We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick stay but very comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shearwater Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Quick stay but very comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business only for the night.
Great cottage, very clean and well set up.
Close to the pub and supermarket.
Small kitchette, well appointed.
Very clean and extremely tidy.
Private setting but walls are thin.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Shearwater Cottages and cannot find a fault with this little gem other than quite a firm bed, but thats a personal choice and there is no air conditioning. It has been very warm in Tasmania recently and a pedistal fan was put in the room, thats probably more comfortable than air con anyway.
The rooms are spotless and there is a perfect little bbq area surrounded by the lovely gardens, the condiments, paper towel and insect repellent is even supplied.
There is an IGA supermarket and a few cafe/take-aways over the road.
Shearwater Resort is next door.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms and none are better than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages for 2 nights in January. The accommodation is located close to the main shopping area and not too far from the beach. The cottages are set back from the road.

There are 6 cottages and are very well maintained by the owners, who are helpful and friendly. Our room was large with a table & chairs, sofa and an LCD TV which can be viewed from the sofa or the bed. The facilities are excellent, there is a standard sized fridge, microwave, minioven with one stove top ring. All crockery and utensils are provided.

Everything in the room and bathroom are spotless, the bed is very comfortable and the surroundings very quiet so you can get an excellent nights sleep. There is no air con but the windows all open and let in plenty of breeze to keep things cool - not that the temperatures are too extreme in Tasmania anyway. There is an electric wall heater and electric bed blankets for the winter.

The cottage grounds are very well developed and well maintained. There is a communal covered barbeque area for the guests to use as well as laundry facilities.

The free in room wifi didn't work so well in our cottage as we were at the end of the block however, we could get a signal from the bbq area so would sit there to use it. Once connected the wifi was fast and reliable and there are no download limits.

All in all we are glad we stayed at the Shearwater cottages it's nice to have a modern, clean and comfortable room. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corindi Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Arrived off the ferry and found Shearwater Cottages easy and owners upon arrival were fantastic. Beautiful studio with everything you could possibly need or want. Only regret was we could only stay one night. If we ever get back to Tassie we will certainly stay longer. Thanks for everything

Room Tip: Stay a couple of nights...you won't regret it :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Delightful, very clean and tidy, studio apartment, with double, 2 singles and sofa bed, could have slept 6 in comfort, though only two of us. Small manicured garden, strategically set out so you don't notice the neighbours. BBQ area with all the sauces and extras you might need. On site parking, with very short walk to shops, country club and beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratacactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
424 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Cottages after Christmas on the last leg of our Tasmanian Christmas break and after the usual and unexpected stresses of family Christmas, this was a wonderful, restful haven, even if only for one night. The studio room we stayed in was well equipped with everything you could need and would normally have at home. Lovely decor, very clean and tidy.The bed was really comfortable and made for a great night's sleep. The shower was just great. Topping it off, the gardens were absolutely delightful, and it was great sitting outside sipping wine in the afternoon sun outside the room. The beach is just 10 mins walk from the Cottages and we enjoyed a couple of very nice walks along the foreshore, though the water was a tad too cold to swim in. Shops are 2 minutes walk away. There are any number of attractions within an hours drive away, which would make it a great base for an extended break. The hosts were very friendly. For $125 a night at a peak time of year this is very hard to beat. We'll definitely stay again if the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: Think about staying Port Sorell instead of Launceston as a base for a holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Where do you start to descibe this amazing place. Fantastic and friendly hosts and fantastic accomodation.This would have to be one of the cleanest and tidiest accommodation establishments i have ever been to.All the little extras to make your stay enjoyable ,even down to the condiments for the bbq.Facilities virtually next door ie shops ,hotel,golf course and walking distance.Add this to your list of places to stay ,you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thankyou David we are pleased your stay was enjoyable, we like to make all our guests feel comfortable and relaxed as soon as they arrive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sorell
9.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shearwater Resort
Shearwater Resort
#1 of 1 in Shearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
18.6 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Cottages

Property: Shearwater Cottages
Address: 9 Shearwater Bvd, Port Sorell, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Sorell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shearwater Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in beautiful peaceful surrounding, clean comfortable affordable accommodation. Complex contains 6 studio apartments 5 with Queen beds with double sofa bed, 1 studio with double and 2 single beds. Kitchenette, Laundry, Barbeque, Free WiFi facilities. Within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Close to Cradle Mountain and other iconic tourist destinations within Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shearwater Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Cottages Port Sorell, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing