We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Well equiped room, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sails on Port Sorell
Ranked #3 of 4 Port Sorell B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This place is a great find, the hosts go the extra mile with little finishing touches like choc's on the bed and quality coffee included in reasonable rate.
Full kitchen and comfortable surroundings, as well as a deck with BBQ!
Peaceful street, and all round great place to spend a night or two..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our accommodation offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 56 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

The accomodation was better than expected and our hosts were very welcoming and knowledgeable on what to see and do for our day trips. We could not have asked for better accomodation and the local people have all been so friendly. We come from a popular tourist town and our accomodation providers and store owners could learn a lot from the lovely people in this town. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icequeen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hospitality. We look forward to catching up with you again when you come back to the northwest coast of Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom studio (Oyster or Dolphin) for 3 nights. It was excellent accommodation that was spotlessly clean and even had chocolates on the bed on arrival. The room was the correct size for 2 with a kitchenette and small table for breakfast. Sue the owner was very welcoming and friendly and provided an excellent introduction to the town and nearby attractions.
Port Sorell is a very quiet place that is perfect to chill out in. It is a simple town with nature, beaches, bistro and a fish and chip shop. It is also close to many other destinations within a 20-30 minute drive (such as Devonport, Latrobe and Narawntapu National Park. Perfect for an old fashioned family weekend away.
We enjoyed our stay and would go back again

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNCtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed in the lighthouse suite for 2 nights. This is a spacious, clean well equipped 2 bedroom suite with a very comfy bed and huge fridge, a little on the older side, but I wouldn't hesitate to go back there. The host is friendly and talkative with some good tips on where to visit around the area. The tv is a new flat screen and there is an outdoor area to sit when the weather allows. In Latrobe which is approx 25kms away there is a shop called Relaquaire which is a must see. They even have blokey stuff for the guys. The Seven sheds Brewery is worth a visit, more blokey stuff. There's a winery pretty close to "Sails" called Ghost Rock and the beach is at the end of the road, situated in a quiet suburb. Port Sorell has all the amenities, a Pub, eating places and a golf course. Good value

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zigzagMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I chose Sails on Port Sorell based on reviews already on trip advisor, I was very happy with our room. Sue greeted us & showed us to our room, pointed out a few places to eat & gave us information on the area. There is a lovely little beach just 5 houses away, although too cold for us to swim, it was nice to have a stroll along. We stayed in the "Dolphin Room" which had queen bed, ensuite, kichenette and small sitting area all in one room, studio style. Breakfast provisions were included, which consisted of two types of cereals and toast & spreads. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 23, 2011

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Freers Beach and the Rubicon Estuary with views to Narawntapu National Park are very special places.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed for a couple of days in October. We found the hosts helpful and friendly and the accommodation very comfortable. For my partner and I we thought Port Sorell was a nice sleepy place to come back to after a day of exploring our surrounds.
There is so much to do within an hours drive from this location. We spent a day at cradle mountain and topped it off with a nice walk on the Port Sorell beach (just down the road). We had a seafood basket and mango prawns from Aqua down the road which was lovely! Our second day we went to Leven Canyon, Gunns Plains and lLwer Preston falls we found these nice short walks and beautiful places to visit. That night we had a BBQ before dark at the Narawntapu national park where we got so close to wild wombats, pademelons and possums it was an amazing experience! Our last day we unfortunately left sails and ended our time at Port Sorell by heading south towards Hobart. It was such a lovely place to stay exactly what we were looking for in accommodation and surroundings as we needed to chill after all our exploring and found it so easy to relax here. having the beach 2 mins walk away was more then we expected. I strongly recommend sails on port Sorell for those who don't want to be trapped right in the middle of chaos.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiltmonkeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We arrived here fairly late after a very long journey on the Spirit of Tassie but was still greeted warming by our gracious hosts. Sue took the time to tell us where to get dinner if we needed it, pointed out everything we would need in our room and also where the dvd collection was if we wanted to select some. The was a very nice complimentary breakfast basket in the room which was very spacious and clean. There were chocolates on the bed and the whole room was decorated extremely well. There were extra pillows, blankets and towels if needed as well as a draw that held a spare light bulb in case any had blown (a detail that none of the other places we stayed at had thought of). We were extremely happy to find that we had our own private courtyard with a clean BBQ and a private and secure parking spot for our car. All in all this was a fantastic place to stay and one of the best places that we stayed at during our 10 day trip around Tassie. We ended up returning at the end of our trip but stayed in a different room although it was to the same high standard as the last.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EspressoTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Sorell hotels
0.7 mi away
Shearwater Cottages
Shearwater Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Sorell
42 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House
1.9 mi away
Roosters Rest
Roosters Rest
#2 of 4 in Port Sorell
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moomba Holiday & Caravan Park
Moomba Holiday & Caravan Park
#2 of 2 in Port Sorell
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sails on Port Sorell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails on Port Sorell

Address: 54 Rice St, Port Sorell, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Sorell
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Sorell
Price Range: $93 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sails on Port Sorell 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails on Port Sorell Boutique Apartments provides a home away from home in each of its three unique, modern, self contained studio apartments, and stunning two bedroom villa. "Sails" is situated five houses from pristine beaches in Port Sorell on the Tasmania's North West Coast.Tourist information, advice and assistance are available at reception. "Sails" is the perfect base for day trips to discover what the North West Beaches, Devonport, Launceston and Cradle Country regions have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sails on Port Sorell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sails On Port Sorell Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing