
Port Sorell is a very quiet place that is perfect to chill out in. It is a simple town with nature, beaches, bistro and a fish and chip shop. It is also close to many other destinations within a 20-30 minute drive (such as Devonport, Latrobe and Narawntapu National Park. Perfect for an old fashioned family weekend away.
We enjoyed our stay and would go back again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNCtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sorell
10.0 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shearwater Cottages
Shearwater Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Sorell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Roosters Rest
Roosters Rest
#2 of 4 in Port Sorell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House
10.2 mi away
The Grand On Macfie
The Grand On Macfie
#1 of 14 in Devonport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
19.3 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails on Port Sorell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails on Port Sorell

Property: Sails on Port Sorell
Address: 54 Rice St, Port Sorell, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Sorell
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Sorell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sails on Port Sorell 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails on Port Sorell Boutique Apartments provides a home away from home in each of its three unique, modern, self contained studio apartments, and stunning two bedroom villa. "Sails" is situated five houses from pristine beaches in Port Sorell on the Tasmania's North West Coast.Tourist information, advice and assistance are available at reception. "Sails" is the perfect base for day trips to discover what the North West Beaches, Devonport, Launceston and Cradle Country regions have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sails on Port Sorell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sails On Port Sorell Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing