We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karen & Wayne”
Review of Roosters Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roosters Rest
Ranked #2 of 4 Port Sorell B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2014

What a surprize we got when we arrived at roosters Rest. We had trouble finding a place for the night so we headed to Devonport's information centre.
Roosters Rest was offered 20 mins away, we where told it is very nice! We got a warm welcome from Helen on arrival.Well it was fantastic,spacious,bright,clean and modern.Breakfast was ample with fresh garden berries and home made muffins,supplied by Helen. We came back to stay for a second night as we were so impressed.
Peaceful and just perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen T, Owner at Roosters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you so much Karen and Wayne for your review. It was lovely to have you stay with us and glad that you came back for another night. We are so lucky at the moment to have fresh Tasmanian produce, especially the berries which have been enjoyed by our guests over the summer season.
Our aim at Roosters Rest is to make you feel at home and have comfortable surroundings. We are happy that we have been able to provide this for you. Once again thank you for the way you cared for Welsumer. it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you are looking for a great place that has all the trimmings, this is it. The two bedroom cottage has an abundance of space and is beautifully furnished. It was exceptionally clean and we were very well looked after. We were very impressed that a shower chair was purchased as my father-in-law is disabled and the cottage caters very well for that too

Room Tip: There is a one bedroom and a two bedroom cottage, both in a perfect location so the only choice is h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nool1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roostersrest, Owner at Roosters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is very much appreciated. We were very happy to be able to provide plenty of room and space for a wheelchair both inside and out. Roosters Rest aims to provide our guests with all their needs as best we can and encourage them to contact us if they have any special requests.
Thank you also for the way you left Welsumer. It was a pleasure to have you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I really enjoyed the beautiful gardens. We saw bandicoots, possums, wallabies, rabbits and colorful birds on the beautiful property.i have been a host guest and I loved the decor. Helen is very passionate about taking care of our needs. I really liked playing with their gorgeous dogs basil and Dudley .

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roostersrest, Owner at Roosters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Unfortunately our Bandicoots have moved on for a while but we are looking forward to their return. they are such fun to watch as they run around their fruit and vegetables. However the possums are enjoying their bounty at the moment! Roosters Rest encourages the wildlife and takes care to keep them safe from our dogs in the morning and evening .
It has been a pleasure having you as our guest as you have enriched our lives with your culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

When we come in to the accommodation, we saw very large yard full of trees. We loved seeing the nature, birds and wildlife, we fed the bandicoots at night. We enjoyed the open spaces and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. The hosts and their dogs are very friendly. The dogs are very sweet and smart .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maysgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roostersrest, Owner at Roosters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed the abundant wildlife on the property. It is particularly lovely to walk around the five acres in the morning or at dusk when you are likely to see our resident animals. At the moment their are Blue wrens and Honey-eaters enjoying the environment.
Roosters Rest hosts people from all walks of life and we enjoy families, couples and people from overseas. We have learnt such a lot from our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in Welsumer Lodge for 7 nights in January 2014 with our 2 children .The accomodation is spacious, well thought out and spotless. The personal touches of chocolates, lollies, homemade jam etc made this a very special place to stay . Helen and Les are great hosts , very welcoming and friendly . The kids loved exploring the property and playing with dogs Basil and Dudley. Thank you Helen for all the " surprise treats" that you left the children . We had a very relaxing time at Roosters Rest . It was a perfect base to catch up with family and explore the area . We will definately return .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebN02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roostersrest, Owner at Roosters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you and your children stay with us. It was great to see children running about and having a good time. Basil and Dudley loved their company . Thank you also for the care you took of Welsumer. It was very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed in the Sebright cabin at Roosters Rest for several nights in September 2013.
I was made feel very welcome by hosts Helen and Les and their dogs. They could not do enough to help me and even offered for me to use their washing machine during my stay. The Sebright cabin was a gorgeous , clean , fresh, modern cabin decorated in inviting turquoise and white theme. The cabin had everything that I needed in the kitchen,lounge room, dining area and a comfortable queen sized bed. The bathroom was clean and modern. Roosters rest was a perfect place for me to escape to the countryside and to experience peace and quiet in beautiful gardens and to watch the wildlife hop past on the lawn once the sun set. The verandah is a great place to relax, have a meal and there is also a lovely BBQ area to be shared between the two cabins. Sebright comfortably accommodates two people and the other cabin on the property is just as impressive and accommodates 5 people. The beach and shearwater shops are less than a 5 minute drive away or a comfortable walk. I highly recommend Roosters Rest with regards to cleanliness, services provided, welcoming hosts and value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen T, Owner at Roosters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful report. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit.
We endeavour to provide a warm and comfortable home for our guests and are here to help with any requests.
We have now finished the barbeque area which will be a great asset in the summer months, especially with the long twilight.
We also welcome children and people travelling with their dogs. We have plenty of places for children to play and dogs can be left in our secure yard whilst their owners go out to sample what the region has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

At Roosters Rest there are 2 beautifully appointed self contained cabins with their own verandahs that are scrupulously clean, spacious and well appointed. These are nestled in bushland and are quiet as. Little touches such as the personal torches on the bedside, yummy chocolates, and a snuggle rug on the couch. I was in the area for work and stayed in the one bedroom cabin and would be very keen to return with my husband. Janice is a great host and her dogs and cats are a delight. Roosters Rest is out of the main part of Port Sorell, but it is only a short drive or a brisk walk to the beaches and shopping centre. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: One cabin is larger than the other, but both are equally excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sorell
1.4 mi away
Shearwater Cottages
Shearwater Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Sorell
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House
1.9 mi away
Sails on Port Sorell
Sails on Port Sorell
#3 of 4 in Port Sorell
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hawley House
Hawley House
#6 of 14 in Devonport
105 reviews
17.6 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shearwater Resort
Shearwater Resort
#1 of 1 in Shearwater
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosters Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosters Rest

Address: 56 Browns Rd, Port Sorell, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Sorell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Sorell
Price Range: $116 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welsumer is a luxury large open plan lodge with loft which can accommodate up to five guests, Fully self contained with a well equipped kitchen and laundry. Sebright is a cosy 1 bedroom lodge which sleeps 2 guests and a roll out bed on request. Self contained with fully equipped kitchen Continental breakfast provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Roosters Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosters Rest Port Sorell, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing