We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good except for the kitchen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shearwater Cottages

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shearwater Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Gunnedah NSW
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good except for the kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent little apartment, clean and tidy, set in a lovely courtyard, very pleasant but with a few little problems.

The kitchen is probably the biggest let down to an otherwise great place. There is no stove or cooktop, a serious lack of utensils and no exhaust fan in the kitchenette area. Don't expect to be able to actually cook anything here, there is no stove, no saucepans and no vegetable peeler or anything that resembles a sharp knife. So... Breakfast, yes you could do cereal and toast... Lunch, yes you could do a sandwich, as long as you don't want to cut it in half, (no sharp knife) Dinner? Well... There is a microwave, there is an electric frypan and there is a sink. But everything I considered cooking was pretty much ruled out by the lack of an actual functional kitchen. An exhaust fan is essential here surely? If you did fry something up in the old fashioned electric pan, the room would smell of sausages (or whatever) for days. Really... The kitchen is a joke and should actually be advertised as a breakfast preparation area.

The remote control for the TV was out of service and the wifi is kind of dodgy, works when it wants to.

Now. The good stuff. It's a very good room, clean and spacious and set in a really beautiful area. Typical Tasmanian loveliness. If the kitchen worked I'd give the place 5 stars.

I interacted with two very good staff members, Wendy and Gina. Both professional and friendly. These ladies helped me with a business matter and were more than helpful in assisting me to complete a transaction that helped me no end. Thanks ladies!

This is a lovely place to stay. I do recommend it. .... Especially if you like to eat out!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a small motel now owned by the bigger resort. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. There was everything you need for a self contained unit. At $120 a night we thought this was good value. Very close to the beach (one street back) and opposite the shops.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pamperedprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
572 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We were confused when we arrived here. We unloaded our baggage, found eventually the well hidden reception, only to find a notice telling us to go a couple of hundred metres to the resort hotel. It transpired that the owners had sold and recently left. This meant that when the wifi stopped working during our two night stay, reception at the resort hotel really could not have cared less

I think they have bought it to demolish this property and build timeshare here

Basically I reserved a owner managed room, and did not get that

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business only for the night.
Great cottage, very clean and well set up.
Close to the pub and supermarket.
Small kitchette, well appointed.
Very clean and extremely tidy.
Private setting but walls are thin.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rod g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Shearwater Cottages and cannot find a fault with this little gem other than quite a firm bed, but thats a personal choice and there is no air conditioning. It has been very warm in Tasmania recently and a pedistal fan was put in the room, thats probably more comfortable than air con anyway.
The rooms are spotless and there is a perfect little bbq area surrounded by the lovely gardens, the condiments, paper towel and insect repellent is even supplied.
There is an IGA supermarket and a few cafe/take-aways over the road.
Shearwater Resort is next door.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms and none are better than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages for 2 nights in January. The accommodation is located close to the main shopping area and not too far from the beach. The cottages are set back from the road.

There are 6 cottages and are very well maintained by the owners, who are helpful and friendly. Our room was large with a table & chairs, sofa and an LCD TV which can be viewed from the sofa or the bed. The facilities are excellent, there is a standard sized fridge, microwave, minioven with one stove top ring. All crockery and utensils are provided.

Everything in the room and bathroom are spotless, the bed is very comfortable and the surroundings very quiet so you can get an excellent nights sleep. There is no air con but the windows all open and let in plenty of breeze to keep things cool - not that the temperatures are too extreme in Tasmania anyway. There is an electric wall heater and electric bed blankets for the winter.

The cottage grounds are very well developed and well maintained. There is a communal covered barbeque area for the guests to use as well as laundry facilities.

The free in room wifi didn't work so well in our cottage as we were at the end of the block however, we could get a signal from the bbq area so would sit there to use it. Once connected the wifi was fast and reliable and there are no download limits.

All in all we are glad we stayed at the Shearwater cottages it's nice to have a modern, clean and comfortable room. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corindi Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Arrived off the ferry and found Shearwater Cottages easy and owners upon arrival were fantastic. Beautiful studio with everything you could possibly need or want. Only regret was we could only stay one night. If we ever get back to Tassie we will certainly stay longer. Thanks for everything

Room Tip: Stay a couple of nights...you won't regret it :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sorell
9.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shearwater Resort
Shearwater Resort
#1 of 1 in Shearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
18.7 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Cottages

Property: Shearwater Cottages
Address: 9 Shearwater Bvd, Port Sorell, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Sorell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shearwater Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in beautiful peaceful surrounding, clean comfortable affordable accommodation. Complex contains 6 studio apartments 5 with Queen beds with double sofa bed, 1 studio with double and 2 single beds. Kitchenette, Laundry, Barbeque, Free WiFi facilities. Within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Close to Cradle Mountain and other iconic tourist destinations within Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Shearwater Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Cottages Port Sorell, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing